You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where To Find Answers To Questions About Steemit - Steemit Help For Newbies

in #steem-help7 years ago

I recently flagged a comment that was explicitly racist. I didn't comment on it because I didn't want to get into an argument with someone who wasn't behaving properly on a public website. Do you think it was wrong of me not to comment? I couldn't think of what to say that wouldn't turn things ugly.

Sort:  

@renodakota You did right by not saying anything..more fire equal more flames!

That's what I was thinking. Thanks.

I have never flagged anyone ever and don't ever plan to. When I see something I don't like I just ignore it because it's not worth getting into a debate about it. I have better thing to do with my time.

I adhere to Morgan Freeman's take on how to combat racism.

“Stop talking about it. I’m going to stop calling you a white man. And I’m going to ask you to stop calling me a black man. I know you as Mike Wallace. You know me as Morgan Freeman. You’re not going to say, “I know this white guy named Mike Wallace.” Hear what I’m saying?” -- Morgan Freeman

Yeah, most of the time I just eye roll and move on. I did feel the comment I flagged would be hurtful to people so I flagged. Thanks for your response.