You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tall Weed Syndrome

in #steem6 years ago

Well, I have been in here since Jan 17 pretty much doing what I am now for a lot of that time. I have powered up a great deal of my earnings and work 40-60 hours week writing what I do without factoring in the comment replies. why?

Well, consider something like Haejin, who earns ~200 dollars a post. It would take 60 of me to wipe him to zero and the willingness to act which is a hard thing. It wouldn't allow for anything else in the community. However, 600 of me giving one flag a day and he is gone. This is without a whale acting at all.

But, this would be 200 in a middle class with ~50k SP which is possible and if they are community orientated, easy to mobilize. However, these same community people will also be massive distributors of steem which will attract and retain even more. They will become nodes that niche communities can be built around and a whale could support 3 or 4 nodes heavily to build them and then transfer support. Distribution can happen relatively quickly here if community people were incentivized instead of Haejin types.

I would like to work my way into becoming a node in the future that can be a distributor most of the time and flag when required but, there needs to be enough people similar to both offer support and protection.

The main thing though is the community growth and distribution though as the more people with significant stake, the more smaller users get supported too as there can be more eyes in the waters. But, because of the bidbots taking most of the eyes, stake and SBD, growth for community people is painfully hard and slow with many of those using and operating not community orientated at all.

Dunno what it will all amount to but, I have worked really really hard to fall behind rapidly. The only reason I can support the level I can now is because, I haven't powered down or used a dollar of crypto personally. This is not because IRL I am in a comfortable position.

Sort:  

I would like to work my way into becoming a node in the future that can be a distributor most of the time and flag when required but, there needs to be enough people similar to both offer support and protection.

I am patiently waiting for that day .
You can't measure what you do in a monetary value . Do you deserve it ? yea you do . Take a good look around and see some of the people you have touched . look at what they are doing . If you can get a return of 2 out of 10 of the ripples you created your doing good . I have no doubt that the day will come when the weeds will be uprooted .
If this was a shit post it would be in "Trending"
The smaller accounts with no value yet are growing and growing .
One supported bot could have made a huge impact . but the big boys wanted the status quo

One supported bot could have made a huge impact . but the big boys wanted the status quo

The bots that could have been distributing haven't been distributing widely enough, at levels too high and to too much crap. They could have done better but, their profits would suffer.

I think I also have an edge in that my goals are easier than your goals. You've got a lot of high-level stuff here that's hard to break down into practical actions, and I'm not sure if that necessitates a different approach or a reconsideration of goals from the beginning. There are a lot of dolphinmaking projects springing up right now, and maybe you could find one that would suit you to cooperate with. I'm sure they'd be happy to have you. If you're particularly looking to push for the development of not-bot-using, non-haejinish, community-centered users, I would suggest connecting with @whatamidoing in particular. He has a lot of interesting thoughts in that neighborhood.

If you're not familiar with SMART goals they're sometimes a really useful way to think about being effective. A SMART goal is a goal that's Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Timely. It might be worth thinking how you can convert some of your longer-term hopes into short-term plans that way.

For me, because I'm looking for things like more high-quality art writing, and more original music, those are pretty easy things to develop actionable programs for, experiment, and figure out what works. We have a pretty consistent stream of new/small posters in those categories, and all I need to do is throw enough money at them to convince them to stay.

I wouldn't care to tackle haejin except on a philosophical basis. I think sticking to spending time on the level where I can be effective is a much better plan for me.

Yeah, @whatamidoing works hard and should get more support to do more.

A SMART goal is a goal that's Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Timely.

Yes, I do know of this. I will adjust a few things soon so I can align short and long-term positions. At the end of the day, it is going to likely be short-term growth with less community for long-term community gain.

I wouldn't care to tackle haejin except on a philosophical basis.

this is my area ;)