Started Losing Interest

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

dislike.jpg
https://pixabay.com/photos/thumbs-down-dislike-bad-feedback-3685429/
This week, I received a downvote of up to 15 USD from gtg, Steem Witness on my posts. I am not sure why this happened, I am creating genuine content so this cannot be the reason for this. Another reason can be bid bot abuse, if this is the reason then the question is that why bid bots are available for making bids. I have invested in steam, I am writing genuine content for the platform and I am taking bids. If the last part i.e. taking bids from bid bots is a crime then why all other users are not being downvoted?

What happens if you downvote a post? That user will not invest in bidding and this continues then all of the bots will be running empty. As a result, the bot will go down and the owner will take out the money invested. This will bring the value of steem more down as all will be ready to sell the steem to get the money they have made. So in my view, by downvoting, you are actually helping the steem to lose its value.

hate.jpg
https://pixabay.com/photos/people-cover-cry-desperate-314481/
I am loosing interested in writing posts for steemit due to losing money. My time has value, if the steem platform cannot pay me for any return for my investment plus my content effort, count me a ghost from now on. Would love to invest and put efforts where I can be rewarded with profit, not with loss.

Sort:  

Be honest with yourself. Do you think that your posts deserve a payout of $130 to $150? I for one do not think so. Just because your content is genuine it doesn't mean that it should have a payment in that range. At first glance you are not doing anything wrong however, GTG is just exercising his right as a stakeholder to downvote content that is overpaid. Get over it and instead be critical of what you are producing and work on the quality of your work.

How will any user be ever able to justify that how much is the worth of his content?

It's subjective. Steem users are voting either up or down until consensus is reached.

Yes, we have to let the market aka users decide how good the content is.

Conratulation @gtg

You just made another user abandon this platform. It's so bloody strange that stakeholders do care more about their own "rules" and about some silly terms like " until consensus is reached" which means very little (to zero) to regular people. And Steemit is build on us. Reguar joes.

I'm removing my vote on you as a witness.

Regards
Piotr

It is not my rule. It is just how Steem works.

Steem users are voting either up or down until consensus is reached.

I have nothing against a person behind @uio, they explained clearly their reasoning and I really get their point (especially when it comes to their business perspective), I just don't think it is good for the platform, and we are working on changing economic model in a way that what's good for stakeholders will be more in line with what's good for Steem.

I'm sorry to hear that you chose to unapprove me as a witness, especially that your reason is pretty much like: "gtg downvotes overpriced posts on top trending page causing them to have 2-3% less of potential payout"
Hopefully, your choice of @chbartist as witness (sic!) will provide more security and reliability for Steem.

Dear @gtg

Thank you for your prompt reply. This I very much appreciate.

If this is how steem/steemit works then please show it to me in Steemit Inc terms and conditions that it is illegal to use bidbots.

This is not a rule and amount of people using bidbots on daily basis are absolutely against everything you've said here.

It's so sad to see people who abuse power and wealth and treat others the way you did @uio. At the end of the day you didn't achieve anything and you've pushed valuable user (which I was engaging with) towards quitting from this platform.

This is obviously my personal opinion but I will definetly share this post within our community and on telegram, so more people would understand that our own witness is our own threat. Because if Steemit is losing it's userbase (the biggest value of this platform) then I can only see your action as a threat to our platform. I hope you understand my point of view. Point of view of "regular joe".

Top witness should care about people more than he cares about "unwrittten rules".

Could you please let me know, if you contacted any users before downvoting them? With warning and explanation that in your eyes what they do is wrong ? That would be required, don't you think?

Punishing new users left and right without explanation will not bring more adaption. Outside steemit people are already complaining that this platform is full of powerful stakeholders downvoting them for unknown reasons.

Is that reputation we all want to have? Is that how you want to be remembered?

Reagrds,
Piotr

Steemit Inc terms of service are irrelevant.

Nobody said that it is illegal to use bid bots. My downvotes wasn't because of bid bot usage (even though I'm not a fan of that), but because I disagree on rewards which is a valid reason for downvoting.

You really don't understand basic concepts of Steem which is so disappointing given you are Steem users for quite a while.

Contacting users before downvoting them?
Sometimes, yes, in cases of newbies that are spamming tags etc.

But in case of 70 rep users and simple disagreement on rewards?
No. Same as I'm not going to contact users when I upvote them.

What do you think about $50, do my posts deserve this much?

How about trying to see how much you could earn when it's up to actual people votes?

