You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Clarifying my decision not to support EOS-related posts and witnesses (100% of post rewards donated to curation initiatives)

in #steem6 years ago

SirCork you know I love you right. I was in no way trying to be a dick, so sorry if it came off that way. Bitshares essentially kicked Dan out by not approving his proposal.

I kind of thought it was graphene chains vs other chains for my first while here as you said. They were like sister chains in a sense. This is why to me EOS is like a sister chain built by the creator of Steem and the strange cousin bitshares.

Sure I expect outcomes as an investor here and with EOS.. I don't expect it to come from it's creator or it's ceo though. Not @ned, not Brendan, not @dan. but a group of people working on open source applications that they built. The groups of people like you spreading awareness. The people making this new Steem based card game. By people using to the code to create awesome things that the CEO and CTO cannot do.

I thought that's what these decentralized layers for applications were supposed to do.. I admit I am not the most educated person. If Luke and you had a long conversation or two I don't expect to change your mind.

I respect your opinion and all the work you do here @sircork. As well as @donkeypong and see what you are both talking about. I agree it's a valid subject for discussion. I just don't think everything must be so black and white.

I think someguy123 has helped a lot of people here launch their witness nodes, he made EOS in a box ported from his Steem in a box. It would be a sad day to see him leave the Steem blockchain because his help is valuable. Can he not help both, and want them both to succeed?

Anyway. I guess we agree to disagree. I wish there wasn't so much hate in the crypto space. But it's like a sport. You pick your team join it, and hate all the others and anyone who would dare wear their jersey. I wish both EOS and Steem the best of luck really..

Sort:  

Oh I didn't perceive any dickishness at all? I too hope my response didn't allude to any, I was just being matter of fact and stuff.

I really enjoy my chats with @someguy123 and yes it would be a shame to lose someone like him to a competitor, but there I go again, using the world competitor.

To wit, though, I can't speak for Mr 123 here, but I sort of get the idea he isn't on the EOS BP ship jumping lists I have seen so far, and to make the "in a box" thing is more a function of privex as a generic hosting provider offering a wide variety of options than his own individual work, which I know is almost 100% spent here on the chain all the time from personal observation, and I haven't heard anything about that changing.

His ownership of a hosting company puts him in a unique position compared to others. One could argue if he sells servers to wordpress operators he's not living for the chain. I feel like some sort of pass is allowed here. It's like saying he makes computers basically, what people do with them is not necessarily what he does with them.

Your attitude is very generous about fairness and equal opportunity for the chains to succeed and I can respect it, but I also feel we have departed a little from the central theme of can a witness server this chain effectively while also serving another one?

From my experience of actually BEING a witness for eleven months, I don't think its possible to stay current, contribute, add value, create value, use the platform, engage with and understand the user community to be able to effectively represent them and their needs and do that for two chains.

Its information overload, its nearly time impossible to do ONE even in teams. I am a part of a team and some of my favorite witnesses here are also, and no one has a split second to pee, eat or shower some days, most days. We are all generally lamenting over how all consuming being a good and valuable and engaged witness is, and how much we neglect ourselves and our lives to be competitive and useful here.

Divide that by two?

Yeah, no, not without outsourcing most of it or doing all of it poorly.

We don't need jacks of all trades, we need masters of ONE.

And I choose steem. It's a gamble, those guys may go get insta rich and leave me crying, but I'll be here crying in some damn fine company.

I will be here with you lol.. I don't expect that to happen. If the crypto market does thrive again there is room for multiple chains.

I agree with the jack of all trades statement. And I concur as the chains grow, the users and apps grow. The demand for time will also grow and it will become more and more difficult to help both chains unless coding something functional to both of them. Then maybe split into to offices it groups. I am only saying you can help one chain and another without violating the first chain. Do what is good for people on this chain or that, or
both if you are able.

A website that offers voting/posting functions on this chain and eos when you post would be nice. I hope it happens even though Dan and Ned would dislike it I'm sure. They are decentralized so it's possible right?

sure making two api calls in one ajax method is possible. Until one cant get a response from a borked node and they both fail or crafty try-catch coding alleviates that pain point.

But that means a duplicate post has to be on both chains, and somehow identifiable as such, or else what am I submitting two votes to?

Take these comments, imagine a button that said vote on steem, vote on eos at the same time, but the comment only exists on one.

if you are talking witnesses well same thing, how do you know the one there and the one here are the "same" one?

I find this part of your argument rather duplicitous sir. You argue that a witness that is doing his job properly does not have time to do the same on EOS. While at the same time "you give a pass" to a witness that also runs an entire business. You either accept that people can divide their time appropriately or not.

What about witnesses that have a day job?

You missed the point. Because what you repeated is not what I said.

I run a steem exclusive charity, a steem exclusive business, a non steem international software company which doesnt take much of my time at all as an executive who pays people to run it and a STEEM witness.

I do not run them for competitors at the same time.

We've got our wires here somewhere it seems, I was not talking about you at all. I was taking about your reference to someguy123.

Now on a second reading, perhaps I misinterpreted what you said by merging two separate points.

On first reading I took your meaning to be that a person could run a hosting company and a witness. While someone running a witness and a block producer wouldn't have time. I am prepared to concede on a second reading however, that that is probably not quite what you were saying.

I will say this though. For EOS to be directly competing with Steem it would at least need a social media DAPP. For Steem to be directly competing with EOS it would need SMTs to be live or at least imminent. There is overlap to be sure but there is no need for all our war imho.

I think Steemit as a community has little to gain and a lot to lose by taking the "us or them" approach.