You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Statement: 0.22.5

in #steem4 years ago

One of the last scenes of the series 'Firefly' was of an assassin floating off in the blackness of space, where he says 'Well, here I am.'

I reckon that's our current situation vis a vis Steem, if my understanding that Tron has nominal stake to effect governance of Steem at it's sole option is correct.

Can you comment on the sufficiency of Tron's stake to that effect please? Or, make the meme with the assassin labeled 'Steem community'.

Thanks!

Sort:  

It's hard to tell, I see he is continuously powering up and voting witnesses to impact governance even though publicly he lies and says he doesn't want to. The hardfork is almost done, he wants to force it through regardless of the massive risk it will have on the blockchain pushing through a double hard fork (one to reduce power down the one to remove it after they drain the funds).

This is his mistake, HE forced the exchanges to power up knowing full well they will lock customers funds for 13+ weeks. HE is the one refusing to power down and liquidify so the customers can have access to their funds.

Exchanges are furious as they are getting in a lot of heat and he is trying to bail them out with zero regard to the community. Ned is making his rounds around Discords along with Justin to win votes to ensure decentralization is dead.

Refer to my avatar for a judge of how I feel.

I am confident we share emotional response to the extant situation.

My avatar also reveals my attitude to centralized control of society.

If Sun exercises governance absent community agreement, which I believe he can given his possession of ~100M Steem, the exchanges will likely be off the hook - but Steem will no longer maintain the illusion of decentralization, which I note has already been dispelled by the sale of the founder's stake and Tron's exercise of governance of Steem at it's sole option.

How we feel ultimately is irrelevant. The factual possession of stake is what governs extant circumstances. Presently the exchanges allow community witnesses to populate consensus positions. They can, or Tron can, if Tron possesses the stake I have been told it does by reliable sources, eliminate those community witnesses and execute the HF Sun seeks.

I strongly recommend leaving the ball in Tron's court, where it actually is, and preparing to fork to a platform that will enable actual decentralized governance by excluding stake nominal to exercise too much power via witness votes from doing so.