Tall Weed Syndrome

in #steem6 years ago

I was tagged in a post the other day by someone 'schooling' their followers on earning at Steemit. I only came across it because @Ginabot informed me. I wasn't about me or any of my posts in particular, it was a suggestion that they should target me for their commenting as I upvote many. I have come across about 3 of these articles in the last week and I have seen the people commenting on them about how they got an upvote. Good for you, I am glad my good will could be of service to you.

So, why the hell do I bother writing what I intend to be something of quality, useful and thought provoking in nature if very few actually care as long as they get an upvote on their comment? I have written a fair bit about engagement and the benefits of it but, this is not engagement, it is deception. Now of course, many of my comments are from people who do actually engage with the content and I thank them.

But still, I have the same question; why bother?

I have financial aims here like everyone else but, I have up until this point always balanced whatever I have earned with my content level. Since my average earning are around 10 dollars a post, one post a day isn't going to cut it as for me to be a part of this place at the level I look to be, it is going to take me 10 years. I really wish someone had told me to buy 7 cent Steem when it was available because at the moment, I am killing myself trying to catch up the way I am doing it.

I figure this; I have over 1600 posts of decent quality, they cover a great deal of content and have been helpful to many, I have handed out about 30,000 manually curated votes in my time here, have made 8500 comments, upvote comments, onboarded and delegated to people over time, yet, still struggle to make a significant impact. I am obviously doing something wrong. The people who support my current position are nearly entirely people who benefit from me keeping this same approach which alone, is indicative.

Considering there are people making much larger gains by offering the community much less, doesn't this indicate that what I offer is not as valuable as what they offer? This is the law of supply and demand. The drop off of quality over the last 6 months has been staggering from people who used to offer substance yet, they are having the manual curators support them still. Perhaps Steem just isn't ready for what I think is useful. That is fine, I don't mind that at all and I have even written a post or two mentioning that niche is likely to struggle here.

What I find personally difficult to stomach is that if instead of taking an interest in the community, I partook in maximization processes, I would have at least double the Steem Power I hold now. Sure, I wouldn't have as many friends but, with a larger vote and this being Steem, friends can be bought and going on the first paragraph, so can engagement. People don't even care these days as a month ago is ancient history and with people like Haejin raping 5% the pool and the bidbots taking 50%, what does it matter if people act poorly.

Why does consistency mean so much to me if it apparently means so little to others? This is potentially a sign I am unable to adapt to the changing ecosystem which means, irrelevancy is fast approaching. But, I m not even close to being where I need to be yet, it is too soon for irrelevancy and early retirement.

I am having an existential Steem crisis. I am middle aged too which doubles it and I don't have the money to buy a convertible Porsche so, I am triple screwed. Thankfully, I am not going bald.

This is the problem though as it is just not me who is feeling this way, it is many, many of the people who have been here long-term and put in the hard yards but are struggling to get anywhere. I am just among the last it seems as so many other have already drifted off to try new methods that don't appear in the FAQs. The new people think it is a struggle now but, they may not realize how much work some of the old went through to get to this point. But, I am definitely not saying everyone had a difficult time of it as some of the biggest names have had it quite easy. Timing.

I do not work on an entitlement mindset however and know I am entitled to nothing here no matter what I have done. It is all up to the community whether they choose to reward or not (since I don't boost posts). But, that community is effectively shrinking instead of growing and even though the votes might come, they are having less and less value for a couple obvious reasons. Instead of niches slowly getting more support, they are getting less as there are fewer and fewer manual curators holding and offering value and many, many more small accounts with no value needing support.

What I face now is that I have overbalanced the community aspect too heavily at the cost of personal growth which in time, will likely cost the community even more as people who have done similar to me by thinking community won't have the power to support the growing community we care about. Those who are growing are often the ones who don't care about the community at all or, are extracting out into other coins and banking on EOS. This isn't just the whales, orcas and dolphins either.

I and others have said before many times that this place needs a healthy middle class but I have failed to become part of it by being community orientated. That in itself is an issue. I wasn't in early enough to take advantage of the early insanity of 10,000 dollar posts, knowledgeable enough at the right time to buy-in, and too late to attract consistent support from the circles. Timing is everything as they say.

You know, Haejin could have been a hero with the support he gets but he chose to be a C-word instead and it isn't 'community-minded.' He could have had a massive affect on distribution and user-retention just by upvoting comments for 700 dollars a day. Here are some of us struggling each day for scraps and there he is suggesting to buy fortune 500 stocks for 200 dollars a post and 15,000 SBD a week. WTF?

