Free the Food #44 ✔ | Dumpster Diving - Living of the Waste in Sweden [2018-05-06]

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

The Stores Throw Away Perfectly Good Food,
a lot of Perfectly Good Food...

..:: * ::..
by @reko
..:: :: :: * :: :: ::..

Steem Power: 11,783.935 | Reputation: 69.029 | Followers: 6074


DSCN2196.JPG

dividerblue.png

I'm back from my trip with my old friend Daniel which I helped out with his tent business Nordic Stretch Tents . More photos from the trip coming up soon. I went out for a dive immediately after getting home as it's been a few days since last and therefore I was expecting a lot of food. Sure I was right and as usually found plenty of treasures. Seems like it's getting more popular to dumpster dive here now as I met other people more and more often. Once again a successful food rescue mission accomplished!

dividerblue.png

Latest Update:

DSCN2185.JPG
Usually I only go to one store and it throw away more food daily then I can save...

DSCN2181.JPG

DSCN2182.JPG
Filled up three big IKEA bags and my old military backpack with lots of good food...

DSCN2188.JPG
I met another diver tonight which was nice enough to snap a photo of me...

DSCN2189.JPG

DSCN2192.JPG

DSCN2193.JPG


DSCN2178.JPG
Me and Daniel going on a trip...more photos to come...

dividerblue.png

Current Free Food in Stock:

Fennel
Ginger
Egg
Wheat flour
Oranges
Grapes
Avocados
Egg plants
Organic milk
Bananas
Shredded cheese
Candy
Hazel nuts
Gorgonzola
Bouillon
Ginger
Buns
Fish
Jam
Onions
Tomatoes
Peppers
Bread
Coffee
Coffee drinks
Carrots
Herbs
Chicken
Crème fraîche
Yoghurt
Wheat
Apples
Crisps
Flour
Salmon
Mustard
Lemons
Etc...


dividerblue.png

Past Treasures:

DSCN2167.JPG

20180427_132805.jpg

DSCN2032.JPG

DSCN1743.JPG

DQmayoVnhbTiuvrnsLCKmTuRDrzLq4TZupSurUXrBNvxoes_1680x8400.jpeg

DQmQSKU2PSP5UPieuUFtRvQCZ6PvbLVaq9S9cZwrx5ZeebT.jpeg

DQmNegCf5AACJyNZkpqsF6FFuhrkFrsGAmioWJFPqJDBTD5_1680x8400.jpeg

20180408_235838.jpg

DQmYEWFo5zxBXnYpj2nexCcdwhV8smF3tvntxC3jJz2gEK7.jpeg

DQmWZhjoLiByGmY6DNFaGFV6smydYkbE6NQTV1ks3v5fMjJ_1680x8400.jpeg

DQmbJSbndUNjeZxmK6wNa2G5Nz1AGm6yvoEDqpmfLHmdCmF.jpeg

DSCN1580.JPG

DSCN1530.JPG

DSCN1513.JPG

DSCN1460.JPG

DSCN1430.JPG

DSCN1383.JPG

DSCN1293.JPG

DSCN1227.JPG

DSCN1187.JPG

DSCN1160.JPG

DSCN1070.JPG

DSCN1007.JPG

DSCN0926.JPG

DSCN0843.JPG

DSCN0684.JPG

DSC_0110.JPG

DSC_1471.JPG

20171125_153536.jpg

20171121_233510(1).jpg

20171120_140255_resized.jpg

20171120_135818_resized.jpg

20171109_172449.jpg

20171020_233506.jpg

IMG_7207.JPG

IMG_7317.JPG

dumpsterdiving.jpg

dividerblue.png

Dumpster diving

The practice of foraging in garbage that has been put out on the street in dumpsters, garbage cans, etc., for discarded items that may still be valuable, useful, or fixable.

