πŸš€ From $0 to $100K AUD in 11 months thanks to Steem πŸš€

in #steem β€’ 7 years ago (edited)

I try not to post too many rants about price jumps, and milestones I'm passing ..


But this is too much, can't hold these feels.

The combination of watching the community nuke Matt Trainer's top trending post down to $0, and then immediately shower @darthnava with love and money for his upcoming surgery was one of the most amazing things I've witnessed in my time here so far.

Being able to give my own donation, vote and resteem towards helping out a long time supporter in their time of need already felt amazing.

Watching the post go from < $100 to over $7K in rewards whilst over $6k usd in liquid funds poured in at the same time was complete insanity. In an awesome way <3

It made me want to take a step back and appreciate how far my own situation has changed in such a short time thanks to the steem community.

I've been here over 10 months now, with a steady rise in followers and support the whole time - but I kept most of my rewards powered up because I believed steem was undervalued.

Even when we really needed money, digging into our steem savings was a last resort.

I've been completely obsessed since day 1, pouring nearly all my free time into steem in one way or another but was seeing only relatively small rewards in the early days.

Even just at the beginning of this year I'm not too proud to say that we've had to ask charities and churches for help with food and fuel vouchers when things got really tight.

We have a pretty limited support network locally, so it was a huge deal when steem began to regularly save the day when the occasional bigger post reward was able to pay for our kids birthdays & christmas presents, or pay for our car to be fixed, and our internet and electricity bills.


Thanks Steemit you helped us give my disabled daughter an amazing 7th birthday!

It was only 2 months ago that one our car tires busted unexpectedly and that was enough to wipe out our meager savings, and I had to borrow money and power down for the first time.

The community rallied and within about 7 hours I had replaced the tire and repaid the loan thanks to donations and post rewards!


Thanks to your support - loan repaid, powerdown cancelled and tire has been replaced!

Each time these sort of things have been happening its felt like a validation that I'm doing the right thing, and the universe is rewarding and finally things are going to get easier for us.


My followers have been growing steadily

I just kept at it - posting, networking, coding, curating and collaborating on projects until I felt ready to take it to the next level and it was only last month that I began my campaign as a steem witness .


I didn't expect to be at rank 31 already !

And this whole time I've been building my Steem Power stash, and trying to get everyone I know to do the same :

Which makes these next few charts even more satisfying to me :

4hr Steem/BTC chart for Poloniex showing the recent rise for Steem against Bitcoin

View full size image , View Live Chart

Steem priced in USD on Polo since it was first added

View full size image , View Live Chart

Steem Backed Dollars priced in USD on Polo since it was first added

View full size image , View Live Chart

And finally this is where my crypto portfolio sits today - 90% steem, 8% bitcoin and the rest a mix of peerplays, golos, and bitshares approaching 100 thousand Australian Dollars!

The best part ? I still believe Steem is undervalued

I will be holding most of my SP for far higher prices in a few years time - but it's an amazing feeling to finally power down a little so we don't have to stress about our immediate expenses.

Steem has already been the best investment of my time and money that I've ever made, and it still has massive future growth potential from here.

I can finally envision the future possibility of one day owning my own home. Something that's felt like an impossible dream until now, while I'm stuck renting in one of the most expensive countries in the world.

I'll do anything to protect my reputation and stake here after such a long climb - my influence, reach and voting power is priceless to me.

I won't be selling out early on what could be one of the most powerful platforms for free speech and philanthropy the world has ever seen, and I'll continue to do my best to help the platform grow to its full potential.

I don't want to be greedy, either - I have been developing a script to help assist me with regular giveaways in a unique way that I'll give more detail about soon.

I want to use my power in a way that will have the biggest positive effect on the largest amount of people I can, and in ways that will benefit our community in the long term :)

Speaking of long term benefits - I sent my first batch of post rewards off to the Steemfest Travel Reimbursement Fund today :

I still have a full powerdown (~1340 steem) to donate, as well as 70% of my seed announcement post and 50% of the post you're reading now.


