You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Witnesses - The Political System Of The Steem Blockchain 👥

in #steem6 years ago

No, it's not like voting for someone's post and your voting power goes down each time you vote. It's a different voting system, but I think if your rep is below 25, it's as though you're not voting for them. Or something like that. Your vote simply means a vote and the witnesses with the most votes are the ones who are active on the platform and allocated a few extra things and such. I'm not sure on all the details but I do know the vote does not affect your voting power the same way. Besides, even if it did, you vote for a witness once and your vote remains permanent unless you change it.

Sort:  

That is what I thought and there are no tools to like check proxies or how many bots are voting for witnesses atm, so considering they start at 25 if you have empty accounts who just act as proxies it seems fairly easy to abuse

What they should do IMO is implement a Rep minimum to be able to vote for witnesses. So noone below Rep lvl 40 or something, can vote for a witness. I think it took until I hit lvl 40 to KNOW and understand a bit what a witness is and does anyway. That would add an extra layer to help weed out proxies at starting rep.

while that is good, it doesn't require much to get to 40 if you have an account with a strong upvote. I'm thinking worse case here this could be easily done by any whale and or have already been done

Well, we wouldn't want to put the minimal rep too low because new people want to feel involved and get involved. So it's important to be inclusive. While it might not be fair to know that someone might find loopholes to take advantage of the system, most of us act in a moral way and are honest. This system is free and accentuates freedom, so technically, whether we agree or not, to implement too many rules and restrictions means to take away that freedom.

Personally, while I don't agree that some witnesses will "cheat" so to speak, I prefer there to be freedom than not. We just need to trust. There's no way to know, and I don't think there ever will be a way to know, not with a free system in a decentralised system that promotes freedom, and I'm okay with that. I value the freedom part more.

Yeah but the problem is it that if people can cheat the system, they will. Our trust doesn't stop Trump from joining tomorrow and buying millions of STEEM and just shitting on the STEEM blockchain with like 20 top witness accounts in control of everything.

You're right. But it's a free system. Do we want decentrilized and free of control, or do we want controlled and centralized? I now I want free of control. It sounds like you would like to find a middle ground, and perhaps that is possible, but perhaps a witness would have some ideas for that.

Yeah I mean to be fair though if my worst scenario were to come true, then there would be no freedom at all. Steemit would be ruined. I don't want it centralized I just want loopholes fixed I guess