Sort:  

Check Netcoins in Canada.
https://www.gonetcoins.com

Thanks, Oldtimer:)

You may want to read up about one of the key operators of this exchange: https://www.ccn.com/bitcoin-exchange-cointrader-shutdown

You may want to read up about one of the key operators of this exchange. He was the founder of the following: https://www.ccn.com/bitcoin-exchange-cointrader-shutdown

Thanks for the information. I don't use this service. I just know they exist and we voted steem on their exchange, not soo long ago.

You are most welcome. I was just checking them out and happened to find that information. Suddenly shutting down like that is scary. If you read the TOS (terms Of Service), there is absolutely no protection for people using the Huobi Exchange. I was lucky not to have any money in Quadrigacx when it suddenly shut down. As far as I know, there is still 1 more exchange that Canadians can use, but I don't recall its name. Trading was cheaper on that exchange, but buying your first crypto was more expensive, so I went with Quadigacx since I'm not a trader and just needed to convert fiat to crypto.

I went through Quadrigacx to deal in steem. Fortunately, I had nothing in my wallet. I chose to put it all in steem. A good choice in hindsight. I think the time will come when steem will back a marketplace similar to amazon and then we won't have to convert to fiat at all. Wouldn't that be lovely?

YES! That would be ideal. I'm hoping to never have to cash out my Steem. You and I are alike in holding all our crypto in Steem. They say you should diversify, but that's like having cash in different world currencies. Too much trouble for me. I can't imagine trying to keep track of all the bank accounts I would need in the various countries. If one crypto-wallet could hold any and all crpto, then that would make things a bit simpler, but still. meh

Steem stands out for me because of the multiple websites linked to it. Compared to most crypto is has an actual functioning presence. I think what has held it back is word of mouth and all the bad talking about bitcoin.

I'm using bylls at the moment.

Hmmm... seems they deal only in Bitcoin and Bitcoin is slow as molasses and has high gas fees. I chose Etherium as my entry token and used that to buy Steem. However, it is good to know there are other options available.

I was talking about selling and getting fiat to bank account.