I have tested this and found that when I buy votes I get up to 2 USD. The reason is people who want to earn through curation becomes interested when they see I am investing and they are going to get 25% of the rewards. Otherwise, I am going to get 0.15 to 0.25 USD which is not worthy of the time invested. So this system can only help me through bid bots otherwise it is nothing but a waste of time.

it is nothing but a waste of time

True, but only if you think about Steem as a way of milking rewards for quick profit.
Rewards.
For value added.
What kind of value those posts add to the platform?
From what you stated above - content is irrelevant, so in the end there's only bidding in the equation and that makes your activity a pure gambling, and when it comes to gambling, there's always only one winner - the house - bid bots in this case.

What kind of value those posts add to the platform?

Not every post can be valuable for every person, it depends on interest. This is the interest that I am posting, personal experiences and learnings. What is valuable for you cannot be valuable to me, though there are chances.

Now people are investing in the project, making bid bots, or trying to gain rewards by investing. To me this is input, and this should go rewarded otherwise input will diminish. If you think that people are going to invest 1500 USD in order to get 10 votes of 0.05 USD power i.e. 0.5 USD, I don't think I am going to dive in this opportunity.

Writing researched post takes hours and reward of 1 to 5 USD (if one gets it) is not justifying. That is why if you check the new section you are going to see worthless posts.

I am not against your action, you might have a perfect reason to do this. But I am telling you why I am doing this, and why I am on steemit.

Dear @uio

Just give up on talking @gtg. It's obvious that people who have huge stake are acting like a warlords here.

They would rather run a ghost town and bully those who are not absolutely obidient than to admit that they were wrong.

Unfortunatelly people like @gtg are the reason why I'm also losing my faith in future of this platform :(

I am not against your action, you might have a perfect reason to do this. But I am telling you why I am doing this, and why I am on steemit.

With EIP we are going to shift incentives in a way that most profitable actions will be more in the line with the sake of the platform (like focus on curating high quality original content instead of vote selling/buying or self voting)

Dear @onthewayout

I'm sorry but I must disagree with you.

Who really cares if payout is 150$ if person receiving that payout had to spent almost 100% of that amount for bidbots, just to be able to push publication into trending page.

It's not like uio made any profit at all.

GTG is just exercising his right as a stakeholder to downvote content that is overpaid.

And unfortunatelly people like @GTG are the ones destroying this platform. @uio has been valuable user and he is gone from Steemit. Powering down and probably never coming back.

Did GTG help anyone? I don't think so.

Did GTG pushed valuable user out of Steemit? Unfortunatelly he did.

Asking people to get over it is just so so so wrong on so many levels :( Eh.

Please read this post carefully and maybe you will understand my position:

https://www.steemleo.com/life/@nonameslefttouse/i-feel-broken-probably-a-bad-time-to-take-a-break

hi @onthewayout

I'm a bit confused. I didn't see your comment under this post.

Who really cares if payout is 150$ (...)

Every Steem Power holder should care, because it's paid from rewards pool.

(...) just to be able to push publication into trending page.

Every Steem Power holder should care, because the trending page is what we present to the outside world.

Congratulations @uio! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 8000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

You received a 10.00% complementary upvote from @swiftcash 🤑
To stop similar upvotes from @swiftcash, reply STOP.

@uio dear it's very sad , I am in your support might be some misunderstanding. You can ask why it was . They will sure tell you.

It's not misunderstanding, its clear cut boy :)

You are free to buy votes to increase your potential rewards, others are free to disagree with those rewards and vote accordingly.

What happens if you downvote a post? That user will not invest in bidding and this continues then all of the bots will be running empty.

Sounds good to me.

You are not others, you have the power to turn a profit into a loss. Looks like you are a man on a mission and I need to find other ways to achieve my mission of rewards ;)

Dear @uio

I just visited your account to see if you published anything new only to realize that you seem to give up on Steemit? :(

I'm sorry to hear that you're losing interest with this platform.

I've noticed that you're powering down :( Hope you're not done with this platform yet. Would be such a waste to lose you.

My time has value, if the steem platform cannot pay me for any return for my investment plus my content effort, count me a ghost from now on.

Wouldn't you consider steemit a place that allows you to build contacts ? and content is just a way to present yourself to people?

Yours,
Piotr


@uio, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Voting against good posts kills Steem. I talked to some people. They were thrown out with Steem. Why are they doing that? I do not understand. But I completely lost my interest and leave Steemit, and as soon as possible