You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Changes to Curation Reward Allocation

in #steem8 years ago

Not bad! I'm glad to see you dumped the "activity" rewards, i've always thought those were useless and encouraged poor/artificial behavior. The other valuable tasks are what brings me back, activity is a given. Though I'd like to see a bigger payout on curation 25% is still very reasonable.

I'd like to see the comment payout tweaked a bit. A flat 25% of the post reward could be way too much for many posts. Some posts are extremely valuable and do not require or warrant any discussion. And having it there just pushes for useless artificial chatter. I can't say I've come up with any solution for that though. perhaps upto 25% based on total rShares for all comments. You could make this curve fairly sharp, where if no one votes on any comments little if anything is paid but when even one small whale votes a comment or 2 the full 25% is paid out, or something like that. The problem there is what to do with the remainder. If you give it to the author, the author is incentivized not to encourage and participate in discussion. If you give it to the curator, the curator is incentivised not to vote on comments. hmm maybe the odd case where comments are not useful is not worth the trouble. Or the author just saves an important bit to add to his own post as a comment to capitalize on the extra rewards.

Sort:  

So ...

  1. Post.
  2. Upvote post.
  3. Comment.
  4. Upvote comment.

Is that how we play?

Is there a comment curation reward? What is the incentive to upvote comments? If there is a comment curation reward, then the bots will be fighting us to upvote comments first as well I guess.

I'm not saying that I'm trying to figure out how to game the system, I'm trying to figure out how others are going to game the system. I'm fairly certain that this accounts history shows that we just post and upvote what we like. :)

I'm fairly certain that this accounts history shows that we just post and upvote what we like. :)

Aha! I have your secret now Tuck, you have a spouse that you take shifts with, so that you can be on here 24/7 and hoover up all the curation rewards don't cha?

Haha; well two can play at that game :-)

"Honey, come here a minute, I just need to show you something!"

You are close but we are 4 strong. ;-)

training your dog on how to use Steemit

Got your kids on it as well? That's child labour!

Next you'll be telling me you're training your dog on how to use Steemit :-)

Good question. My understanding is that voters don't get any rewards on comments so there wouldn't be a contest to vote first, but I'm not clear on that. In contrast, the OP seems to suggest it's the same or similar rules as top level posts which would imply commenter gets 50%, voters on comments would get 25%, and sub comment authors the other 25%. etc. down the line. ???

If voters don't get rewards on comments and 100% goes to the commenter, I don't see any reason to vote for anyone but yourself... not sure how that's going to work out.

Definitely needs clarification.

I think you should not focus solely on money. People will upvote great content no matter.

I think what it does, is you're not thinking about voting as a reward, but as a way of showing appreciation, I've been on here for a little over 4 weeks now.

At first, I treated the vote button in the same way I treat the Facebook, like button. Then slowly over time, as I started to realise the power of voting and how to get the maximum out of it; I started to try and think more tactfully.

I don't think I'm unique in this, I think a lot of people when they first discover Steemit, will treat the vote button in this way, simply because it seems they are the same, so it's no cognitive leap to come on here and just start voting for articles and comments you like. If someone says something that makes you, laugh or think differently in an intelligent way, you vote up.

In the future, nobody but the original Steemites will even be aware that there used to be rewards for voting, so it will matter even less, people will vote on what they like, whether it's a comment or post.

And that's a good thing :-)

CG

I don't think that would work under this system, because unless other people up-vote your comment, it will be pointless. Plus if people are fully aware of how the comment rewards work, which eventually we all will be. Then it will be obvious to everyone what the poster is doing and that will turn a lot of people off voting for either their article or their post.

This is a very exciting platform and this post just gave me the most confidence possible. You guys could very well take over social if you play your cards right. Great concept! Great ideas. Im happy to be here.

I think the constant tweaking is a beneficial thing. Continual improvements and iterations make a robust system. If there was a way to measure individual emotional response values then your algorithm would be like magic and rewards would flow in good direction. Hmmm, how could this be implemented?

I'd like to see the comment payout tweaked a bit. A flat 25% of the post reward could be way too much for many posts. Some posts are extremely valuable and do not require or warrant any discussion.

If that is the case, then the comments won't get up voted, take this post for instance, this post is extremely valuable, yet there are valid comments which have made me think and react, so I up-voted them. I think it can work well like this.

CG