"Opt OUT of FIAT & Opt INTO Cryptos"

He has that line on his profile confused it seems. I wish he would, Opt OUT of STEEM & Piss OFF

Asshole. C-word.

I do not know all of the future issues I and my family will face but, ethics unfortunately don't pay medical bills and being a decent human doesn't come with perks. People like to say that people will get what they deserve and perhaps it may be true at times in the negative but, what about all the good people suffering? Don't they deserve better?

Meh, I obviously take all of this shit too seriously. It is a pity I wasn't here at the right time or had the money to buy-in to potentially make a difference. The problem with putting your money where your mouth is that you have to have the money upfront. I still have to work to earn mine and no one is going to hand it over easily.

People like to cut down tall poppies but, this place needs some tall weeds uprooted and burned.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

This is my niche; overly-long, meaningless shitposts. Don't worry, it won't take much from the pool.

Sort:  

We mice get it Tarazkp. We mice could go into business of producing Cheese only for ourselves and this would provide us with short term gratification. Instead we have chosen the more difficult, community building path. Thereby creating a platform to allow others to succeed.

We like the path we have chosen, though from time to time we do look back at the easy path we passed up.

In the long term though - the communities will succeed and the the Steem price will grow and the middle class will thrive.

We thank you for the love you have shown to others friend Tarazkp.

my favourite duo 💖

Haha. My boss has been bringing my department through this teaching (who moved my cheese)and it has been pretty fun. I read the book years ago and I am sure it heavily influenced my ability to adapt to the situations I am in. Good work here guys!

Hi Sniff. Very well put.

Thank you, it is appreciated.

This is a complex ecosystem and it takes a lot of diverse activities to get it to operate well. The overall arch should be the community but the pathways might twist and turn and sometimes be dead ends. At the very least, it keeps it interesting and we are slowly creeping forward.

@sniffnscurry how i can join you . ???

The SteemChurch executive aims to support both the poor and the middle class - but admits that the balance is often difficult to find.

You are right friend Tarazkp - timing is everything. The legendary SirKnight made a post about 'being where the puck was going to be' a mere 11 hours ago. You may want to check it out.

Who knows, perhaps those happy little blockchain mice will be along later to reward you for the community support you provide.

STEEMCHURCH

Will drop in and check it out and say hi :)

Don't get too upset over this. It's such a mindless, stupid mechanism, you know? Even the smallest users have people coming over and commenting in the hope they'll get an upvote. It doesn't really seem to matter if you give 3 cents or 30 on their comment. Some people are just like that and not worth worrying over.
Or getting upset over.
Some of us here (many of us) know that you write quality posts that are worth reading. You know, not so much for the monetary reward, but for the good content, which really is hard to come by, these days.
But you can't get recognition from all. No one can. So, don't be so harsh on yourself. I like what you write. There are more like me on here. You are a voice in the community, an important one.

What a nice brother I have huh? :)

You really do, @galenkp :D You really do. One that sometimes doesn't seem to see that :D
But I think we're lucky to have both of you here.

Thank you. :)

I second this.

I think my crisis is being a vice without having the means to be more than a voice. Air is enough to breath, but not enough to live off. It is not like I am going to stop writing or working for the community but I do have to adjust somewhere.

It is not like I am going to stop writing

Good. You really shouldn't. I understand your frustration, or at least, try to. But maybe you should just take it easy, remember that Steemit is still a wonderful opportunity, one that did not exist five years ago, something good and even that air that's just enough to breathe might not have been here :) I know you know this and probably understand what Steemit means way better than me, but still...everyone needs a bit of cheering up :)

:)

I think I just feel stagnant and a little inept that I am unable to do a little more each day. I think it is time for some experiments.

Well, it can't hurt trying something new, can it? Who knows when you strike gold. At the very least, these experiments of which you speak might get you out of this mood, which I'm sure would be a very good thing.
A little more for yourself or the community? 'Cause it seems to me like you do plenty for the community already :)
Whichever it is, I hope you find what you're looking for.
:)

I and others have said before many times that this place needs a healthy middle class but I have failed to become part of it by being community orientated.

With 20,000 SP you are at least middle-class if not lower upper class. In 16 months, you have made $60,000 worth of SP. I don't think that's bad at all.

I agree Haejin is a total reward pool rapist. The trouble with too much focus on the war on Haejin is that there are many others.

Hi Markku. There are too many like him. Unfortunately what is distasteful is the redirecting of people to people like us who enjoy comments and will upvote.

Middle class here needs to be around 50k SP to be able to support a significant number of small accounts to come. The problem is that more are coming in in the lower reaches than can be supported, even at a low level. Having even another 200 community people with 50k would make this place amazing.

