Why I fell in love with Steemit Platform

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

A brief story to explain why I fall in love with Steem platform.

Steem Logo
Back in 2007 I opened a website to talk about rugby, I was at the very beginning of my PhD so I had plenty of time(?!).
That website was basically just a blog talking about Italian rugby with a section of results and statistics of the main championships.
At the time there was really few people talking about rugby in Italy so it seemed a great idea to me. It turned out that it was not.

All the experience was an epic fail, and to be fair it was The experience that made me aware of how Internet actually works, the ads, the SEO and so on..

There was a caveat to all this, since I was not so stupid to think to be able to maintain the blog alone I searched for passionate people to help me with the publishing schedule.

I eventually found someone who was really a good writer and very passionate about rugby. I paid him at the beginning and, incredibly, he didn't run with the money, but he just started writing and do all his best to make it happen.

At that time I started to think at a method to pay him that was related with the website earnings and with the quality of his work. But how to measure quality? The only thing I was able to do was to count the number of articles and to split the advertisement income to reflect the amount of work he was doing. But this would have created a huge amount of meaningless articles that no one care about (yes like the whole Internet).
To make a long story short I was missing Steem.

Steem allows you to do exactly what I was aiming for. When my crypto-guru friend suggested me to mine Steem, at the very beginning of the blockchain, I was not really listening. I wasn't really into this altcoin stuff, I didn't catch the innovative bit of bitshares and there was only space for bitcoin in my heart.

Not to mention that I just married three times in different countries (and with the same woman!), and that same wonderful woman was already sick of my beloved Jupiter Miner that just shut up a few months ago. It was not a good idea to talk about crypto currencies since we just had our baby, priorities first.

I choosed to stay out of crypto stuff for a while, but these things are too interesting to me, and at the end she ended up telling me to do whatever I want (hopefully), especially when I explained her how much we have lost to not be a part of Steem since the beginning.

But the moral of the story is: you should always listen to your crypto-guru friend.

So, thank you Sigve!

Sort:  

Its not too late @maiopirata82 and it will never be late. Opportunities are waiting for you here, especially that you're engage with crypto. You have the advantage compared to some of us that only heard of crypto when we joined steemit.

Its fun.

You are totally right @juvyjabian. I will post often about my ideas in crypto currency and so... the best has yet to come! ;)
Actually I follow bitcoin from the very beginning but I got into the coding/crypto part only recently. It is amasing for me!

Then you already have lots of bitcoin and that makes you rich now :)

ahah! maybe.. I could have done much better, believe me :)

Wow I'm jealous :) I wanted to start mining bitcoin, any advice?

There is plenty of material in the Internet that talks about bitcoin. You should probably chose an Exchange that is well known and that easily can exchange bitcoin to your currency, and then you should chose an owner for your bitcoin key. The best could be your laptop, but be careful that you know what you do.
If you have some specific question I could do a post to answer you in details...

That would be great. I would like to know about S3 miner and the best place to mine.

So basically you would like to understand how mining could be profitable?
That is a post I can do!

I know its profitable, what Im interested to know is how to do it. Im a total newbie in mining.