You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For the First Time, I Might Be Losing Faith in Steem...

in #steem5 years ago

Let em downvote I got your back. I am at steemfest just seeing this crap for the first time. Don’t worry Louis I appreciate what you do for steem and the content you make is top notch. You content won’t be collapsed again.

Sort:  

Keep in mind, dan, that @ocdb isn't just flagging without reason. Louis is creating good content, but I do remember those 1-3 minute long videos taken from one stream, which raked in huge amounts of rewards. If you disagree with people disagreeing with that, you're disagreeing with the "free-spech" spirit of Steem where people can downvote what they want, which is needed to distribute rewards. (https://steempeak.com/steem/@therealwolf/clash-of-steem)

Additionally, there was still no censorship happening here. The post is, was and has always been available via steemd. It's Steemit.com that is actually allowing this "censorship". 3speak.online for example, could decide to simply show posts anyway which got downvoted below a certain threshold. Similar how Steempeak is handling it.

With this said, I do understand Louis final statement:

I also have money invested in this platform in the form of Steem Power. I find myself questioning why I would have money invested in a platform that silences me and inhibits my ability to have my voice heard and make an income.

This is exactly what I talked about in the post I linked above (Clash of Steem) as well as this one: One Currency To Unite Them All. If people, such as Louis, loose faith in the underlying currency, because they're being bullied (from their PoV) via downvotes, they have no other way than to sell Steem. If this were an SMT, they could simply sell that and buy into another one. SMTs could also freely decide that certain behaviours are not acceptable. (Similar how nopal4u or muting works on palnet) If someone isn't happy with that decision, again, they could buy another SMT.

In my opinion, we need to make sure that we can all unite under one currency, powering the decentralised social media and other apps (such as Splinterlands), without being split by our believes on downvotes, upvotes, the reward-pool & co.

Anyway, don't let your Thailand time get spoiled. Cheers.

You make a good argument for removing the contentious content voting aspect from STEEM itself, so the whole community can unite behind it.

I never said anything about disagreeing. But to collapse a post on perfectly fine content is what I am calling out so I countered it, and I did so without asking for help and with my personal stake. I even said let them downvote, I am not even against their actions at all. I just find that downvoting that much with delegating stake is kind shitty. But that’s fine I’m going to power up more when I get back so I get better protect my investment when I see people abusing their stake, in my eyes at least. I am all for SMTs but I am also all for steem upvotes. Nothing wrong here imo, just speaking my mind.

"free-spech"

more like whales' free-spitting policy

In my opinion

in the opinion of a whale and it's free-spitting policy

Thanks Dan. It's because of great entrepreneurs such as yourself that I remain hopeful about the future of this platform. Thanks for all that you do :)

I guess this is exactly what decentralisation means: A balance (in this case between your 'enemies' and your supporters).

Nothing to do with censorship. OCDB joining the Curangel DV trail has caused some issues with DV moderation, but they will be addressed I am sure.

Remain blessed 💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Let the fight begin.

Lol... Dude!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

😂 SMH

Posted using Partiko Android

So DAN, 4 months ago you made a post about free down votes.

Screen Shot 2019-11-11 at 9.20.47 PM.png

And my answer to your post was that the down voting will bring death to the steemit platform.

Screen Shot 2019-11-11 at 9.25.27 PM.png

Since those trolls started to down vote me for nothing I stoped to use steemit and so are thousands of people that are getting down voted.
What is your opinion about down voting now when you are getting down voted for no reason?
I guess you thought you are untouchable because you are a whale. (or you thought you was)
My point is that people are down voting each other when they get into a conflict. And that is an abuse and its just getting worse. If steemit don't disable that down vote button this platform is going to hell. (but mabe its what they want)

You have it twisted, I am very pro downvotes. It is the only way we can express our opinions both way. I am simply expressing my opinion here. In the end it will balance out, people who agree vs people who disagree.