Congratulations everyone - STEEM just broke to a 17 month high against the buck!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Congrats everyone, we waited out the hard times and we won!

STEEM just broke the 3 dollar mark for the first time since July 26, 2016:

It has pulled back a little: 2.80 at the time of writing, but looks the goods for a sustained move higher!

Times were tough for a while there when it was below a dollar, but we waited out and we won. I'm still on a powerdown of 150 STEEM a week, but I'll be buying STEEM with my SBD rewards too, so should be able to keep my SP static, or maybe even grow it!

This is such a great platform. My writing work goes very quiet over Christmas as the traditional finance world all go on holiday, but through my powerdown, I'm guaranteed 150 STEEM a week in income regardless - that is truly a luxury for a freelancer and that 150 STEEM is now worth ~$450 USD a week!

Congratulations to everyone who had the foresight to join this great community and stuck it out through the hard times - we are officially #winning!

PS Shout out to the homie @buzzbeergeek for the heads up on this break too - if you love your beer you should definitely give this man a follow - major dude!

Sort:  

Steem is one of the few cryptos that is backed by a functioning product, the rest of the ICOs are mostly based on hype and outright lies. I still can't believe Steem isn't trading above $10.

We have all-time-high in terms of capitalization!

The old ATH of $4.31 on this long term cup and handle will be breached in short order, then it's vertical from there. Who knows where the peak will be? My guess is $50-100, but it could be higher.

Hahaha let's not get too carried away with the double digit calls - but I hope you're right!

I think it has to happen, even $100 Steem would only put us in the top 5, with 1/3 of the market cap of Ethereum. Consider Steem is the number 1 blockchain by activity, and that's with it running at only 0.3% capacity. With the price now it would have to go up 1400x to match the price to blockchain activity ratio relative to Bitcoin.

I think it's taken so long for it to rise simply because it's such a sleeping giant, it takes time for such a large ship to make a turn.

Screen Shot 2017-12-18 at 17.17.20.png

http://blocktivity.info


@steeminator3000 just nailed it! (Not from him but found it)

Hahaha have you got the link? I tried to just copy and paste on discord but came out as a static PNG

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://media.giphy.com/media/RUfbFgOgAzvZm/giphy.gif

Should have just copied the address #doh

"Blockchain" is the new hype thing. Combine that with "Social Media" and you have an explosive product on your hands. This is only the beginning of Steemit's story.

Congratulations to us we have to celebrate for this hey

By the looks of it, there are a good few alt coins pumping at the minute. I think newbies are stocking up on loads of cheap coins for the potential rewards. Steem being one of them. Good news for Steemit though :)

Yeah there is definitely an alt-wide rally, but IMO the primary driver is ~$13 SBD - everyone I'm speaking to is selling it to buy STEEM and powering up!

You got it right there, @bulleth. This is a great community - plus you're a legend.

Let's see what 2018 brings 🌞

Hahaha thanks wombus - keep doing you buddy!

I used to have a friend nicknamed wombat and he hated it, so it's great to finally have someone I can call various wombatinizations without them getting grumpy :D

Wow! I'm glad the steem is shooting up now! Go Steem!

Go STEEM! Go STEEM! Go! Go! Go! Go STEEM!

This is the moment we have all been waiting for for so long. All the hard work and time we spent on Steemit are no turning into something absolutely mindblowing!

right. It feels really good seeing steem price going up! Every morning I'm so excited to check out my wallet :)

Go steem! Good news!

I am excited about Steem. I don't earn much on my posts but what I do earn I try to power up and I have also established a wallet where I have some Steem stored. I hope to keep growing my channel and Steem! This keeps me motivated. Thanks for the post.

Hi Tess, just keep it up - keep posting good content and thoughtful, engaging comments like the above and you will get there - my vote's only small, but I'll add you to my auto-vote :D

Thanks soooooo much. Greatly appreciated.

No worries :D

Good to see you posting again. I thought we had lost you for a while there but it's hard to pass up these post rewards when SBD is reaching for the moon! Merry Christmas!

Hahaha worst time to stop posting - was just hella busy with @sbbank and the bigger venture behind it! Added you to my SteemVoter too bruh

Now we need to break against the BTC... It only make sense... When that happen i will celebrate!

THIS IS GREAT NEWS!

yup, we always optimist.... Have nice day bro.

We broke the AUD $1 billion market cap :)

Hellz yeah - the Aussie's up lately too!

I never zoom that far out on my STEEM Daily chart. How cool is seeing that initial spike, lull and now what looks like a healthy, sustainable move.

It was you and those old school pie hack posts that got me into Steemit so thank you!

See you around.