Just Tried to explain Steem to parents

in #steem7 years ago

Today, my mom asked me what I thought of bitcoin, and what was it. I told her that it was a cyrptocurrency, and started to explain block chains. I got about a minute in, and realized that I don't fully understand them, so I was just like. They are kinda like a stock, nothing really behind them, just people accepting it for having value. If that conversations was not hard enough. I then I told her that I was invested in something called steem, and steem power, with steem backed dollars. All this was based on how much you earned for blogging and how much you had in steem power. This was the look I got from her. I am going to have to do a little research and get a presentation set up. I haven't used power point in years. But it should be fun to try. Any suggestions on the easiest way to explain it. I did not even bring up smart media tokens, that would have just confused the issue even more. She would have probably thought that is was a AI program, and that Skynet was aware.

Sort:  

I'm sure my parents have heard of bitcoin but don't really understand it. Luckily they haven't asked me so I haven't had to explain 😂

Ya It is just one of those things, I know what it is, but the words are hard.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.62$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Do this @bigram13 Ask her where the money comes from when she uses her Credit Card.

Then tell her "Credit Cards ~ They are kinda like a stock, nothing really behind them, just people accepting it for having value." lol

ya pretty close, Most stocks if the company would go under. would get nothing. All the bond holders and creditors have first crack at the assests.

Ya exactly ~ with cryptocurrency's like Steem, BTC, LTC if you hold your private keys in my opinion way better then Gold/Silver/ and Stocks which are very hard to liquidate or spend more of a (hard asset store of value)...

I have avoid (ico's and altcoins) these are more like funding businesses without any proof of concept- reminds me of the 90's with the Dotcom frenzy when any idea was an IPO... lol

HAPPY NIGHT..FRIENDS ,, CHOOSE YOU TO BE YOUR FRIENDS IN THIS STEEMITE PROGRAM

hahahahahha really good picture

This is a unique conversation, you explain to a loving mother. about the world of cryptocurrency, really you are very wise ..

I don't know if I would say that.

Just try to explain. Maybe he will understand, and continue to support you, my friend. 😊

This post has received a 50.41 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @bigram13

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This post has received a 3.81 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @bigram13. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Yeah, impossible!