@steem-ua has stopped

in #steem-ua4 years ago

@steem-ua has stopped

In november 2017 I (@scipio) had published the initial "invention post" regarding the UserAuthority algorithm, after which about a half year later I got into contact with @holger80 to develop the UA code. End 2018 the @steem-ua account & algorithmic curation began, which became, immediately after its launch, the fastest growing account in terms of individual delegators. @holger80 has always been in control of & running the @steem-ua servers.

I haven't had contact with @holger80 for quite some time, although I've regularly tried to contact him via Discord DMs, but no reply came back, although he kept the @steem-ua servers going (it has been algorithmically voting continuously, despite me not getting in touch with @holger80. In case of questions from the community, I (@scipio) have been trying to help everybody as good as I could, despite not having access to said servers myself.

In light of the recent events of the Hive fork, I have tried to again get into touch with @holger80, in a final attempt to notify him about Hive and possible server re-configurations regarding @steem-ua. I still hadn't heard back from him.

The past few days, since the Hive fork is active, I saw (of course) that the @steem-ua servers stopped functioning, both on the Steem and the Hive blockchain.

So herewith I announce that @steem-ua has stopped, because I don't have access to said servers myself, and I haven't heard from @holger80.

Please UN-DELEGATE to @steem-ua, bot on Hive and on the Steem blockchain. I want to personally thank everybody that has been delegating to @steem-ua until now / or has been at some point in the past.

In case anybody else likes to continue with the service, you can find (parts of) the open source code of UA in @holger80's well-known GitHub-repository, and in case you'd also like to continue with the @steem-ua account name, then you can contact me (@scipio) on Discord.

I hope everybody understands, I don't want to cause any confusion.
Thanks you, and Steem + Hive/Buzz on!

Kinds regards @scipio

Sort:  

RIP @steem-ua! It was always wonderful to get your upvotes!!

Thank you for your kind words!

Cheers for a good couple of years!

@holger80 has started posting on Hive, I'm surprised he's not responding.

That is indeed remarkable, but it is what it is. I saw the @steem-ua account stopped voting, after I have tried numerous times to get in touch with @holger80. I'm glad to have learned he's alive and well, but I don't want people wondering why the service isn't voting.

Thank you for your kind words!

Sad to see it go.

Indeed! Wasn't my preferred choice either, I'd rather just keep it going (got a lot of positive personal feedback (lots of DMs and a few comments) after publishing this post both on Steem and Hive.
One of the delegator replies was that now the @steem-ua service is voting and commenting (...) on the Steem chain. But still no reply from @holger80, despite he's announced being back after 6 months time (on the Hive chain).

The only reasons I posted this was that I still haven't heard from @holger80 and that I didn't want to keep people un-informed. Of course I'd rather just continue like we have been since the beginning, but I can't do that without all the data and a working server with tons of data and computations!

Thanks for setting this up. It was good to have some sort of metric on how I was doing. Hopefully something similar can start on Hive.

Thank you for your kind words! Apparently now @holger80 has returned to the Hive chain, but the @steem-ua servers stopped voting for a few days so I had to communicate something to people...

Cheers, I will draw down my delegate when I work out how to.

Apparently now the system is (still ???) working on the Steem chain, yet still I didn't get a reply from @holger80 despite he's now active again after 6 months on the Hive chain.

Wow that's a shame.

Thank you for your kinds words. Yes, I'd had also rather seen it continue, but like I said, I had to do something when I saw it wasn't voting anymore....

Good luck my friend! If I can help you in some way, just let me know.

Yeah I've been struggling to undelegate for a while now on both chains and keep getting errors....

removed my delegation, was a fun project!

thanks for all the support throughout the years, really appreciate it, was a great project and had plenty of potential

Thank you dear @steem-ua for making the positive assessment of my post today 11/25/2021, which encourages me to continue making publications with greater enthusiasm, especially about Yoga, which is a millenary practice necessary for my health with my 69 years of age. Hugs from Venezuela. With affection I am @omarrojas

Can someone please delegate me some hive powers please?