Resource Credits effectively block spam on Steem

in #steem5 years ago

Hi Steemians!

New users get a 15 STEEM POWER delegation at the beginning. Often, in the first days of using the account, they consume all available resources. This article is dedicated for new users to get acquainted with the technical aspects of Steem blockchain.


c.jpg
Source: Pixabay link [CC0 License]


After entering the Resource Credits, account with a small amount of STEEM POWER have much limited ability to create spam. After adding more posts or comments, the user of a weak account must wait until the resources are renewed. Probably after the introduction of Resource Credits, you see a decrease in Steem activity, but this is correct. Each type of activity now costs the right amount of resources. STEEM POWER therefore gives you the advantage of being more active than others!

Strip of vote power and resources on the page https://steemd.com/@astromaniak (enter your account name).

a.jpg


How was it before? Until September 25, 2018, an old bandwidth system was in effect. Similarly, like now the bandwidth of a given account depended on the amount of STEEM POWER, but the message '' Bandwidth limit exceeded '' popped up on weak accounts only when there was a lot of traffic in the Steem network. Then weak accounts could have problems with the operations. However, in most cases it was possible to spam the network with many posts a day or comments with various types of links or ads. Therefore, this system was comfortable for new users without a larger amount of STEEM POWER, but allowed for littering the platform, especially by all kinds of advertising bots.

Statistics that show what our resources allow (https://steemd.com/@astromaniak).

b.jpg


The new system is obviously a change for the better. The network traffic has fallen, but it has become more transparent. Is the new system demanding? I think not. To be able to use Steem efficiently and actively, it is enough to have 20 - 50 STEEM POWER. On the steemd site (link above), each of us can see the information, how many comments / posts, votes and the number of transfers he can make from the amount of SP he currently has and values with charged power. Resource Credits just like our Voting Power regenerate at a rate of 20 percent a day.

Did you receive this message? This means that you have used up your resources, you probably have little STEEM POWER units. You must wait until the resources charge or buy SP to be able to perform any activity.

c.jpg


With little STEEM POWER amount, you have to be careful, for example, not to forget about it when you write the comments, because when you use up resources you have to wait a few days to recharge it. Resource Credits they regenerate immediately by get SP delegation from someone or purchase an SP from an external exchange and using the Increase Power Up option. Adding several STEEM POWER units will automatically renew part of the Resource Credits. I hope that this information will be helpful for you.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the info for new steemians @astromaniak your description is very clear .. thanks a lot for your work

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the quality explanation. I'd like to update my onboarding post with this information. Would you mind if I used some of your content and gave you credit? You can see the post here:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@finnian/welcome-new-steemian-account-creation-steps-introduction-and-tips

On most days I manually go through new introduceyourself posts looking for promising people to help. I'll reply to them, and then share the tips and tricks post. Explaining the new resource credit system should be part of it.

I'm still trying to find out what else has changed during my break too. The post was written long ago. Still, I believe quality new accounts should be greeted by an actual person, and all the bots greeting them is less than ideal.

If you want to, of course, you can use this material. We should create new guides for new users.

Thanks! Yes, I found the official help files lacking, so I wanted to give new people far more information.

Yeah the RC system definitely fix the "bandwidth limit" I use to get when I was just starting. Before the RC system was implemented I could barely do anything before my bandwidth is magically depleted despite the fact that I haven't done anything that day. But now I don't get tha annoying message anymore and could use Steemit as I should. Very useful update indeed.

Exactly. This system works great as an alternative to transaction fees in other blockchain networks. Free transactions on Steem are something special.

I complete agree to this. The spam did decreased a lot after the implementation of the Resource Credit system. At the very least I no longer have to worry about running out of bandwith.

I've worked on a solution to this: @giftgiver. All you have to do is go to https://giftgiver.me and put in your username and you can get a 15 SP for 3 days once a week so that way you can get some more RC for the time being.

I'm new here too. A user told me to publish my blogs on Steemit and I started posting like crazy. LOL
Thanks for the great tips.

Yea, I try and help out how I can. My writing is terrible so content creation is not done too often by me. So dev work is what I'm slightly better at. Haha, if you've got any questions, just ask, I'll help.

