What happened when I was asked about STEEM

in #steem6 years ago

During an Uber weeks back, I had a discussion with a talented musician about music and the role blockchain will have going into the future...

Steem_eco.png
source @designeffort

He texted me this morning with a link to a certain project asking if it was what I was talking about, which it wasn't. So, rather than simply talking about it, I decided to write a post and show him instead.

Here was my response:

Good morning bud!
Sorry for being so bad about getting back to you, things have lately been kind of hectic. Here is an answer to your question and a series of links to get you started:

To start, fenix.cash is definitely trying to use blockchain technology, but it's not necessarily being being applied in the same way and is also still in a pre-launch phase The specific blockchain I was referring to launched in 2016 and has been growing rapidly since.

That's the STEEM blockchain—which since 2016, has paid out $22,728.958.00 dollars, and has an exponentially growing community of developers, users, and investors.

How it works

STEEM is the name of the blockchain and the main token used in the network. The STEEM protocol is the open foundation that's available for anyone to use and build on.

So, sites like Steemit, Dtube, dsound, steepshot, which are just some of the many growing applications being being built on STEEM, allow you to experience and interface with the blockchain in different ways.

steem_ui.PNG
source @designeffort

STEEM is the decentralized platform that all of these centralized sites are built on.

Where and How to Start

The first site built on the STEEM platform was steemit and because of their similar sounding names, they're often mistaken to be the same thing— but they're not. I mention this because it's a distinction a lot of people have trouble grasping, but is critical to understanding the potential and game-changing nature of this technology. (I'll get more into that in another post)

You can get a free account on STEEM through Steemit by signing up here, all you'll need is an email and a phone number. It typically takes a few days for your account to be verified and created, upon which you'll get a confirmation email.
You'll be asked to create a unique login that will serve as your address/digital wallet. Once you do that, you'll be sent to a screen where you'll receive your Owner/ Master KEY. These things are critical to your account security, so write them on and store it in a safe and secure place (preferably offline), because there is no retrieving that key if it’s lost or compromised.

While you wait for your account to be verified, you should get spun up on the network by reading the blue-paper, and then starting here. That's where to start, but this should definitely leave you with more questions than answers, and I look forward to trying to answer them. Goodluck.

I hope you enjoyed, thank you for reading!


jdg_footer.GIF

Sort:  

The world needed this article. Thank you

Will save me a lot of time when talking to friends about STEEM

I appreciate that, thank you!

This is like the pitch for a public alpha of steemit. Good work promoting the platform

I love telling people about Steem and the various platforms that it supports! Why anyone is on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram anymore is beyond me. There's so much more possibility for individual empowerment and direct, user support for the content they find valuable. I recently deleted all of my Facebook accounts, half my Twitter and Reddit accounts. I still haven't left all the old social media behind yet, but I will! GO STEEM! #steemit #steem