Self-voting – The three sides of the coin

in #steem7 years ago

“To vote myself…or not” – what an everlasting question, indeed

voting.jpg


The question can be seen in a practical, moral and visionary way.

From a practical point of view, as the system allows, there is no problem practicing the self-voting.

What's better than this, once you have accumulated a certain amount of your steem power with hard work and effort, invested your time in this endeavor to be self-serving with a percentage of what you have received.

Sounds honest

img_1199.jpg


From a moral point of view, however, there is a conflict.

If a person ignores everything, ignores all of the quality articles and those that are really interesting to him, if he just begins to run meaningless posts or commentaries with no content just in order to self-vote... then it's a problem.

So it that way you are self-exiting from the system and become a parasite that only pours resources for personal purposes.

And don’t get me wrong ... it's not a bad idea to get yourself or a friend, but you don’t have to ignore all others. Enjoy and vote on topics that are interesting to you.

This is exactly what about the platform is.

moral-dilemma-ahead.jpg


From a visionary point of view, in making self-voting makes no sense.

For the person looking to the future, it is important for the platform to become more and more valuable every day.

This means investing in newcomers when you see that they contribute to everyone, people who write quality content and they should be motivated with a powerful vote to continue doing so.

The idea is for the reward to be merit, to reward people's labor…

Only so will SteemIT become and will be a place that in the real world Irreversible lost the chance to be

In summary I will say that there is no wrong way to take over.

It all depends on how you feel it yourself

tracking-our-kids-and-partners-a-moral-dilemma-1050x580.jpg


giphy (1).gif

Sort:  

When you now start it can be difficult to earn significant rewards. I try to upvote my fellow minnow followers so that we all can earn, however little it may be. In turn, I would hope that if they find my posts worthy, they will upvote me too.

I am trying to ignore the value of my post that is generated by the upvotes.

It's hard to do really... I admit it, but I'm trying to focus on writing quality posts.

Someday I know that my devotion will reward me

Keep at it, I do believe that this community has the potential to be great, and by the time the rest of the world realises its potential you would already have built up your reputation here and hopfully have reached whale status :) Too bad you won't be able to earn anything more on your earlier posts as the rewards would have been paid out already. Maybe you can re-post them, dunno if that would work.

Re-post function a.k.a. resteem is only available for readers. They can resteem any post to their feed wall...to share with their followers.
That's how SteemIT works

That is true indeed. The choice lies upon the author.
I would vote, and I will vote for myself. When I get there that my vote is worth more I intend to reward the posts I like. I won't post something that I think is below my best effort but that is my personal goal and idea.

Totally Agree With Your Post! :)

I agree with you bro. My first couple posts were upvoted to a couple bucks each (not much money) and it gave me the boost to keep going.

You are lucky guy... my first posts was just a couple cents

Oh I have had the couple cent posts since then. It was just nice to get some love as a newbie.

Totally agree, broi!!!

Exactly. It can be demorilizing if you write a good quality content and it just gets ignored. Nevertheless, we should always post content within our high standards and not sacrifice the value of our work.

I also think upvoting for yourself is ok, the system is allowing it anyway.

I upvote when I see posts that provide me good information, are interesting and well-written. I upvote when I see posts deserving some support.

Thats exactly what I think.

It would not be a bad idea to have people as mentors who would give courage to the newcomers.

I think steemit loses a lot of fresh brains coming to write a few valuable posts, disappointed that no one reads or evaluates their labor and just leaves.

Thank you for your support @diabolika

You're welcome. Keep writing valuable content, and stay for the community as well!