I agree Haejin is a total reward pool rapist. The trouble with too much focus on the war on Haejin is that there are many others.

Yeah, there is the queen of travel shitposts too and the alts/family

I read the article. I don't feel sorry for them . If they were as active as us they would be growing. They don't need to because they are in a comfortable position and is more of an investment. All the others are trying to get bigger so overtime will slowly close the gap.

yes, I have seen that but it depends how you look at it and at what those numbers mean. There are a number of whales that are powering own into smaller accounts for various reasons too but, they still hold the stake. I know that some want to have stake in anon accounts for safety/security so it makes sense. I think the numbers are too simplified to tell the story.

But even with that, there needs to be a much much larger fat middle section if mainstream is to happen as mainstreaming means most will come in with very little.

Can I ask who the queen of travel "posts" is? Do they include the phrase "Walk with me, something, something, something" in their titles? Asking for a friend :)

lol. sweetsssj

Thought so :)

Just dropped upvotes on the comments she was too stingy to reward on her last post....To be fair, she is more generous than the two-bit TA.

still struggle to make a significant impact

Would you be willing to break down more why you feel this way and what you would like to be accomplishing? In a post if it gets long. I feel like you're one of the people I'm listening to most here, and I frequently use you as an example when I'm trying to teach other posters how to build a strong comment section.

You're like 10x as big as me, I don't see why you couldn't be effective. I have an edge in that I'm willing to take vote-buying profits and spread them around, but I don't think that's impossible to overcome.

Well, I have been in here since Jan 17 pretty much doing what I am now for a lot of that time. I have powered up a great deal of my earnings and work 40-60 hours week writing what I do without factoring in the comment replies. why?

Well, consider something like Haejin, who earns ~200 dollars a post. It would take 60 of me to wipe him to zero and the willingness to act which is a hard thing. It wouldn't allow for anything else in the community. However, 600 of me giving one flag a day and he is gone. This is without a whale acting at all.

But, this would be 200 in a middle class with ~50k SP which is possible and if they are community orientated, easy to mobilize. However, these same community people will also be massive distributors of steem which will attract and retain even more. They will become nodes that niche communities can be built around and a whale could support 3 or 4 nodes heavily to build them and then transfer support. Distribution can happen relatively quickly here if community people were incentivized instead of Haejin types.

I would like to work my way into becoming a node in the future that can be a distributor most of the time and flag when required but, there needs to be enough people similar to both offer support and protection.

The main thing though is the community growth and distribution though as the more people with significant stake, the more smaller users get supported too as there can be more eyes in the waters. But, because of the bidbots taking most of the eyes, stake and SBD, growth for community people is painfully hard and slow with many of those using and operating not community orientated at all.

Dunno what it will all amount to but, I have worked really really hard to fall behind rapidly. The only reason I can support the level I can now is because, I haven't powered down or used a dollar of crypto personally. This is not because IRL I am in a comfortable position.

I would like to work my way into becoming a node in the future that can be a distributor most of the time and flag when required but, there needs to be enough people similar to both offer support and protection.

I am patiently waiting for that day .
You can't measure what you do in a monetary value . Do you deserve it ? yea you do . Take a good look around and see some of the people you have touched . look at what they are doing . If you can get a return of 2 out of 10 of the ripples you created your doing good . I have no doubt that the day will come when the weeds will be uprooted .
If this was a shit post it would be in "Trending"
The smaller accounts with no value yet are growing and growing .
One supported bot could have made a huge impact . but the big boys wanted the status quo

One supported bot could have made a huge impact . but the big boys wanted the status quo

The bots that could have been distributing haven't been distributing widely enough, at levels too high and to too much crap. They could have done better but, their profits would suffer.

I think I also have an edge in that my goals are easier than your goals. You've got a lot of high-level stuff here that's hard to break down into practical actions, and I'm not sure if that necessitates a different approach or a reconsideration of goals from the beginning. There are a lot of dolphinmaking projects springing up right now, and maybe you could find one that would suit you to cooperate with. I'm sure they'd be happy to have you. If you're particularly looking to push for the development of not-bot-using, non-haejinish, community-centered users, I would suggest connecting with @whatamidoing in particular. He has a lot of interesting thoughts in that neighborhood.

If you're not familiar with SMART goals they're sometimes a really useful way to think about being effective. A SMART goal is a goal that's Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Timely. It might be worth thinking how you can convert some of your longer-term hopes into short-term plans that way.

For me, because I'm looking for things like more high-quality art writing, and more original music, those are pretty easy things to develop actionable programs for, experiment, and figure out what works. We have a pretty consistent stream of new/small posters in those categories, and all I need to do is throw enough money at them to convince them to stay.

