You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcing: Invest in Steem Social Media Blast Day - How can you help?

in #steem6 years ago

I think you may be misremembering your timeline. When I was raising issues the price was much higher. I'm happy to say the issues I was mostly concerned about have been largely resolved. The website is much more stable, Steemit, inc is communicating weekly about their efforts, and they are actively using the blockchain directly to do so. I didn't just complain, I gave solid recommendations, and I'm glad to say it seems they are following them. I also met the actual team and bridged the gap between my perception and reality. Negatively destroys teams and communities. Your suggestions so far don't seem very compelling to me, but I'm certainly open to hearing more.

When I look at accounts like @nonlinearone, I just see a lot of resteems and not much engagement (and clearly no commitment to the platform). Commitment is what matters. People want to support those who are still here and aren't threatening to leave if they don't get their expectations met.

Sort:  

I don't feel like I'm misremembering the timeline. It was sort of two separate instances. Late 2016 and 2017 you were certainly calling for more communication and calling into question why @ned and @dan were powering down and cashing out with no answer and you used the example of how as a business owner you mainly reinvested back into your business in the early years. Which I agreed with this and was questioning the lack of communication myself. It looked like a money grab.

In the second instance was shortly before Steemfest 2 where issues with the website were called into question and you wrote a post about eating your own dog food. Essentially utilizing your own software products internally or something of that nature. It was another good write up and then I do remember you meeting with the team at Steemfest 2.

So I consider some of the instances as two separate times spans that were about 8 months apart.

I feel like my ideas about the issues with STEEM and Steemit are pretty well thought out and I have really studied the success and failures of other social platforms.

In Sydney I had in depth conversations with two Block One employees about some of the positives and negatives of what has occurred with the STEEM blockchain and how those issues could be addressed. They both were very receptive to what I was saying and it correlated with their experiences on this platform.

I'm not being negative. We have some great examples on here of what has worked and what hasn't and in the end I feel like the platform that will end up working the best will be one that combines elements we see on Busy.org, Steemit, DTube, and DLive.

You would have to go back to 2016 for an account like @nonlinearone He set up a Witness node and was giving speaches about Blockchain tech in Phoenix and in Vegas and different places. He was pretty engaged. More recently he took a step back and powered everything down.

There are countless examples of this. We can't chalk everyone up who left as them being quitters or complainers.

Why did @daxon quit posting here but posts almost everyday on Instagram? Why did @mynameisbrian quit posting and power down his account? These are questions we have to ask ourselves. We can't just chalk all the attrition to people just being flaky quiter / complainer people.

As far as your last statement about people wanting to support those who are still here and aren't threatening to leave if they don't get their expectations met. Well it doesn't really seem to play out that way a lot of times. Is it supportive to people to just delegate their power to an upvote bot so that others can buy their vote?

So much of what I see says ........

Please upvote me and I will take those rewards and then you can buy my vote

A lot of these content creators that were fortunate enough to have solid support like @allasyummyfood have turned to that model. A lot of the witnesses and large whale accounts have very little curation engagement as well.