You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WE ARE STEEM

in #steem5 years ago

We need a transition app as to bridge people from places like Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, onto places like Steemit. One app of Steem that could help might be Dtube. People like videos. But Dtube might also be a little hard for beginners as well. So, what do we have for beginners to start with?

Sort:  

Dtube never loads..... even @ned when he did his video used you tube. Most beginners are staying with Facebook, they can blog to there friends for free. Tell them you can only vote 10 times a day, and in the beginning only post 2-3 times a day....... they are gone......

I really try to on board my friends, no takers......

My reputation went from 55 to almost 50 back in September of 2018 when I talked about Dtube. It was around that time. So, I was downvoted or flagged (are those two things the same thing lol?) for telling people that my Dtube videos disappeared and/or will not play. I wonder why Dlive left to Lino.

Wow............ I need to think about that......🙃

IPFS Centralized?

I've been told that Dtube videos are on IPFS, on these other servers, but NOT directly on the decentralized Steem blockchain servers (witnesses). So, in other words, like another system, possibly a centralized server system stores the Dtube videos for a set amount of time but only for people who make enough money on the Dtube videos and only for about 2 years.

More Money Please

I've read that you have to pay more money to keep the videos on Dtube beyond 2 years or something. People need to correct me if I'm wrong but that's what I've heard & I can't see my older Dtube videos which makes me sad. That's why I stopped uploading to Dtube some months ago.

In the beginning of my Steemit I tried to do Dtube. I got frustrated when only days later I tried to view my videos and they would not play 🙃

I have not been able to play many Dtube videos from different people for over a year now. I go to posts. I see people comment on Dtube videos. But I did not see comments saying that they could not see the videos. It makes me wonder.

I would hope Dtube fix the video availability and not take them down. Keep in mind that hosting all that video data requires a massive storage system.

The videos cannot possibly go on the blockchain. The blockchain is meant for small transactions such as money, votes, and text. I believe pictures are not even on the blockchain. The blockchain actually has links to the database that stores them.

If a blockchain had the ability to add pictures and videos to the blockchain, it would quickly overwhelm the nodes.

While your text and money is decentralized and protected by the blockchain, the pictures and videos are not. Sorry.

If you are truly in need of protecting your video work forever, here is how to do it. You secure a domain name and host the video streaming from a server that you own or from server space that you rent. Then create STEEM blog and link your video feed within the blog. The link is text in the blog, so it is forever stored in the blockchain. You then have the control of keeping the video available or taking it down.

I know that it is a lot of work and not really practical. But here is the catch, If you learn how to do this, you could generate your own Dapp video channel to compete with Dtube. You know Dtube takes a healthy cut of your creation rewards.....