I wouldn't care to tackle haejin except on a philosophical basis. I think sticking to spending time on the level where I can be effective is a much better plan for me.

Yeah, @whatamidoing works hard and should get more support to do more.

A SMART goal is a goal that's Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Timely.

Yes, I do know of this. I will adjust a few things soon so I can align short and long-term positions. At the end of the day, it is going to likely be short-term growth with less community for long-term community gain.

I wouldn't care to tackle haejin except on a philosophical basis.

this is my area ;)

Hmmm, why do good people have to suffer and the wrong ones only take the benefits?

You are doing the right thing, what you are doing is all what steemit is all about. Interaction!

Money is good, but touching lives is better, you might not be having the result of those you consider to be your mate on the platform, but you are doing what most of them are not doing. You are touching lives.

The true value of money is not money, but what you do with the money. What you are doing with yours is the best anybody can do.

I wish I am one of the early adopters too, but I won't allow that to stop me from moving.

Slow movement is also a movement. Not moving at all is the only problem.

I think you should take pride in that in what you are doing.

Slow movement is also a movement. Not moving at all is the only problem.

This is true and it is what keeps me pushing as hard as I do. For mothers, it looks like I am speeding a long but, they do not see the energy it is taking in the background and it won't last forever.

Things like this happens to develop your full capacity, in term of production, you are doing more than most of them. You are not only getting money, you are developing as well, that's another advantage you have over others who do little to earn more.
Time will tell..... Hug

Cheer up, @tarazkp. I hear you... and am having an existential Steem/midlife crisis, myself...

(Living hand-to-mouth and going bald).

But, you know what? Failure would be bitterness, & trying to succeed on the terms of others.

Goodness is its own reward, brother 🙏🏼

:)

But, you know what? Failure would be bitterness, & to succeed by the terms of others.

This is the issue I think as at the moment, I don't think I am doing it on my terms completely. It is a good place to work it all out though.

I agree, and think of this platform as a kind of testing ground, too. Wishing us perseverance, stubborn hope and best of luck :)

I agree with what you say. It's terrible to redirect people to your post because they will get a vote. Just tells you how wrong the attitude is in this place. People aren't wanting to find interesting things to read but are just hunting for a rare vote. I think it is a slap in the face. Direct people to good content by all means but promising them a reward at the same time is just wrong. How many others are rewarding readers then? Is it that rare that you stand out and an easy target as such. I just think the weeding needs to be happening now and to have an eye out for genuine comment makers.

Some reward and if you follow some of the people commenting here you will find the other accounts rewarding too. Some off more than I do. It is quite a little money earner for some I would imagine. I don't mind rewarding them even if they are just in it for the money if they add to the conversation.

I hear what you are saying but it is still a shitty thing to do. Direct people to you. It is meant to be a community so find things you like. Must be quite bad out there if that is how they are helping people.

I am middle aged too which doubles it and I don't have the money to buy a convertible Porsche so, I am triple screwed. Thankfully, I am not going bald.

Ditto.

@tarazkp
Brother relax . why you are hurt so much . leave them . if they think earning in steemit is only from comments so tey are wrong and let them wrong.
But if you are doing a great job by giving them there needs so why you react kike that .
Are you only post for them ???
No , you are not really posting for there needs .
Keep it up and leave them . how much they earn much lomg they do the same . but you dont lose your patients .
You post a good content for you .so focus on that posts qualities .
I read some top bloggers because i want to copy them . i want to learn from them . i am b glad i am doing better all the time . but need some response but i am happy from this .
You carry on we are with . dont panic by these little things

I feel ya! Seems greed wins out over all the love and community of steemit after all.

Let’s discuss it at the steemit world summit to be held in Finland in July.

Ps. When it’s inappropriate to use the c^nt word I say dum dum. That way I can work it into general conversation. Just saying.

Anyway, thanks for your awesome vote on this comment. Just getting in ahead of time...

July is coming up so fast. Pretty cool. I think I will post less that week :D

Haha! Yeah, we gotta hang out in between sessions at the steemit world summit.

Getting my cashola changed this week. That’s going to hurt. Aussie to Stirling and Euro is almost half. I’m bringing 50kg of gold bullion though so will trade that as we go. :)

(A) started the packing process yesterday. Overweight already. She reckons she’s culled it down as far a she can. Says I need to pack light so I can take more of her stuff! We have a bag of goodies for the little one though. Just small stuff.

Not long now!

Don't worry about too much for her as she will just love having new people to play with. Take stuff you can leave along the way also as you might find a tin of Milo in England.

