Sort:  

I wonder if there is a way to decentralize building something like this, and possibly have a payout pool from the game to developers who complete certain tasks to fund this.. 🤔

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’d see an easier path being to partner with an existing game or project and do the dev work to integrate the Steem blockchain, rather than building an entire game from scratch! Project Entropia comes to mind... I played around with the game many years ago intrigued by its early foray into an rpg with a real cash economy. They also license their tech/platform to businesses to create their own gameworlds.
http://www.entropiaplatform.com/entropia-platform/
If someone were to pull together a serious dev team and craft a workable proposal, I could see a Steem planet potentially being exciting enough to secure SPS funding.
But... it’s not like Entropia itself ever became a huge game (I don’t think...) so it still all comes down to making and marketing a great game/app! There’s also competition against game focused crypto projects like Enjin Coin to consider... 🤔

That's a great idea! I would love to see big time devs get excited about the possibilities here!