My effort to get Steem featured on the Business Insider network

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Browsing finance twitter this morning and saw this tweet from Henry Blodget, the founder, editor and CEO of Business Insider:

This no use case argument had been bugging me lately - the primary use case for crypto is, and always was, sending money from A to B quickly and at very little (or zero!) cost.

The problem is, as far as mainstream media is concerned, there is Bitcoin and Ethereum and that's about it. Due to these networks' flawed POW models, rapid appreciation -> rising tx costs, both networks have essentially rendered themselves obsolete for sending money. This has led to people with limited knowledge of the space saying crypto is useless.

Never one to miss an opportunity to plug Steem to a traditional finance/media influencer, I thought I'd pipe up:

I'd been thinking of plugging Steem to the Sydney editor, Paul Colgan (@Colgo), in this manner for some time and this seemed like the perfect opportunity!

I'm not sure how many offices they have worldwide and maybe a minute is a bit of a tall ask considering the human element, but I'm pretty definite we could do it in under 2 minutes regardless. If we could automate the process, a minute would be a piece of cake.

I'm yet to hear back from either Colgo or Henry, but interact with Colgo regularly and have received responses from Henry in the past. Having Steem featured across Business Insider's global mastheads would provide the network and coins with truly priceless exposure - fingers crossed. Will update this post if/when I receive a response.

PS if any devs out there could help out with a script to automate transmission of STEEM/SBD between a string of accounts and back to the origin account, leave a comment below and I'll give you a shout if they are interested in running the experiment. We'd need a UI where I could input the origin account, intermediary accounts and active keys for each.

Sort:  

greetings