:D

Haha! A big tin I assume.

hahaha I can tell you guys are brothers :)

Anyway, thanks for your awesome vote on this comment. Just getting in ahead of time...

haha you're such a dum dum :)

Nice use of my word...

So yes, @tarazkp and I were born on the same day, so not just brothers but twins. (9 years apart though.)

Thank you; I so glad that you approve :)

You've told me that before, and I find it very remarkable!

hey i'm glad you're here. and i know my 100% upvote doesn't count for too much (.32 cents), but i for one appreciate hearing the voices who have been here for a long time and the fact that they are still going, reevaluating and not just playing the system to make a quick buck. i really appreciate your ethics and my little vote can't put food on the table or go towards buying a porsche, but i also appreciate hearing these reflective thoughts of yours <3 steem on!

Luckily for you, I don't want a porsche. 100,000 more votes of yours might get me a little Tesla though :D

There is hopefully a long way to go and I really hope that I have a chance to experiment more. I feel a little stagnant at the moment.

i hope you have a chance to experiment more too!! i feel all of these voices make the steemit ecosystem more rich! and here's to the flow!! i think writing pieces like this can get your flow going again... write whatever's on your spirit. <3

I have felt most of what you are communicating. I see the whole project a little differently, but I think times are going to be changing.

I also joke about how terrible it is to be a dolphin. Everyone wants to help a minnow, or get a whale vote, but almost nobody is interested in dolphins. I know some hate the use of those terms, but they are used, so I use them.

I think we will see a big change in how the site works and how difficult it will become to earn Steem. I don't think many of these new users understand what it took for those of us who had to grind our Steem out of the curved reward pool. They picture 10 people splitting the rewards and laughing while you and I know that isn't what happened at all.

Hang in there, Mr Shitposter, all of this will be worth it some day.

Hang in there, Mr Shitposter, all of this will be worth it some day.

Yeah, it will be wort it for but, how much am I able to help others here in the future? Each day, the rewarded is narrowing with higher peaks.

I'm right there with you age wise and also can't buy a convertible. But as long as we have our hair it's all good...lol.

Seriously though I can completely see your position on all of this. The insane rewards that some complete crap posts get is insane. Anyone who is self voting at a rate of 70, 80, 90%+ has zero interest in the well being of steemit and nobody should reward them. Seriously even if their content is great they don't deserve your votes if they can't bother to share some of their votes back with the community.

I look at the effort made to keep my contest running and know that I could be using my time better if the thing I was worried about was profits. Also could do better by just upvoting more of my own content instead I sit at around 8% with a lot of it going towards the newer steemians featured in my contest. Plus know for sure I could be doing better with the use of bid bots as there is still some profit left in them, but instead I've been growing organically.

Wish I was around for the 7c steem as if I had purchased any of it I'd be further along in my growth but all I can do is keep plugging away. Been buying even at current prices a little each week with the goal of getting my vote up over $1 before prices jump. Think that being able to drop a $1 vote on a post makes a real difference to most people and really looking forward to being able to do just that.

In the end we can only do what we feel is right. Some have no issue being greedy pigs, but like you I just can't behave this way. I'd rather earn less then sell out.

Think that being able to drop a $1 vote on a post makes a real difference to most people and really looking forward to being able to do just that.

Yes, my hope in the future is tat I am able to provide many of these types of votes.

In the end we can only do what we feel is right. Some have no issue being greedy pigs, but like you I just can't behave this way. I'd rather earn less then sell out.

The earning less is a problem for the future though isn't it? Is the not selling out now while there are a few going to mean that in the future, we will have our dignity but, will be almost useless in helping others?

I don't know that without serious amounts of money that someone new could come in and pass someone in your position. Myself, sure as you could buy the steem I have for a few thousand dollars if you had it. But your in a spot where you are going to have a vote with meaning going forward.

More important as those who you have helped get going continue to grow you will also have us continuing to support you as your words have helped shape our behavior here on steemit. Know for sure you have effected my approach and know more then a few others who have told me that you really helped them when they got started with your posts and some kind upvotes that kept them motivated.

Sometimes I think we underestimate what we are doing out there...well at least I know for sure I do. My last post touched on the fact that I feel others seem to be giving more credit then I have earned yet.

You have chosen to look at a post or two that maybe showed some people how to gain a few extra votes vs focusing on the same post that inspired my last post which listed you as one of the 44 steemians to follow and said this about you:

@tarazkp (https://steemit.com/@tarazkp ) - describes himself as a prolific thinker etc. Writes frequent, well thought out, balanced, posts trying to hold people to account for abusing the steem ecosystem through the excessive use of bid bots and misuse of delegations from accounts

We can all focus on either the good or the bad around us. When we see the good and choose to focus on the good we breed an atmosphere of positive energy that can only grow. Same goes the other way and sadly as it's easier to instill fear and hate in people focusing on negative things tends to breed negative energy much faster then good can be spread.

