You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tall Weed Syndrome

in #steem6 years ago

Hi @tarazkp. Got here from @thedailysneak and glad I did. Fascinating and necessary stuff to one in my position, a newcomer wondering if posting what I believe to be worthwhile content (as I intend to start doing as soon as I finish having a good nose around), along with doing the other (community) stuff of course, will make it possible to develop at least an income stream on here. I would say it's also salutary, except that looking at your rewards (which I always feel slightly grubby doing, I'll be honest), they seem kinda respectable to me. Are the figures misleading? Because if not, I'd settle for a fraction, though to be sure these things are relative. I don't have a family, mortgage, car or many of the other things normal people do.

Still trying to get my thinking straight on the whole Haejin thing. My instinct is to side with you, because he's anything but community-minded, which goes against the spirit of the platform. But I also hear the other side and today was watching a video in which @brandonfrye, who seems a sound guy to me, was pointing to the need for investors who, whatever their motives, increase the worth of Steemit by keeping large amounts on here, and without whom we'll be in trouble in the long term.

Myself, I'd far rather just create and curate than have anything to do with the politics, but it seems they're hard to ignore. I hope your feeling about it all doesn't continue to go in the direction suggested by this post. (I've yet to really check out others, though at a glance your blog looks amazingly impressive.) If the community-minded people like yourself, who want no more than their dues, can't get ahead and head elsewhere, while the bots and borderline scammy behaviour get worse, Steemit will surely never become the fantastic thing it has the potential to be. Seems to me - though as I've said my perspective is limited - things could go either way at this point, but it's way too early to get discouraged.