How to discover new content on Steemit

in #steem6 years ago

I have been trying an experiment to find good content on Steemit and it is working better than the Trending page.

What do you think?

Finding Content

To find new and interesting content on Steemit you have a few options:

  • Your blog feed (you only see who your following, with a few resteems thrown in)
  • The trending page (Don't even bother, not much of interest there)
  • Browsing, by tags, or links on discord servers or steemit chat

@callahan

A while back I set up an account that resteems articles that a few good curators vote on. Looking at the blog feed in the account feed there is a diverse array of content on a daily basis. Don't follow this account or you will get lots of links but if you are looking to discover something new (especially on a lazy Sunday) check out this account.

You will find new authors, and some of the best content on Steemit. If you like this project let me know in the comments and I will work on improving the reblogging algorithm.

Sort:  

Hi Eroche. I also dodge the trending page. Found it a total waste of time with paid votes for less than average posts.

I'll send this link to my friend @steddyman who is complaining he cant find anything worth voting for!

He made the mistake of using the 'Trending Page' and commenting on articles in there. I have recently put him right but would hate him to leave the platform so early like many do.

He hasn't been hooked yet, and I'm trying to attach that hook.

Nice, let me know if there are any really good people you know that take great care in voting for stuff and I will consider adding them to the list for this account.

seems like a good idea Mr.E. Nice job :)

the bSteem app on android allows you to "subscribe" to tags, and then you can get a trending feed based on your subscribed tags only.

subscribe to a number of obscure tags and the trending is a lot better than what you find on the default trending page.

only on mobile though, and only on android...

I think Sundays usually all rest and prepare for the new start of the week, but know this is not others! Thanks for the information

Hi, its difficult to asses whether this account it posting or resteeming good content based on 3 posts. May be i will look into it once there are more

The account has been resteeming for a few months. There are hundreds of posts in it to view.

Apologies, might have been some page loading issue at my end then. Could only see 3 posts, hence the comment.

all good postings, and deserve the vote!

So you are the owner of @callahan!

I've been calling that account names for a while, but i take it all back and I'm happy to be part of this 'array of diverse content' Cheers! :D

Ha ha, I have probably been called worse. @Callahan is an experiment, my take on vigilante justice. If you search for Harry Callahan from the 70's you will get the idea 🕵️

@callahan is a one man bot trying to bring justice to trending articles 😀 helping people discover new content. All it does is resteem articles that a few authors have voted on. It would be easy to tweak though. I am open to suggestions for people to add, or thresholds for votes. E.g > 50% votes only. But I am amazed with the results with just 3 authors and no other parameters.

Ingenious!

To be honest I'd not looked through the feed and thought it was a strange spammer/resteemer bot!

But now I know the reasons I shall be taking a look - probably a half hour after my posts are published when ginabot tells me @callahan has RS'ed.

Cheers :D

Thanks for this @eroche. I find engagement hard on Steemit due to quality of posts but I believe this will help

@eroche thanks for this conception its really very superb atleast some worthy post will atleast get some votes ,he worst place to look for quality content is the trending pages.

I was taking a look at callahan's profile and the only user resists with a reputation ranking of 60 and up ... @callahan should focus more on resteem new minnow talent.
In Steemit there is enough talent with a reputation of 45 to 59, who are not rewarded for their work. This is very common in most minnows.

Do you have a suggestion for someone who votes on talent like this in the 45 to 59 rep bracket? I can add the posts they vote on to the algorithm.

Hello, my friend @eroche Let me recommend a user who is nearly 100 days old but she is good enough adapt to create content in Steemit. The content is not getting the attention of many users, but she has a creative content. She also grouped the types of posts into different series. There is about poetry, food, platforms, promo steem and lifequotes.

The development is also quite interesting monitored because of its rapidly rising reputation and the number of postings very productive. Maybe you can prove me by visiting the blog @anggreklestari

thanks for your attention

I will check out her blog, she sounds like a great person to follow.

@eroche You often see the same people on the trending page. This would help a lot to get more exposure to other people. A great motivation to improve and create more quality content. This is a great project and I'll think of good curators out there.

Awesome, I hope to bring proof of brain back to steemit 😀, if you have some suggestions for food curators I'll be happy to include them.

Hi! We are DReview Magazine Community.

We are a curator of posts about reviews on foods, football, movies, beaches, restaurants, etc.
Maybe you can help us building a community together and find the best content creator.

You can also join us on our Discord Server