We need the beacons of light that help cast a light in the dark corners who call out the wrong doers like yourself, we need those who continue to plug away day after day producing quality content making others look at their efforts and comparing, and we need to keep our dignity if for no other reason then we can look our children in the eyes and tell them the difference between what is right vs wrong.

I don't know that without serious amounts of money that someone new could come in and pass someone in your position.

I think it will be hard to do 'naturally' to this level, even posting decently often enough. However, that also shouldn't discourage anyone considering when I had about 5000 SP, my vote was worth cents still. HF19 changed the curve and everyone suddenly had some value. For better or for worse. What I am saying is, there are always more changes to come.

My last post touched on the fact that I feel others seem to be giving more credit then I have earned yet.

The reason is that you are actually doing something for the community that has value for them. Not many are. You deserve he credit although it can feel very weird for someone who isn't overly fond of hearing what is personally considered, ' undue praise'. I know this. I dislike praise, I am more comfortable with criticism.

We need the beacons of light that help cast a light in the dark corners who call out the wrong doers like yourself, we need those who continue to plug away day after day producing quality content making others look at their efforts and comparing,

The problem is with this is that the smaller, deserving accounts can't grow unless there are people willing and able to help them grow. Currently, there are too few manual curators and too many insensitive bidbots. I have said before that they are not going anywhere but their current form is harmful. I think it is time to find that middlepoint before too many non-community orientated people grow too much.

As they say, it is going to get worse before it gets better.

Well said and so true. Lot’s of us here have made many attempts to write decent posts, but the truth is nobody here really wants to read them. Instead I focus on friends, and the occasional post that really blows me away. I can appreciate there are actually less decent posts than there once was. More and more it’s about dtube, games, competitions, etc. If I was a new person just entering the pool, this could all be very disappointing. My first thought would be just sign up for a few bots. Some of us still have some integrity, and like the old ways. One can’t take any of this too seriously. BTW , I venture to say by the end of 7 days this post will make far more than $ 10.00. Something I haven’t seen in many months! 🐓🐓

Some of us still have some integrity, and like the old ways.

I wonder how fast we become pieces of furniture with a sheet over the top.

BTW , I venture to say by the end of 7 days this post will make far more than $ 10.00. Something I haven’t seen in many months!

This is the problem at the moment. Many actual content producers are struggling because they have integrity and it will cost the platform greatly in the future. Perhaps in this early stage of the community, it requires strength, not just integrity. :/

Pardon my language, but what a fucking cheek. There goes the whole community spirit that we keep talking about, rape of the kind by the greedy. Lazy greedy shits that gets my blood pressure up not wanting to constructively contribute.

It is to be expected considering what people do for much less. It isn't new, I have been a target for a while. As long as they actually try to comment well, I can live with it.

Mate, you're a scholar and and a gentleman. I just don't like people taking advantage and don't often deal with it diplomatically

In a way, being included in that post is an indication that you are making it. Okay, you weren't presented in a way that you would have liked, but to get to this point you had to make enough of an impact to be noticed in that way even. I would say that it's the quality and engagement level of your work that got you here. You're just not as likely to get mentioned for that in a post.

This is my niche; overly-long, meaningless shitposts. Don't worry, it won't take much from the pool.

I'm glad to see you can still try and make humour of it. 😊 The shitpost niche hasn't done too badly for you after all! Lol.

Yeah, I have said that I don't mind as long as they engage well enough but, for example

Beautiful flowers friend thank you for sharing with us

is a lot of the comments from such groups. Not all though and I see some names on thoise posts who do try to engage well here. As long as they continue to read and comment adequately, I don't mind giving a vote as it could lead to them being future leaders here too. I think for most not though.

Lol! I live in hope that those ones will give up if it's ignored enough.
I've just been reading comments on @mattckarke's latest post. I can think of nothing to say about them, but "huh?!" Maybe he got mentioned in the same post! Lol!

Well yeah... I don't think I need to tell you that I feel the same way.

Delegating thousands and giving away more crypto than the contest post takes is not really skilled economics on my part. I guess I too have not adapted to the times.

What's the plan? As per the reply to tcpolymath, 598 more to find?

but you guys are the ones who give us hope on the platform... i know it's not money in the bank, but seriously so inspiring!! you've enhanced my experience 10 fold @abh12345

Thanks guys :)

The continual encouragement from people like yourselves makes me confident I'm doing the right thing. It's just hard sometimes travelling this road, when you are watching so many taking the shorter path - because the code allows.

