You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The growing Steem archipelago

in #steem5 years ago

Can you keep the excellent shill posts to a minimum until I've accumulated more SP please?

Great read, underlining the importance of Steem Power and Resource Credits as we steadily head towards SMTs.

I was going to save this for my own shill post - a quote from someone who I highly respect, given to me in a DM the other day:

To be honest, I think 10K is retirement money. 20K is gangster. 50K is madness. I'm coming up on (edited but a bit more than 50K), and that'll be an obscene amount of power, wealth and influence.

I want that 50K, but I'll settle for somewhere between gangster and madness by the end of 2019 :)

Sort:  

I have to aim for madness now as I am already gangster - but you met me so, you already know that. ;D

Given a bit of development, patience and what is happening in the industry, this is going to be massive.

oh well I just got my first 1000 after a year. let's see what 2019 brings. I will do fine with retirement money but if I get to madness that will be just fine.

I've been reading in on a couple of posts by @steevc recently relating to supporting Red Fish (<500 SP) to give us 10,000 Minnows (>500 <5000 SP) swimming in the Steem Ocean.

There is a debate regarding the increasing need to buy a little Steem in order to grow, and I think that your account is a possible case in point. Excellent and thoughtful content will get you there, but at an increasingly slower rate it seems.

Not very well worded. I'm not suggesting your personal need to buy, and trying to state that even with some of the best content growth is much slower than in the past.

Congratulations on reaching 'retirement' levels :)

yeah I have bought in the past but I sell most of the steem I get although I do not power down. It gets harder and harder every day as you said but my options are limited. Well we will see what will we see.

I'm hoping we can encourage more support of redfish and minnows as we need them to stick around and not just get frustrated. If they can buy some Steem to power up then it shows they are serious. It's not that expensive to buy your way to minnow.

The Redfish and Minnow Power-up leagues seem to work quite well. A reward for powering up tends to help :)

I haven't looked into those yet. I am happy to work with existing projects as I don't want to take on too much work for myself.

I became a dolphin this week and I must give some credit to the Power-up League for helping me track my progress each week and paying out rewards that made it fun for me to reach my goals!

It seems there are already good schemes, but maybe we can add something more.

Congratulations on your dolphinhood

I'm close to 80k. Is that good enough, hehe?

I think that is 'insane mode' :D

By this guys reckoning, you are home and hosed. Just that simple task of holding now :)

To be honest, I think 10K is retirement money. 20K is gangster. 50K is madness.

As it happens, I just recently passed 10K and I’m only a few months away from retirement. Coincidence?

:)

Sadly there were no time-frames and it does look as if you might be a bit early with that milestone. Congratulations! I hope there are now many years ahead with your foot off the gas, powered by Steem :)

Yeah, with all the 3- and 4-digit predictions I’ve seen for Steem, none seem to provide a timeframe or speculate about whether fiat hyperinflation might be a factor. $1,000 Steem wouldn’t be much to cheer about if a bottle of cooking oil went for $27,000. 😜

You make a good point.

I should pay more attention to #food in the future incase I can no longer afford to use traditional egg-frying products 😬