Steemit is the best platform for Nigerians! It's curing poverty and unemployment.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I'm probably among the few Nigerians on this platform, who just got to know about Steemit's potential success in Africa and its viral growth overall.

35331260_2100746896833246_1437398925450412032_n.jpg

Today marks exactly Day 4 I joined Steemit and I thought it would be fitting to make a proper introduction, And/or a testimonial.

I love the idea of STEEM! I am so excited, happy, thrilled and buzzing to be a part of this amazing community.

Growing Up

My name is Oluigbo Peter and I am 20 years old. I am a nigerian. It was really tough growing up, but I wouldn't change a thing, because it made me who I am now.

I am a part time blogger and part time student…

I love writing and teaching is my passion, so a year ago I decided to quit playing around waiting to graduate before making something out of my life, and I started a blog.

I am self-taught blogger as I can not afford most of the blogging courses online....
nobody ever explained to me how and what should be done.

All my contents, editing, and planning of each post, marketing and growing my social media presence is done only by me. I am working really hard for some months now and I am still struggling.

I grew up in a middle-class family. At least, according to the living standards here.
My mother is a nurse while my dad is a chartered account.
I have an elder sister who is into fashion designing.

The standard of living is generally low and housing facilities are substandard......

What was even much worse was the power supply. We would be very lucky to get 1 day of electricity daily. And oftentimes, we would go for days without having any power supply.

This, in turn, had an adverse effect on the economy of the country.
The youths are unemployed and the crime rate is sickening.

Things are getting a bit better though......a good government is in place and the economy is giving signals of a better time to come.
As the largest economy in Africa, things can only get better.

My Love For Technology

My fascination with technology started when I when I was growing up, I was always curious on how stuffs worked.

I got admission into the university of technology Owerri, Nigeria.

I got admitted for an engineering degree , I was content going to boring classes. Until something happened.

I got really broke.

And after several weeks trying to raise funds for another one, I decided to turn to the internet for help.

I tried several ways of making money online. Affiliate marketing, Ads clicking, micro-jobs etc.

I've tried them all. I learned HTML, CSS and graphic design. Now I just finished learning log design.

But after several months still without any luck, I decided to settle for blogging.

20180415_224251.png
My blog at https://omnitut.com

I am having a bit of hope here and there. Not enough to survive, though. But still worth working on. Before the stars aligned.

The Steemit Platform

My cousin @ablution told me about this platform and thought I could do well here. A

Some months ago, I stumbled on a blog post about Steemit taking over the social media….

I didn't believe at first how it’s possible to make money from things you are doing for free everywhere else?

I was really skeptical on the authenticity of the promise as I had been scammed many times….

I decided to give it a shot. After all, there's no harm in trying…..

And I'm glad I did.

I feel like this is an amazing opportunity to join at this early stage and I hope I could make a massive difference and inspire many readers and viewers along the way.

Steemit is a blessing to many espeially to few here in Nigeria even though many people still dont know about the platform.

This is my first post here, it's been an amazing experience on Steemit.

I am yet to make some awesome partnerships with top writers, to chat with some really awesome people.

Steemit will help me launch my dreams. I've not published any other content on Steemit and I hope to soon.

I've never been this fascinated over an online community before. And the rewards are just a nice welcome bonus…….

I'm deeply grateful to all those who work day and night to make Steemit successful.

To all those whose efforts have been unappreciated, you're changing lives.

Now I can get a better smartphone, power bank, live a comfortable life and develop myself as a blogger.

Steemit is a fantasy coming true.

Giving Back

This month, after a lot of planning, I will be making a detailed post outlining how I'm bringing Steemit to millions of people in my country.

My own way of adding value to the community. I have settup communities on facebook to start enlightening Nigerians more.

I strongly believe that my participation will increase the amount of users on Steem, which will ultimately bring in more money for all users!

I can't wait to spread the word to my friends and fellow bloggers.

I am very much looking forward to contributing to this wonderful community and connecting with such brilliant minds and talents here.

The journey has just begun guys….….despite the complaints and issues...we look forward to having even a better and balanced Steemit…..

A great man once said if you want to walk fast walk alone, if you want to walk far walk with people.

I want to walk with people.

It can only get better! Steem on…

my first post conclusion.jpg

And here's a toast to more success…..yours and mine...

Thanks you all steemians both whale, dolphins and minnows. Am really grateful

Here's a link to my blog - https://omnitut.com

Thank you for reading, stay tuned for my first Steem course on building a brand online!

Sort:  

Hi, I'm @edosweet. I stopped by to give you a warm welcome to the Steemit platform. I wish you good luck and many good things as you join us.

Thank you @edosweet looking forward to work with great minds like you.

Hello omnitut! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Hi welcome you to one of the greatest social media where not only you can express yourself and get paid as well. Hope you will connect with more people and make your account more strong. Upvoted your introduction post.

Thank you @dindar I appreciate your gesture.
With time I will connect with more people.

Welcome to steemit

Hello and welcome to Steemit! :)

If you are also into cryptocurrencies then you are more than welcome to visit my channel, as I have made the commitment to share everything with others.

Let me know if need any help.

Best of luck to you!

Thank you @heigovannik I will visit your channel, I want to learn all I can about cryptocurrency.

Hi
great article, I'm also new, let's develop STEEMIT together.
I followed you, I hope you will follow me.

I will follow you, let's work together to make Steemit worth the time.

@omnitut, welcome to Steemit. I know you'll enjoy being here. I give you two keys you need in your steemit journey:

  1. Dedication, persistence and consistency.
  2. Don't quit. Keep moving on.
  3. Steemit cannot reset your password for you if you lose it, therefore have a backup for it. Make sure to save your master password and all steemit keys somewhere safe.

Please, permit me to invite you to join the #steemschools discord here https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags, make quality posts and comments on Steemit and gain more followers.

Thank you.

.images (22).jpeg

Thank you @evarich and I will definitely join your school I will need it.

Welcome to Steemit. It's really a good platform for the nurturing authors and for the people who want to share their good work with the world. You'll surely have a nice time here. Lots of good wishes and good luck to you!! :):)

Welcome to steemit @omnitut. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Welcome to Steem, @omnitut!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3042 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemSincerity on Busy and a few bug fixes.

@omnitut, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Thank you @introduce.bot, am happy to be here.

@omnitut welcome to STEEM community enjoy your self here bro..

Hello! Excellent article, you're done! Welcome to Steemit, I'm glad to new friends and have followed you, I hope you will follow me as well, wish you successful development of your blog! Upvoted your post! ;)

welcome to Steemit wish you all the best