You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF20 Update: Restoring Continuity

in #steem6 years ago

You can comment for free on Facebook.. what’s wrong with getting more transactions as you grow your account here? Do you not remember the bandwidth issues? I couldn’t post 5 times a day or comment 30 times a day either when I first started. Then as I made rewards I powered up and no longer had the issues.

Nothing on the blockchain is free, except for those of course who pull out all earnings while spouting as loud as they can that someone (evil whales) owes them something. That’s why you see so many accounts get delegation while they continue to not invest anything of their own, why would they after all? It’s like asking someone to give up welfare and go work for the same amount, why would they?

Why not help those who add value grow through delegation. They can start out small like the rest of us and work their way up.. commenting 10 times a day isn’t crazy and well, it seems it will be closer to 30 after all of this. We don’t really know seeing as we are still in the middle of fixing the shit storm that is happening around us. I say see if the patch fixes the issue, then let’s look into delegating those that need it and contribute. Those that suck this place dry could maybe power up a bit of their earnings, then go back to sucking as usual.

Sort:  

if you think commenting 10 times a day is a limit that is acceptable, even 30 times a day, then you clearly aren't aware of the mainstream commenters.

Also I don't know who you are referring to "sucking this place dry", but it is certainly not me. I have not taken out one penny. I do know that there is tons of money taken by the tons of whales and circle-jerk voters that use the system to protect their investment under the "absurd guise" of making advertising posts.

As far as your point about "helping" people through delegation, that is a good point if you are talking about providing them with a means to make money. But when you have an elitist attitude that "helping" people to get a delegation in order to make a comment then you have crossed a line. People will instinctively rebel to your attitude because no one should have "indebtedness" for stating their free voice.

If you want to have a social platform, then you can run it any way you like. But don't talk to down to people that can't afford to buy into their way of speaking in your world. I will never be quiet about this point. I have been civil with people that have disagreed with me. But when you come at me with a reply that insinuates that I am somehow sucking off the system and then pretend that everything is ok because people can just suck up to YOU and get some "mana" so they can speak, you have crossed the line.

You are very much in line with the people that run Steemit and the old group of people in the "club" that thinks everything is ok... Sadly for you and everyone like you, you can't see the truth if it bit you in the ass. This place has shrunk in the time that I've been here. For a tech company that is supposedly cutting edge this is not a good thing. And the reason it is failing is not due to the people that are "sucking" from the bottom either. The reason it is failing is people like you that fail to take the time to understand what it takes to make the masses want to use the system. There is a reason why people come and GO. If you don't know why that is, then look at your own attitude and maybe examine why they don't feel welcome!

I’m a Minnow dear, no one is gonna suck up to me for delegation and I don’t think anyone should suck up to anyone for delegations. I didn’t come at you with anything, and wasn’t accusing you in the slightest. Please re read my comment, because that was not the intention behind it.

My point is bandwidth issues are nothing new for brand new users. It’s something we all have dealt with and became less of an issue as we grow.

I’m not talking down to anyone, but there is a very clear issue with small accounts spamming while pulling everything out. Sure some large accounts make a ton of money and pull a lot out, but I mean.. they are somewhat invested or they wouldn’t be large accounts. Circle jerks are part of steemit.. everyone is involved in them, you.. me, everyone. You vote for your friends, sometimes without even reading the post. We only look down on large accounts doing it due to the fact that their vote is worth more.

I haven’t failed to see what makes masses use the system. I just think rather than focusing on getting as many new people as we can here, just for them to leave later due to unrealistic expectations, I’d rather see us take the time (through curation) to reward the authors who add value. Let’s keep the good ones here and market the platform correctly, fixing front end issues and many other things that need work before trying to get the masses on board... just for them to leave later on.

I didn’t not call you any names or attack you. I’m fine with having a difference of option and a heathy discussion, I just think it’s a bit early to start burning things down.

Ok I stand corrected on you not coming at me, if you say you didn't then I accept that.

I think you want to fix things at the front end, which I'm not sure what that means, but I'm all for fixing anything broken. As for getting the masses on board... sure they can wait... At some point the competitors will have a say, but that is a choice all companies can decide.

And finally I am not burning down anything. To the contrary, I'm trying to save this as a social platform for the masses. If people don't want this to be a social platform for the masses, then of course we will have a disagreement in the intended goal.

Again sorry if I incorrectly got the impression that you were coming at me in your comments. I appreciate your response for sure, and agree to disagree with you on the future direction of the platform.

Yes, sometimes things can be lost through text.. I had no intention of attacking you and I apologize if it came across that way.

By front end I just mean, user experience.. making it easier for masses to use etc. I’m also a fixer as you and am passionate about this place as well.

I just have always felt the need to essentially clean this place up a bit before inviting the masses, but you’re right, we are in a race against competitors. It’s just getting people here is easy, it’s keeping them that is difficult. Sort of like they say in customer service, getting new customers is twice as expensive as retaining the ones you have. I guess that is sort of my thinking here as well, but as you say.. there are many things that need fixing. Hopefully we see some postive changes in the next few days and we can take a look at where we are and what needs to be done. Have a good day!

I think we agree on more than we disagree on.

It’s just getting people here is easy, it’s keeping them that is difficult. Sort of like they say in customer service, getting new customers is twice as expensive as retaining the ones you have.

Thank you for all the replies and I hope you have a wonderful day too! And a fantastic weekend as well ;)