Mental Strength: Thought For The Day #54💭✍

in #steem5 years ago

How to improve mental strength (2 TIPS)

Lets get clear on what mental strength is. Its about improving the regulation of your emotions. Managing your thoughts and behaving in a positive way. Of course, given certain life circumstances and experiences this can be a difficult thing to achieve. It can lead to the creation of downward negative spirals. Despite this however, cultivating and working on mental strength can also produce upward, positive spirals.

animal-celebes-crested-macaque-funny-50582.jpg
Photo

Step 1:

Mental strength isn’t about convey a facade of having a touch exterior, and thus the suppression of emotions. Instead its about being aware of them and really getting in touch with them and you’re your emotions are affecting your thoughts and behaviors. Techniques in which you can start to express your stored up emotions is through talking to one another. Another technique which isn’t often spoken about is about primal scream therapy / bio-energetics. Make your own conclusions and experiences whether or not you think that this is helpful.

arm-wrestling-bar-bet-4417.jpg
Photo

Step 2:

They don’t waste time feeling sorry for themselves. John Gardner ‘Self-pity is easily the most destructive of the non-pharmaceutical narcotics; it is addictive, gives momentary pleasure and separates the victim from reality’. Examples of this can include:

  • Thinking that you have it worse than others
  • You focus on what went wrong instead of went well
  • Gratitude is a struggle
  • You think others are blessed with easy lives

Can you see yourself in some of these examples? This self-pity trap will consume you and is one of the negative downward spirals that effects your thoughts, behaviors and emotions unless you take control of it. Self-pity is often the more comfortable option. It means that you don’t have to take responsibility for your life, you don’t have to perhaps write some wrongdoings or confront others to know about theirs. Although this is the comfortable option, there are an array of negative side effects of this self pity.

adult-art-conceptual-278312.jpg
Photo

As we mentioned before, the self-pity does nothing to change the situation. Given the difficulty to acknowledge gratitude, your reticular activating system is only locked on to circumstances which fulfill the self-pity and the spiral spins further downward. It can wear on others and cause the relationships around you to weaken and even wither away. Therefore a change in behavior needs to occur.

Sitting around doing nothing, watching TV and playing video games will need to be replaced with something else. It is hard to feel sorry for yourself when you are laughing with your friends. Have a think about how you could replace these habits and comment them down below! Review the past and how you coped with adversity. Allow this to be a source of confidence that you can overcome the difficulty and reduce the self-pity The opposite of self-pity is gratitude, and focusing on this can help alleviate it and produce some positive upward spirals.

Here are some exercises that you can implement right now! Keep a gratitude journal and write down things you are grateful for Have a gratitude stone or pebble with you and when you go through your pockets or purse, see/hold the stone and embrace that feeling of gratitude!

blackboard-board-close-up-908301.jpg

photo

Thank you very much for reading today's Thought For The Day. Let me know your thoughts in the comments below, I'm eager to hear!

Please resteem, upvote and follow!

Everyone who resteems this post will win a 25% upvote from me! Roughly ($0.08).

Post if you did in the comments below!

If you have @steemauto, please add us to your FanBase / autovoter!

Best,

@Luppers

Sort:  

I find myself spiraling down from time to time. By the time I realize what's happening I end up in a pretty deep depression. This is a newer event for me. Started about two years ago. It takes a lot for me to pull myself out of these low times. I've been making changes in my life to try and make things better. In the end I've realized I only have control of me, and nothing else. I'll look to gratitude first the next time I falter and see if it will help. Thanks for your post. Resteemed.

Yes, sometimes we all do. That's why it's so important to have a healthy environment around you, both physically and the people. Yes, happiness is a choice! You're welcome, thanks for the resteem!

Thank you for the kind words! Please feel free to share your thoughts on my posts again in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say and will also give you another generous upvote!

Upvoted 70%!!

Wow! Wow!! Wow!!! I'm triple wowed by this article; I must commend it's relevance. One chooses one's own path no matter the experiences one has. No one gets anywhere with self pity or by trying to arouse sympathy from others. It's very addictive, but one owes it to oneself to break free from that mental rung; to get stronger mentally.
I used to have my "gratitude challenge"; I write 5 things I'm grateful for at the end of each day - I've not done that in a while now. A quote I love:

Abundance flourishes in a grateful heart
-Sri Harold Klemp

Thanks for the reminder. kudos
Just got resteemed.

