You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: As Steem grows, so does the presence of the trolls

in #steem7 years ago

That would be nice, but the problem is that even if you could get the competent people, and enough of them, you couldn't get the funding for it, and then you would have to deal with issues of corruption or otherwise bias.

The people that police the site for awful content are the people that pollute the site with awful content, and everyone else. The community polices itself.

You, among others, believe that terms like "malicious assault" give your story more credibility and importance, but it doesn't, you were flagged, by the community, and more precisely, your content, the content you authored was flagged by the community. There was no boogieman on the internet, who assaulted you, as much as you like to equate it to such, it was simply people curating content, or better yet, people speaking their minds.

Like the troll that now tags along everywhere I go, you are affected by words on a screen that strangers type up. I am not saying that those things don't affect people, or they shouldn't, I am simply drawing attention to that fact, that is usually equated to what you eat I don't shit. What they think of you, what they comment, is not what you must think or what is true, it's simply what they think of you. I am not saying that don't care about what people say or think about you at all, because I think everything catering for considerable should be considered so that excludes considering insulting remarks, or blatant lies, but not a reasoned insult pertaining to what we were discussing.

Sort:  

I agree with most of your comment. However, I was not flagged it was the post put out about me which was flagged. The 'Police' did their job well in my case. I am sorry they have not in others. I really appreciate the dialogue and time you have taken to explain things to me. X

You are very kind and understanding, thank you. You put things very well. X