When you upvote - you make money - when you comment you make nothing?

in #steem8 years ago

is the earth flat or a ball?

Steemit is fantastic, but I realize that people upvote more then they comment and I have realized it is because there is more money-making incentives to just click the upvote button, which is nice and all - but I miss the conversations from the comment-field.

I would like to see people comment more then they currently do, bring in the good debate if we can.

So dear Steemit, is there something that can be done about that?

Sincerely,
Fyrstikken

Sort:  

i have 10 upvote but earning is NONE ...
Why this happened ?

So how much are upvotes worth compared to comments?

  • isn't it great how we can make money off a decentralized version of social media; Facebook , twitter etc. Instead of massive conglomerates!!!!

You can upvote comments, and get paid.

If people see your comments (like this one) and someone agrees with me, they can also click my name, and see my blog. Which often gets them to read some of my other steem submissions.

Commenting isn't broken. Just a lot of people are lazy and don't want to spend the time to think of something creative to say.

See he got 2 votes! Sadly we just aren't worth anything yet haha!

Well, you are worth an upvote from me, krypto. :)

I added .10 to you just now

Still, the person who posts the main topic will inevitably get more upvotes than the commentor. Even if the value of the comment is greater.

if the value of the comment is greater then the main topic, the comment-writer is free to post his comment as a new steemit article, and maybe even add some extra to it.

You bring a good point however.

Never thought of that. But it is a good idea to consider when you run out of topics to write on :)

Yes, that is true - and I do upvote comments when I see good comments posted. I just think if commenters would get a littlebit of reward for taking the time to write a few sentences, I´m sure that would contribute to more commenting and then the upvoting from the rest of us on comments would be the cherry on the top.

There is a reward that is much greater than money

The comment sections are filled with bots spamming it up nowadays...

Is there not ways to battle that?

I think a good comment is very visible from bot-comments that seem to be short one-liners.

yes agree

I just gave you money

You're exactly right.

You're exactly right.

im too lazy...except now

I've made quite a bit of money with comments. Most recently ...

https://steemit.com/cannabis/@dking7334/the-struggle-to-quitting-cannabis#@tuck-fheman/re-dking7334-the-struggle-to-quitting-cannabis-20160705t033525866z

There are several others around that amount as well and on one early post I had nearly $1k for a comment before it was diluted down to a few hundred before the 7/4 payout. Most of the comments that receive high payouts are rather lengthy and go into a lot of detail.

For that reason it was established early on that it was more beneficial for not only the person commenting, but everyone on Steemit, if long comments were instead broken out into a separate post and then linked to as a reply. See this as an example : https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/steem-community-building-how-to-turn-your-pennies-into-dollars

One post in particular had a lot of high paying comments. Again these were mostly diluted down pre 7/4, but still received quite a lot of money for a comment :

https://steemit.com/steem/@au1nethyb1/reducing-friction-for-critical-mass-adoption-of-steemit

This is very encouraging, thanks for the post! Looking forward to becoming as witty as humanly possible! Training starts now.

I think people that don't comment on posts miss a trick.

Yes commenting may not make as much money as posting and upvoting, however does help build a reputation that can pay greater dividends in the long run.

A lot of the big hitters (in terms of consistently high payouts for posts), also comment incessantly. I don't think it's a coincidence.

Also I find that going down the rabbit hole of a good debate helps stimulate thought and ideas for posts and articles.

There was a lot of debate a few weeks back about changing the rewards structure to reward comments more. I think we have the right balance now.

It's really for 'Steemians' to recognise that Steemit is no different for any other social media site in that you have to put in the work, sometimes unselfishly, in order to reap the full benefit of the platform long term.

im not sure if comment voting gets rewards same as posts

it depends - if you say something very clever you might get a lot of upvotes, even followers.

I just think that a small default reward for posting a comment would be a good thing as incentive for people who just want to be in the comment-field, and we need those to thrive as well.

I earn SD for comments, in the transactions it's listed as a reward for blogging

Craig is a machine!

At least a third of what I've made here so far has been from comments I made that were upvoted.

I made like $32 from my comment about Ned being like a fair shepherd who's unquenchable curiosity ........

I wonder i just post 2 line comment and 42.01 steem dollar showing which is not true i have get this in real Why this happened ?

Why there was only 2 upvote and earning 42.01 ?? as you can see my last comment

I'm noticing the same thing. Tragic. I've always been a fan of side discussions, myself.

Isn't it usually like that everywhere (more votes than comments)?

One thing about Steem is that even if you don't care at all about something, you have an incentive to upvote it if you think other people will care about it. So that adds to the difference between the number of votes and of comments.

In other words, people probably aren't voting instead of commenting, they're just voting more than anything else.

There is no way I could have walked away with $12,000 without highly engaged comments.

I realize this is an old post, but, I'm still learning my way around Steemit.

It doesn"t aeem like folks upvote comments very much either. Not sure why.... At first, I thought maybe I was just that boreing, but not very many others get their comments upvoted either. Not sure if not many folks bither to read through them, or what..

with the comments its like the same with you can see on YT or FB mostly the creator gets his upvot/like and the reader / fan leave .. i hope more people will read comments and talk/ comment more

I realize that this is an older post, but it's still very relevant. I too, have noticed that sometimes I'll see a large number of votes on a post, but not a single comment. I haven't been able to make much at all on my posts, but I do get some votes, yet very few comments. Commenting does add value to the platform, and can be very engaging.

You have a new follower BTW.

The conversation is the key, the main reason we are here!

Exactly! I'd much rather support Steemit than Facebook, YouTube, and a few others. They make a ton of money off of 'our' content and personal information. I love the idea of building something for us, and not them. Someday I'd love to see Dtube and Steemit pretty much replace YouTube and Facebook.!