See the post I shared above for more details, but I recommend new people hold off on long posts that take a lot of work at first. Build your network instead, and use your limited credits to interact with others more.

A lot of people will come here, work really hard, and get burned out easily. Using GINAbot is a large part of that strategy too. It helps you find the people and content you want. Joining some of the various Discord servers also helps.

Thanks for informing the community.
New users may need mentors that guide them through the first step after registration.

Posted using Partiko Android

it also made steem pay to play. With a brand new account you really can't do anything. And unable to do anything you can't earn any steem.

Do we really want a platform that excludes people who don't want to or can't afford to "buy" relevance?

I know that forcing people to buy something to use a service is not encouraging.

What is the other way to limit spam in a blockchain network without transaction fees?

New users receive a delegation at the beginning to see how it works. Perhaps it should have a higher value, for example 50 SP. Then the new ones would be less limited. Or change the cost of posts / comments in the RC.

Hmm your point has validity ... How is it done with Reddit? I think the issue isn't really that large. Spam is automatically filtered to the bottom either by lack of upvotes or down votes. I just know that the new user experience has suffered, and in order to retain an active user base we need to bring in more users not push them away

Posted using Partiko Android

Quality matters too though. When I'm going through new user introduction posts, the higher quality posts get more attention and more reward. It isn't just from me either. Other people do the same. That's how it should be, no?

When I see a crap post or low quality short intro, I usually skip right over it. The user put very little effort into their post, so why should they get well rewarded for it? We, us Steemians, will get more of what we support.

To improve this place therefore, we need to support the higher quality content.

Also, in the beginning I was helped by @hilarski to get started with SP, and I've done the same in return for many. Multiple curation efforts are also doing the same like the Curie Awards and the OCD initiate by @acidyo and others.

The low quality auto replying bots still seem to be a problem too, and I find myself wanting to upvote my own replies on certain posts simply to get them above the spam and bots. Hopefully, a better solution than self upvoting will be found in the future.

Hello!!!

i am a 16 days old steemian and my problem when i start using steem blockchain is that i did not know that everything i do cost RC. i've spent my RC posting, voting and commenting but not spaming. Thanks god i've got some Steem Power Delegation at the right moment otherwise it would be difficult for me to continue using Steemit.

A big thanks to

  1. @steem for the normal 15 SP
  2. @steemmonsters for 20 SP
  3. and a HUGE thanks to @akomoajong for 100 SP

Yes, having friends and other patrons helping you in the beginning is wonderful. I recommend people curate and reply to other people's posts with 80% of their RC and author their own posts with the remaining 20% in the beginning. New people need to build their network anyway, and it just works better that way for everyone involved.

Since you have three people delegating SP to you, you must be doing something right! :)

I am trying my best to grow but i saw that my posts don't get that much attention. I believe that i have to grow my friend list

Yes, the more followers the better. The pennies add up. It is less likely that you gain the support of a whale, so focus on getting as many minnows in your network as possible. Then give them the best content you can give based on your passion and expertise.

Thank you for your advice.
As a new steemian i appriciate all new info / advice from older steemian that i can get

Thank you for this valuable post. A really good informative post for steem users. New users face with some obstacles and you told them appropriately. Thank you again

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. Many valuable posts disappear after 7 days and new users have to search for help themselves.

Now I get it. Good thing many Steemit communities really upped the delegation effort to evaluate and support genuine weak accounts, thanks for making it clear for me.

You're welcome. We must help each other to make Steem more popular.

I am using one of my precious comments to thank you for explaining how this works and the purpose behind it. Cheers.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has received a 30.02 % upvote from @boomerang.

Thanks!! I wish you the best!!!

Gracias por la información

Informative post. Good job.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @astromaniak!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 5 with $ 143,55

Buying more and more SP is good for the ecosystem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the info very helpful for all the new user's.✌

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, could you support post on upcoming event, Ai conf - we will be a first time speakers with Ai and blockchain topic, 27 apr:

Transparent and safe artificial intelligence https://steemit.com/blockchain/@gromozeka/graphgrailai-transparent-and-safe-artificial-intelligence-on-datastart-conference-2019
We also will cover federated learning, decentralized blockchain marketplaces, differential privacy, direct data governance.