You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Resource Credits effectively block spam on Steem

in #steem5 years ago

I know that forcing people to buy something to use a service is not encouraging.

What is the other way to limit spam in a blockchain network without transaction fees?

New users receive a delegation at the beginning to see how it works. Perhaps it should have a higher value, for example 50 SP. Then the new ones would be less limited. Or change the cost of posts / comments in the RC.

Sort:  

Hmm your point has validity ... How is it done with Reddit? I think the issue isn't really that large. Spam is automatically filtered to the bottom either by lack of upvotes or down votes. I just know that the new user experience has suffered, and in order to retain an active user base we need to bring in more users not push them away

Posted using Partiko Android

Quality matters too though. When I'm going through new user introduction posts, the higher quality posts get more attention and more reward. It isn't just from me either. Other people do the same. That's how it should be, no?

When I see a crap post or low quality short intro, I usually skip right over it. The user put very little effort into their post, so why should they get well rewarded for it? We, us Steemians, will get more of what we support.

To improve this place therefore, we need to support the higher quality content.

Also, in the beginning I was helped by @hilarski to get started with SP, and I've done the same in return for many. Multiple curation efforts are also doing the same like the Curie Awards and the OCD initiate by @acidyo and others.

The low quality auto replying bots still seem to be a problem too, and I find myself wanting to upvote my own replies on certain posts simply to get them above the spam and bots. Hopefully, a better solution than self upvoting will be found in the future.