Sort:  

That could be quite time-consuming...

yup...it would mean that people would actually read the posts and curate them honestly. Instead of the steem stream processing that is happening now.

Agreed, but I get a lot of comments to and use a 1% upvote to "check them as read" so that I know I didn't miss replying to someone.

When 40 or 50 users leave a comment on some posts (often at least 200 upvotes come in) that would be a lot of Captcha hoops to jump through.

Plus, people would only need to read the Captcha to upvote, not the post, right?

There is a Captcha that only requires a human to check a box. Voting could be done with two birds, one stone.... clicking the upvote arrow would bring out the check box, which you check. A completed Captcha automatically signifies an upvote!

How would this affect steemvoter and streemian?

Would only the initial voter need to double click and those those following their votes would get the pass?

Good point.
You just indicated another thing that should be added. A 'read post" indicator..
I dunno how it would play out in all the details. That's why I posted the suggestion. Perhaps people (like you) can come up with some ideas. Perhaps the Devs will take the best of those ideas and implement them.

It would seem that at the moment there is a problem that needs to be fixed. I've made a suggestion toward fixing it and you've commented on modifying that suggestion.

Good plan.

I think many higher up actually like some of the upvoting bot activity, or things like auto voting certain users.

How would this affect steemian or steemvoter.com where people can choose to Autovote or follow the votes of another user?

With posting occurring 24 hours a day and curation based upon when upvoting occurs, I think users will always lean towards automating some aspects of it.

Does that make sense?

Using 'autovote' of any sort is NOT curation. It's processing.
If we want to process the steem stream...that's fine.
...but let's be honest about it.
Curation has a whole nuther meaning.

I see both sides to this..

  1. The bots are created by the creators therefore can be altered by the voting pools, kind of like we are doing now.. Also, I feel like if it weren't for the bots then my posts wouldn't have done as well as some of them have granted I stink at writing. lol
  2. These bots could effect the thought process of their masters similar to a dog and his master..

Won't the data from the blockchain solve this problem on it's own..? I figure eventually in the near future, this platform will be able to decipher a bot from human solely off the thought process of recent activity.

NOooooOOOOOOO! I dont want to capt ha ever. Fucking pain in the arse!