You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memos, keys and passwords, Balrogs and Fields of Despair. Be safe. Almost $100k wasn't.

in #steem7 years ago

Thank you Gandalph! That really puts my mind to rest also thx for the cli_wallet tip. I signed up for SteemConnect V2 yesterday after reading your article and I'm just figuring that out. I'm also going to check my Google extensions and disable any I'm unsure about. I don't have many. I've backed up my keys and password and I think I'm going to take the risk on Streemian because I already connected for my Discord verification.

I can see that the possibilities for services and apps that extend Steemit is almost limitless, so security is always going to be one of the biggest nightmares.

Thank you for caring about our security and wellbeing and for taking the time to spell it out so clearly!

Sort:  

Just curious (not sure if I understand correctly)

I'm going to take the risk on Streemian because I already connected for my Discord verification.

How are those two things related?

I thought I remembered having to connect Streemian in order to registering for the PALnet/MinnowsSupportProject on Discord but it was actually just through my main Steemit wallet. Was hunting just now for the first post I followed that had the instructions and it was this one.
https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@discordiant/registration-tutorial-msp-palnet

So I couldn't remember what it was I'd been asked to do in Streemian then I remembered it was this post which was to do with joining TeamAustralia instead, I was following the instructions about halfway down.
https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@scooter77/supporting-centerlink-and-teamaustralia-all-sbd-from-this-post-donated-to-centerlink-program-how-can-you-ensure-your-upvoting

On Discord one of the instructions in the pinned messages on the teamaustralia page registration was to follow the banjo bot and minnowssupport bots and send them $0.01 each to authenticate, then to go to steemvoter and set up a rule to follow minnowsupport, then to go to Streemian, authenticate the Streemian account also with $0.01 then follow the @centerlink curation trail, then to let an admin know.

Can't remember the exact order I did it in. I just remember that the first time I logged onto streemian they had two authentication apps and the first one crashed and went to an unlocked (not https) page and the second one was a .js app and worked okay. I'm on windows 7 so it may be different for a mac user.

OK, thank you for clarification.