Proof of split

I'm simultaneously giving and earning more then I ever have in my life, and I feel like this is just getting started.


Like what I'm up to ? Vote for my witness!

If you think I'm acting as a positive force for the platform, please consider voting for my witness on this page :

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Every vote counts! For more information on how and why to vote for my witness see this post .




Lets connect !
steemit / twitter / gab.ai / keybase / steemit.chat / patreon
I also made :
steemviz / steemvids / steemcap / steemleak / more tools / post index

Sort: Β 
There are 4 pages
Pages

Love this :) this story would never be on facebook.

That is what makes Steemit so awesome!

You rock like Steemit. I have a little confession to make and forgive me if I hurt your feelings. $0 to $100K AUD is a rant to me, you should have waited one month more to get to $10,000000K AUD before blowing the whistle. I'm dissapointed but still you rock like Steemit!

Ive been part of this community for a short time and feel truly blessed to having found it. Steemit has been lifechanging for many so far and I hope it inspires that change in me as well.

This is really an encouraging post for the new steemers like me. Thanks for writing this inspirational piece.

I tap into your story with hope and faith @ausbitbank

Agreed!

Omg! You've made my day. What an incredible story. It's only been 4 days for me here at Seemit but I can feel that it's going to be very rewarding. The kind of community support and that too from an online thingy is unparralelled. It's all new to me but I can definitely see the potential..I am excited!!!

I've been here for less than a month and can't believe the community here.

That Darthnava post is the greatest thing I have seen on here yet. I know I am kind of a sap but I truly believe steemit can be world-changing. But you don't change the world all at once. You change it one person at a time. Yesterday steemit changed dathnava's world. But it doesn't take $8000 to change everyone's world. Some people can change their world by earning $50 per month on here. I am amazed.

(fist bump)

RESPECT

Inspirational mate. Uplifting to read. You are a genuine and open contributer. Thank you.

Love what you're doing, that you've hustled hard the whole time, and that you're being rewarded for all your work. Keep on chargin'!

You sir Austi are truly a beast man :) I enjoy your being part of this community and that you willing to share these experiences with me. :)

Thank you for the great post. This is really motivating me to keep at it. Already almost at 150 followers and just starting out!

Wow that is amazing man ! Way to go hehe :)

Holy crap the feels! What a great community we have here. I am so proud to be a part of this so early on!

Congratulations. I agree with other comments. This is encouraging.
When I first joined, i was taking the time to leave thoughtful comments on people's posts. I only had my introduction. At that time one got $10 of steem. But in 48 hours I had less than $5. I was being flagged for whatever reason. So I focussed on my day job. Still, I watched the Steemfest live feeds and looked to try again. In December and January I started again. I am still a small fellow. My type of posts don't make the most. BUT I am so thankful. I am thankful because I help onboard friends who will be more successful than me someday. I am thankful for all the new things I learn and people I meet. I am thankful for the rewards just for caring. And I appreciate seeing posts like this. Congrats! And be well.

reading up on this story, and seeing how someone like me can become someone like you just really motivates me use this site more!

If you think I'm acting as a positive force for the platform, please consider voting for my witness ...

Good luck! Just recently I voted for you. :)

Thanks for sharing your story, its definitely going to help me and many others. Wishing you and your family the best!

Congrats :). Go steem. I want to do the same with CAD, I think our money is about the same in value at this time.

Brilliant man thanks for giving so much back! And I agree seeing the support for @darthnava has been awesome!

Can I ask how did you get those footer images?

My footer images are thanks to @elyaque

Wow congratulations! Your story is inspiring to all of us Steem believers :) hope i can achieve that sort of success and personal gratification through this platform one day (hopefully sooner than later) steem on! :D

just started steem yesterday...and so far I am having a blast..I have little understanding.. still how to cash money out when ..some is made or how the money exchange works..but this is amazing..my time on Facebook seems to be fading away..and I feel so happy about that...congrads on your growth!

