You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Save Steem

in #steem4 years ago

Are you actually saying that you can handle the development of the Steem blockchain better than Steemit, inc was?

If so, where were you hiding all this time? I know you did the SPS but that's very little compared to what you claim.

Also, I am not just talking about coding expertise. They had an amazing vision and knew what to code. Look at Voice from Dan Larimer, and you quickly see that all we lost when he left is a deluded man.

Sort:  

Yes, I am, and I wouldn't even break a sweat to do it.

I haven't been hiding anywhere. People who closely follow the tech side of blockchains know BlockTrades as one of the strongest in the business.

I was the first programmer and the software manager hired by Dan Larimer when he started his new company, Invictus Innovations, to build blockchains. Eventually he ran short of funds and couldn't pay our team anymore, so I started by a second company to focus on blockchain tech (my first company focuses on electronics design software).

My company wrote the peer-to-peer code which enables the exchange of data in the Steem blockchain. We also were heavily involved in the development of the graphene blockchain library on which Steem was based.

The Steemit programmers worked in my basement when they got started and we often exchanged ideas about the design of it. And they've often contracted with us to develop code and provide support and personnel.

As far as general background in other blockchains, we've launched an EOS-based blockchain for Dan's dad, Stan Larimer, so we're also very conversant with EOS code. And running an exchange, we've had a lot of experience integrating with most of the popular blockchains out there. And there's numerous other blockchain projects we've worked on in one fashion or another, including coding the "rules" of blockchains on a contract basis.

I have a big vision for Steem as well, and it goes well beyond the social media site it is today, or even any suggestions I've ever seen for improvements. It's the main reason I'm investing so much time here now: the recent turmoil here has made me decide to bring the technology I've been thinking about for the past two years to Steem, instead of doing it as a new project.

And I don't mean to say that I'm the only one either. We have a huge group of people with many ideas for how to make this a better place.

Thanks for this answer.

I am curious about your vision.

And I hope that SMTs work gets completed.

I @mammasitta trust you !

Thanks for your trust, we'll get through this together!

Yes! We will!

C956A70F-EE84-4777-970B-850328842AC7.jpeg

“If so, where were you hiding all this time? I know you did the SPS but that's very little compared to what you claim.”

The Blocktrades team actually wrote the p2p layer of the Steem blockchain.

And I imagine that team didn’t get involved in coding much because Steemit Inc. had a massive reserve of funding and their own devs, as well as their own plans for the blockchain. And they were also the gatekeepers of which code would be deployed.

In the past, several people wrote code and submitted PRs, only to have them completely rejected by Steemit in favor of their own misguided vision. This effectively made community-led upgrades a complete waste of resources, as anything not in line with Ned’s plan would be dismissed anyway.

And I should also note that there are more devs able to submit code outside of Blocktrades’ team as well. I would also expect more to get involved knowing that the old gatekeeper is now gone.