Fantastic, I glad that this offered a lot of value to you! Yes, the self-pity spiral is easy to fall into but so important to stay out of! Yes, gratitude is a real powerful tool! Thanks for the resteem!!

Thank you for the kind words! Please feel free to share your thoughts on my posts again in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say and will also give you another generous upvote!

Upvoted 60%!!

Anytime...thanks to you too 😊

@luppers, Our perceptions and what we perceive hold strong influence on our emotions because our thoughts sometimes run so quickly or i can say that at one moment we think about multiple aspects, so in these kind of phases sometimes people fail to deep dive or analyse their emotions and due to lack of analysis the energy which is hold by the particular emotion can come out in any form when we don't have control over it. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, we don't have the time to reflect in introspection because of the rapid pace of life. How do we expel our negative emotions, because we are holding onto them when we are 'triggered'?

Thank you for the kind words! Please feel free to share your thoughts on my posts again in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say and will also give you another generous upvote!

Upvoted 40%!!

In my opinion instead of trying to just avoid the negative emotions we can use it for good, For Example, we can use these emotions in dancing, running and exercises so that these emotions can help us to become more strong, fearless and expressive. Enjoy your time ahead.

Self-pity is overcome when you learn to think positively, despite the circumstances, this requires a lot of will and mental strength. I sincerely believe that we live in a world that invites us in a frenetic way to fight to demand each day a little more without there ever being a limit.
redeem your post

Yes! Great thoughts!!

Thank you for the kind words! Please feel free to share your thoughts on my posts again in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say and will also give you another generous upvote!

Upvoted 50%!!

I just resteemed and added you to my Steemauto

Thank you, very much appreciated!

Upvoted 40%!!

Mentally strength is very important to motivate in work and it also playing a big role in achieving success in any work, I think without wasting time it is necessary try to develop mental strength. Resteem done

Great thoughts, thanks for the resteem!

Upvoted 40%!!

Thanks for the helpful advice. I think that you can only feel sorry for yourself if your thoughts are in the past. But for the sake of the future, the slightest pity must be cast away to nowhere. If for any reason whining and self-pity all the time,
you will never find reasons for joy.

Yes, pity takes away from our joy. We have the choice!

Thank you for the kind words! Please feel free to share your thoughts on my posts again in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say and will also give you another generous upvote!

Upvoted 30%!!

Nice piece, @luppers :-) The glorious photo of the ape pulled me in - I love that! Good advice in your article too - thank you <3

Great. That photo was aimed at drawing in some attention!

Thank you for the kind words! Please feel free to share your thoughts on my posts again in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say and will also give you another generous upvote!

Upvoted 30%!!

Seriously great post. This is exactly how I live my life and I wish so often others that are stuck in a merry-go-round of pain could just read this post. In fact, I am going to share with a friend of mine who really needs to hear exactly this. Thanks so much for the great read and content. Best regards!

That's great and brave of you. I hope it turns out well!

Thank you for the kind words! Please feel free to share your thoughts on my posts again in the future, I am eager to hear what you have to say and will also give you another generous upvote!

Upvoted 30%!!

I just upvoted and restemeed your post

Posted using Partiko Android

Great, thanks for the resteem!

Upvoted 25%!!

Hello @luppers! This is a friendly reminder that a Partiko user has just followed you! Congratulations!

To get realtime push notification on your phone about new followers in the future, download and login Partiko using the link below. You will also get 3000 Partiko Points for free, and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Reply stop to stop receiving this message.

This is really great write up you have here

Thank you

Congratulations @luppers! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh yeah.
Being sorry for mistakes or wrongs done is a good thing but there is much more to that in a positive way.

I remember some lines in a video:

If you're late, don't say, "Sorry I'm late."
Say, "Thanks for being patient."

Hi @luppers!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.076 which ranks you at #9982 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 202 contributions, your post is ranked at #115.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server