Great post. Positivity is the perfect word to describe this community. Upvoted and followed, keep up the good work.

You deserve it. Congratulations.

Good to hear that your hard work is really paing off for you and your family. It's inspiring to see how far you have made it. Keep up the good work :)

Hey, just be careful out there mate, dont make yourself a hack target.

As someone who just quit my job a few months ago due to some illness, its wonderful to see steem and my other crypto investments really starting to become a potential safety net.

Steem price will be $10 easily by the end of this year.

Amazing post friend, looking forward to experiencing such greatness here :)

Me too @steemlifestyle. I think we are part of the greatest of futures.

You made me cry...happy tears!

Good Steem karma has made its way back to you already, and you're using your Steem power for good, rather than evil, which is great. You're one of the "good eggs" of the Steemit community. Keep doing what you're doing. It's an inspiration and example to everyone.

Keep up the good work man

It sounds like Steemit has had a massive impact on your life its sometimes good to hear things like that well done mike

Congratulations mate, this is well deserved. Even though I'm a complete Newbie, I can see how much work you put into it this community. I'm glad your effort is paying a dividend.

dude, that's awesome. fantastic story and clear information. props man, thank you for sharing. i hope you'll follow my journey too. following!

Great work. I used to live in downunder for few years and i love it. It is great to meet some new friends here, right mate?

This is a good story and i hope one day when i get enough followers and steem power, i could be like you, finger cross :)

Hi there, so much good value in your post. You are an inspiration. You are promoting gratitude, which is good for the soul.
Thanks to @happyhousewife for resteeming it so that Igot a chance to read.

Man 1SBD is = to 4 of my national currency.
The minimal wages here start at 480BGN which equals around 120 130 SBD.
Steemit is insane if you live in a country that doesn't use Euro or USD as main.

What a synchronicity! I'm working on a post with almost the exact same title. I'll rework it.

I too think Steem is very much undervalued and I share this same feel good feeling!

It's awesome to read this testimony of how your life has changed since Steemit.
I'm so glad to have made your acquaintance here!

Congratulations on this beauty! Great job, well recognized and seemingly quite appreciated! It is definitely the case from this end. Namaste :)

Wow! Amazing story! Im new to steem,and im still trying to figure it all out.

Same here, gave you a little up vote for newbie support :)

Thanks steemit friend!

To you too ;)

Welcome!

:D

Thanks! <3

I'm new on Steemit and posts like this gives a sort of reflection of Steemit's community. It is motivational and inspirational.

Welcome!

:D

Thank you for sharing your awesome story!

I wish I had entered this amazing community before... I just found out few days ago. I'm going to start my own weight loss journey exclusively here (lost 17kg so far) and I will convert my bitcoins worth of $500 to STEEM soon.

Can't wait, so inpsiring <3

I joined Steemit 2 days ago and I've posted 4 blogs and the kind of appreciation that I recieved from the members here is really outstanding!

I've tried many blogging platforms before like hubpages, quora and even reddit but Steemit is my favourite :)

I feel like I get rewarded for the things that I personally love to do- writing.

So thank you steemit community for providing me such a healthy platform for sharing my work with the world and getting rewarded for it.

I'll be posting every day and I hope to be of service to this wonderful community :)

You can check out my posts here.

We all have to combine our efforts to make steemit the most helpful platform of the world and show facebook who is boss.

This is so amazing.... almost started getting choked up reading this... I love Steemit and I love how people on here come together when it's for the greater good!

wow beautiful post and very inspiring. I have actually seen this make a huge difference in people life. That Papa character donating that money recently actually made me pause.. there are highs and lows to this.. but that was simply a HIGH. Very impressed with the community here.

Very inspiring story. I think that after posts like this one, we see a strong increase in new users :)

so good to read! :)

There are 4 pages
Pages