For me, that's not a good enough reason to hide behind, and I'm disgusted daily by what I see from accounts big and small. We're not a big network yet, and sharing the pool around would see everyone taking part and interacting thrive in time, and I guess that's what hacks me off the most.

Instead there are only pockets of individuals with vision and the health of the community in mind, and we suffer both in mind and pocket because of our good intentions. Anyway, despite getting grumpy about it, I wont be changing my approach, and go on with hope that one day our actions will be noticed.

The issue comes in a year, two years from now when people like @abh12345 don't have the power to influence hope as much and the maximisers draw the majority to act as they do. In this early phase, perhaps iron fists are needed because healthy governance doesn't exist yet.

You're post makes me kind of sad; seems the good guys rarely get ahead, here or in life. I too focus on people and community, so if you're ok with it, I'm going to copy and paste your post in a year when I'm feeling the same way :)

so if you're ok with it, I'm going to copy and paste your post in a year when I'm feeling the same way :)

I don't mind at all. Watch out for @cheetah :P

But yeah, people will do anything for a little more money here yet, time is something they don't seem to value as highly as others. They don't seem to realise the value of actually investing into the relationships beyond what they can extract. In time, they will.

Your post really got me thinking because I spend countless hours here commenting, engaging etc, but my wallet sure doesn't reflect it! I don't think I will change anything that I'm doing, but it does make me think there's something wrong with this whole picture :)

I am hoping changes will come in time but I think that people are going to have to unfortunately adapt to the current situation before too much harm is done by those who just don't care.

And I also have to believe that there is a large group of people "my age" who believe in this platform, and who are growing together to eventually be large enough to make a difference. I hope.

Those cars, well I still don't get the why of them but I can barely tell cars apart (I occasionally recognise manufacturer badges and not much else XD) so I guess I wouldn't understand XD

I have seen shitposts. You don't write shitposts. And also how would you feel about yourself if you'd done the "easy" path? I kind of feel that you'd be having a different kind of existential crisis if you'd gone that route.

The niches are kind of niching with the different front ends, so I think we can still get it or at least part of it to where we want it to be if we keep nudging.

goatsig

You just have to get you a sugar daddy like ranchorelaxo. Have you tried wearing short shorts and a skin tight shirt that ties in the middle?

The trick is that you gotta make sure your balls don't fall out the bottom of the shorts. Once you have that covered, you are golden.

I am lucky on both ends; full head of hair and don't sit on my testicles yet... :P

Well then everything is about ready to fall in your lap. Once you land that whale keep me in mind . Lol

I empathize with the sentiment. It could be so different. But then again, the whole world could be completely different if humans behaved the way you promote here. From my pessimistic perspective, I don't see that happening. A middle class existence is no longer supported, nor does it seem to be an existence desired. Even though a healthy middle class is essential to a flourishing ecosystem, from SteemIt to Nations, to the World. Perhaps that understanding will come around again in time, and being middle class with standards and morals will be respected over personal gain at the expense of society. Perhaps. Steem also has potential to increase exponentially in value, perhaps getting you back on track for your monetary goals.
For now...
" Now of course, many of my comments are from people who do actually engage with the content and I thank them."
...these are the reasons you should continue doing what you do. As long as the needs of your family are being met.

Steem also has potential to increase exponentially in value, perhaps getting you back on track for your monetary goals.

My monetary goals are Steem goals. Earning more money isn't the thing, having more distribution power when it is going to matter is.

This doesn’t even take in account those who suddenly become members of curation projects and immediately start with reposts - raping their new groups. No matter whether requested or not, it’s a double earning for the same content (sometimes a multiple of that even):

The drop off of quality over the last 6 months has been staggering from people who used to offer substance yet, they are having the manual curators support them still.

I regret having made a big error when things were absolutely overvalued around the turn of the year and I to let others benefit from things.

Hindsight, water, bridge and so on.

Thankfully, I am not going bald.

Going bald is and has always been the new bearded. Don’t let any wannabe hip trendster hipster let you convince otherwise.

Don’t let it get to you though. I know this is easterly said than done but end of the day, many feel that way and others seeing what is happening even don’t want to get started.

Yet, while there is still a little corner of the BC available... we can still make it work to and for us. Better to focus on that than to end up in the inevitable quicksand that is everything wrong that is happening. The latter is merely a toxic echo chamber which more than often will lead to burn out rather than still seeing value.

Going bald is and has always been the new bearded. Don’t let any wannabe hip trendster hipster let you convince otherwise.

