Steem Economy

in #steem6 years ago

I had someone comment on a posting of mine requesting work in exchange for STEEM.

484F4A24-C1FD-442E-B128-00E3A9E7B3FF.jpeg

@gadrian is right. There’s a huge potential for the exchange of goods and services on this platform, as well as non-traditional payment methods available to commissioners. How do we do that?

Well, actually offering goods and services on this platform.

If you’re a content creator, offer to create content for a fee. Artists, writers, teachers, etc. Work with the community to provide your services. If you need content, find content creators who are willing to work for STEEM. Sell items. Buy items. The list goes on. STEEM’s marketplace isn’t limited to purchasing the crypto itself.

So what does that look like for me? Well, I have several services that I offer for a negotiable fee. Proofreading, writing and minimal graphic design experience as a few examples.

I’m also actively looking to partner with Steemit-based visual artists to work on a project for my upcoming novel.

Let’s get this ball rolling, one transaction at a time!

Cheers,

~ Mako

Sort:  

I agree, too many people get caught up thinking only paper money is real. Crypto is just as real in that it can be used to purchase things or exchange for other types of money, and the fact we can transfer it within the platform makes these kinds of exchanges through the platform quite convenient.

I tweeted it earlier, but if crypto advocates really want to make #crypto a viable fiat alternative, they need to start using it in place of fiat in buy/sell/trade markets. Establish how much value an item has for you in the crypto of your choice (not in the fiat currency its value is currently represented in) and make your trade. We're a long way off from being able to use crypto in stores, but we can use it practically here and now.

If I had the coding expertise, I'd develop a B/S/T interface for STEEM that allowed people to concisely post what they were trying to sell, how much STEEM/SBD they were trying to sell it for, and whether or not the sale was still open or not.

~ Mako

That's a really good idea, actually... so good, I'm almost certain some people out there are already trying to make it a reality. If I get around to learning to use crypto in coding, I might take a whack at it. Don't worry, I'll give you credit for the idea. :P

As far as I know, all you need to do is code the front-end to pull from the blockchain. Pretty much everything else can use STEEM's built-in systems.

But hey, I'm just a writer.

~ Mako

I was just thinking if I could use Steemit to sell my artworks. Your post just answered my questions. Thanks!

Certainly!

This platform is built for more than just content sharing. With financial transactions and conversations you have an indelible record of every step in the process of transaction, something that nearly no other platform does.

~ Mako

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mako from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.