How do I become an employable Blockchain App Developer

in #steem-dev7 years ago

I have previous App support experience and managed a Help-desk team of 24, over ten years ago. The IT world has changed a lot since.

I am a quick study and usually teach myself by doing.

Would I be better to buy a training course or are there sufficient free resources to teach myself to get on a project.

I am in New Zealand and havn't come across the NZ reps of #steem-dev so think that my best bet would be online learning.

I will be doing my own research of course, but I'm sure asking #steem-dev will have a fast track so I can get up to speed ASAP.

Any info appreciated.

Sort:  

GITHUB, look for simple projects, try to collaborate, and understand their code. If you ahve any cool idea that si simple start looking on how to do it, for example a simple webpage that shows steem price history. a calculator, calendar, I dont know, just came up with some idea and start building something :), break it, learn what happened and fix it, then continue building it.

If you have a github user share it here, I will follow you, mine is AugustoL.

Good call on looking through github.

Here's a link for all the projects tagged with steem:

https://github.com/search?q=topic%3Asteem&type=Repositories

Join github, make some commits, build up a reputation.

Cheers looking into it now.

Are you experienced with any programming languages already? If so, there might be a library you could use to help get involved and build things with.

If not, I'd recommend learning the foundational pieces of the language first before mixing blockchain into the equation :)

Python, Javascript, Java or Ruby all have decent libraries available for interacting with steem and would be good starting points!

There are libraries for Java and Ruby? Everyday I'm learning something new :)

Yup! I also have a very basic one for PHP too - but it doesn't do nearly enough. I stubbed out some functionality to build Reprint around and then sort of stopped building things in PHP hah.

Thanks for the advice, currently researching that now.