Thinning hair? :P

As you know, the future is not going to be pleasant in this world and most are unprepared. UBI isn't going to reach every corner of the globe (at least fast enough) and there is going to be mass suffering. Steem has potential to help where it is needed but it is going to take staked people with that willingness to support in those areas. My worry is that I am selling out my future ability to help by living my immediate desire to not be an asshole.

Let’s not beat around the bush: the future is circle jerking.

Nothing new. Always was and always will be.

When I was in the UK I managed a working community for homeless people. I quickly learned that we only had xx rooms and thus beds and that not everyone could be picked up. Not everyone wanted it either. But those few tens of people we managed to offer both a roof, food, and a structure in life they were greatful and we made a change for them.

As sad as it may sound, it didn’t take long either before I didn’t struggle rejecting applicants or not being able to take in that one heavily struggling rough sleeper.

But... we did make a change. And that was the take out for us: we can’t help everyone, definitely not solve the world’s problems but those we can help we do make a difference for them.

Btw the future already had a short-term set back as Musk is replacing much of the automation in TESLA’s series 3 line with humans. Of course, that merely a short-term issue, we still have Uber and Lyft and TESLA trucks.

Let’s not beat around the bush: the future is circle jerking.
Nothing new. Always was and always will be.

This is the wonder. If this is the issue then who is in the circles matters a great deal to how those without are going to get supported.

Yeah. I hear this for sure. Even tho its a shitpost. I know it is your niche here to write helpful posts... But tbh, I think most are beyond help. Which is why I am to entertain with stupid toy posts and/or being an idiot.

Master Taraz,
Do not be weary in well-doing. I too am struggling and frequently question my methods. I do my best each day regardless of comparative rewards. I have less time than you to succeed.

At least you have your hair! Please don't give up, we need more people like you.

Thanks to @tcpolymath, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

The really down to crytos is that when the market values keep dropping, the pending earnings do as well, and there is nothing one can do to stop it nut hope the steem crypto rises again. You're really an inspiration to man, opting out of STEEM would really affect us

Your effort is very good, your explanation is very logic, in a day can generate 10 (ten dollars) with quality posts, this post makes me eager to continue to write news to be like@tarazkp

well i must confess you really upvote a lot comment on your post always am a living witness

I have seen this happen time and again on niche oriented platforms. The content is excellent written by the community. Big corps or business come in and "farm" for ideas, throwing crumbs to the niche content creators to keep them happy. They build virtual theme parks and give away a few presents - trinkets - to keep the natives happy. The world capps out at a certain number of users because niche's just don't really grow even if they have a devoted fan base. Then the big pockets leave, realizing their investment will not grow, because it's all about "traction" and user growth and numbers. Steem is being pumped right now and we're seeing some user growth but judging by my recent spate of followers they are bots, likely hired by the pump. It seems dismal if you are working you ass off for peanuts and then realize you're being harvested salts the wounds. I'm hoping Steem devs turn this around.

Hi @tarazkp. Got here from @thedailysneak and glad I did. Fascinating and necessary stuff to one in my position, a newcomer wondering if posting what I believe to be worthwhile content (as I intend to start doing as soon as I finish having a good nose around), along with doing the other (community) stuff of course, will make it possible to develop at least an income stream on here. I would say it's also salutary, except that looking at your rewards (which I always feel slightly grubby doing, I'll be honest), they seem kinda respectable to me. Are the figures misleading? Because if not, I'd settle for a fraction, though to be sure these things are relative. I don't have a family, mortgage, car or many of the other things normal people do.

Still trying to get my thinking straight on the whole Haejin thing. My instinct is to side with you, because he's anything but community-minded, which goes against the spirit of the platform. But I also hear the other side and today was watching a video in which @brandonfrye, who seems a sound guy to me, was pointing to the need for investors who, whatever their motives, increase the worth of Steemit by keeping large amounts on here, and without whom we'll be in trouble in the long term.

Myself, I'd far rather just create and curate than have anything to do with the politics, but it seems they're hard to ignore. I hope your feeling about it all doesn't continue to go in the direction suggested by this post. (I've yet to really check out others, though at a glance your blog looks amazingly impressive.) If the community-minded people like yourself, who want no more than their dues, can't get ahead and head elsewhere, while the bots and borderline scammy behaviour get worse, Steemit will surely never become the fantastic thing it has the potential to be. Seems to me - though as I've said my perspective is limited - things could go either way at this point, but it's way too early to get discouraged.

excellent contribution friend I like a lot continuous as well as you will get very far greetings

should have read it

Hahaha . relax .

Beautiful flowers friend thank you for sharing with us