Introducing Trashwiki, the collaborative world wide guide of creating value from trash! Here you will find plenty of trash-related articles: you can search by specific countries and cities to find the best places in your area!

dividerblue.png

Why do I Dumpster Dive?


| Bring awareness on how much food is wasted with our current system |
| No costs enabling me to minimize my dependency on Fiat |
| Save the abundance of food that is wasted and share it |
| No need to power down my Steem Power |
| Great regular exercise and good karma |

dividerblue.png

IMG_7227.JPG

IMG_7237.JPG

IMG_7243.JPG

IMG_7251.JPG

dividerblue.png

Thursdays Weekly Meet-ups:

We meet up on Thursdays in the middle of the city to share the food we've saved during the week. It's a great way to meet, connect and support each other. We meet between 6-7 pm at the same time as the decentralized farmers market that I've initiated!

I also invite people over to share the abundance which is a great way to share the abundance of the treasures as well as taking the opportunity to introduce them to the Steem blockchain!

IMG_7423.JPG
Introducing Nordin to the Steem blockchain...

dividerblue.png

I've got great plans for 2018 and beyond and intend to work hard to achieve it. The Steem blockchain is the perfect place to create positive change as it rewards individuals that contribute to the community and humanity at large. I am wholeheartedly dedicated to this platform and my intention is to create solutions to our current predicaments and unite humankind once and for all...

justeatit03 (1).png
Check out @solikyl which I introduced to the Steem blockchain...

dividerblue.png

LINKS:

SteemFollower - Receive More Exposure & Upvotes.

SteemEngine / https://steemengine.net/join?r=972
- Receive More Upvotes and Followers.
OpenLedger - Decentralized Exchange for Trading Crypto.
SmartSteem - Buy Upvotes, Sell your Votes, Bid-Bot, Delegate SP.
promo-steem.com - Decentralized Promotion and Voluntaryist Network.

Welcome to Join my Discord Channel! :)

dividerblue.png

STAY TUNED, CHEERS & MAY THE STEEM BE WITH YOU...


thealliancereko

Sort:  

Wow...this is incredible! Why do these stores just throw it away? I’m sure there are plenty of food banks that could use this food to feed the hungry. Thanks for your continuous effort to reduce food waste!

there is too much food no way it can all be used at the current rate. We have to stop supoporting these crazy stores and put our money at places where they actually care!!

Awww you've got blue eyes just like the color of steem. Haha weldone sir @reko

Hmmm huge collection of food enjoy dear
and Congratulations @reko for your successful trip

indeed, thx @cryptostyle! :)

Most welcome and thanks for your reply... :)

Another episode of this great series.I've seen a lot but you always keep amazing me with food that you find during dumpster diving.Sometimes your treasures are so good that it makes me wonder why the hell am I buying food in the markets😂

that's a good question...if you spend your money there you are supporting this highly ineffective system...

Whaaat?????

Seriously those are from dumpster diving???? They look pretty much edible, not rotten and whatnot. Wow, seriously what a waste, could have fed tons of ppl.

Is it still cold where you are?

The sun is finally back and it's slowly getting warmer...so have to be quicker when saving the food as it spoils faster now...

No matter how many times I read about this and see your pictures, I am always blown away with amount of good food that gets dumps as if its no longer good. There is so much wrong with that!
Bless you for doing this and sharing your posts about it as well

xxx
Snekky

It is surely hard to fathom to what extent this is done all over the world... thank you Snekky!!^^

What you do is just gorgeous...

Glad you like it @tatjanastan and thanks for the support! :)

Wow! Lots and lots of food

So Frank Gallagher is dumpster diving now?

You totally look like William H Macy

Awesome action, see you on the top

thanks, aye! :)

Great, welcome back

Sad to see how much food goes to waste we need more people like you who are motivated to help others

Please me revote.

no thank you;)

Guau you are a good person, this is a good work for you'r part, i like it, you won my upvote and resteem :)

Do you live off grid? Just curious :)

nope I live just outside Gothenburg, Sweden in a communal house! :)

Hello , it’s great to meet you! If I lived in a big town or city I would totally do what you do too. It’s wonderful. I only wish the quality of food on supermarket shelves was better all round, but you can clearly pick and choose the best so congratulations, I salute your common sense nature and well done for helping others too, that really tweaks my buttons ☺️👌

I recently was working for a grocery store in the backroom, and none of the employees were allowed to take home any of the perfectly good food that was being tossed in the compactor. It was considered theft to take anything destined for the trash.

Wow, that's amazing!

Loading...