Have you voted in the Steem Alliance Structure Proposal Election? Less than 24hrs left! - Why I think you should...

in #steemalliance5 years ago (edited)

vote2.jpg



Deadline to vote in the Steem Alliance Community Foundation Structure Proposal Election is tomorrow, April 24th at around 9:00pm UTC. (2pm pst/4pm ct/5pm est)

For more information please read THIS POST


Election Details


  • This is not a Steem “government” and will have no change in the way the blockchain works. This is for a voluntary community foundation which will just help grow the ecosystem and fill the gaps seen here. It will not set rules for the chain. edited for clarification

  • The deadline for voting is 21:10 (9:10pm) UTC on April 24th.

  • Voting Method will be stake weight with a cap at 250k More Details Here.

  • NO REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED.

  • To see results with correct filters, click here

  • You must vote using the dpoll interface.

  • You can select multiple options to indicate approval for multiple choices.

  • Once submitted, you cannot change your vote!

  • There was also a contest to write up comparisons for the final structure proposals which you can find here with many excellent analyses.

Please see above post for full information, including the structure ideas currently being voted on.






Since this will be one of my last posts about The Steem Alliance Project, until of course I release my tell all best seller! ;) I thought I would address some things that have been brought to me about the election itself and give my responses of why I think voting is important.

Below are just my personal opinions and should not reflect on the project.





Why Should You Vote?

Great question! The goal of this process is to get a community consensus on what we want this foundation to look like. We as a community have been given the job of deciding what kind of foundation we want.

The analogy I have been using is this:



We as a community want build something, together...let's say a "table."

  • We want to build a table, but we aren't sure what kind of table we want to build.

  • So, members of the community were asked to submit their ideas of the type of "table" we should build, what it will be used for, and what it will look like. (the proposal process)

  • Now we as a community (all of the community) are voting on which of those ideas (from the community) we prefer. (current election)

What happens next?

Once we have a community consensus on what type of "table" we want to build, we have to figure out the How.

  • Blueprints will have to be made (plans, legalities etc) and changes to the idea might need to happen based on what issues arise in those blueprints.

  • A budget and tools needed to actually build the "table" will have to be decided upon and put into place.

  • Then building can begin.

Any sort of leadership for this epic table of ours would then have to be decided (if any) as well as filling whatever roles will be needed.


As you can see, we are just in the beginning phases of this "table" of ours and we as a community are just trying to decide what type we want to build.. a lot will have to take place after that.


So, let's discuss some issues I have heard of why people don't think they want to vote;


1). My vote won't count.

Ummmm, yes it will. All votes "count." I find this response quite lazy, if I must say.

Every single vote in this election "counts"... yes it is stake weighted (with a top cap), but you can clearly see by the filters on the dpoll that the "account vote," meaning one vote/one account, actually has pretty similar results as the SA stake based one.

Will it have as much weight as someone who is holding a larger amount of stake? No. But it still counts. There will not be one account (or even a few) deciding this election, you can see that in the current results.

I hold about 6k SP... I guess I am considered middle class here, sure my vote doesn't have as much weight as someone with 50k SP... but me and 9 other middle class accounts sure do.

Every Vote Counts.


2). It will fail anyways, so it doesn't matter.

Hey, it may fail.. but what if it doesn't? Don't you want to make sure that you at least let your voice be heard?

I hear a lot of complaining here about things that need to change, nothing being done and people being ignored.

Here is our chance to actually try to be apart of the change we want to see.. to help the Steem ecosystem grow as well as ensuring the community's voice is heard.

Here is your time to speak up, if you can't even take the time to let your voice be heard, don't blame others later.


3). Nobody cares, as no one is voting.

Over 400 people have taken the time to vote, seems they care.. why don't you?

400 may not seem like a lot, but do you know how many daily, active, human members we have here who pay enough attention to follow this process? 400 is pretty good, but it could be higher.. (it would be if you voted :)

We have over 11 Million SP represented in the election already... People care... so I will ask again, why don't you?


4). I don't care, as Steem is dumb.

Cool, thanks for the honesty.. so when are you leaving?


5). I don't understand it.

Ah! Finally one reason I can actually understand and appreciate.

Trying to understand the proposals has been difficult, as they are quite technical. They are referring to the actual building of a foundation and for many (including myself) some of the details are just a bit over our heads.

You can find all proposals HERE and a great analysis of the proposals by @bozz - HERE (Done through a task with @oracle-d, THANKS GUYS!)

Here is the thing though, there are details you care about... tech stuff aside.

  • Leadership - Do you think there should be leadership? If so, what type? Do you think these roles should be elected by the community? This is something that is covered in every proposal and if it's not clear to you, ask them.

  • Funding - How can the community get funding for projects? Who decides what gets funding and how? Is it put to a community vote or decided some other way? I know you all care about this, and it is covered in the proposals... again, if you aren't sure.. just ask them on the post.

  • Transparency and Accountability - How will this foundation ensure that this just doesn't turn into another "steem circle jerk" we hear so much about? Are there bylaws that will hold people accountable? Are there rules for transparency? Are there ways being discussed for the community to remove leadership or people involved? This is a big one for me, and I think it is for many. Go read them and ask questions, this is important.

I know there are more things that aren't "technical" that are aspects many are interested in ... and I know you care, you can't fool me ;)


So, why haven't you voted then?


This is our chance as a community to build something pretty amazing, and this is just the first step. I will be casting my vote tonight, will you?

Time is almost out..less than 24hr remain.

Go Vote!

https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@steemalliance/steem-alliance-structure-proposal-election/


Then you can go get your “I voted” sticker from @stuffbyspencer :D

https://steemit.com/partiko/@stuffbyspencer/did-you-vote-grab-your-sticker-kz37eeaq


Much Love and Steem On,

Justine

Sort:  

Thank you for this educational post. Honestly, I was put of by too much information. But because of your point #5 and the great comparative analysis from @bozz, I decided to take a look and understand each of the proposals and voted on which I feel will make a difference. It's not the top choice though, but it's the proposal I can understand and feel will work.

Again, thanks for this summary.

Don't forget, voting is important! [ because you get a free sticker for it! ] ;^)

edit: thanks for the mention in the post, I appreciate it!


Very excited to see the Steem Alliance go forward after this, I will be watching closely! Very exciting stuff :^)

1 of 400 steemians at least attempting to be informed and engaged in our little experimental ecosystem... 400 minus how many are directly involved though?

I am positive people will bitch and moan that the merger is some kind of conspiracy, I say let's see what they can do?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmm directly involved as in who is in the WG and proposals? We have 3 active WG members and 5 proposals.. so maybe 10-15 “actively involved” individuals in the process itself.

Ah yes.. collaboration was not accepted well. I think that is just that many are still seeing this as some sort of leadership election.. rather than people working together to come up with the best idea for a foundation. Hopefully calmer minds prevail as the process goes along.

I’ve realized there is absolutely no way to make everyone happy, we can just do our best and try to show through actions what the goal is.

I personally am pretty excited to see where this goes, as I think it will be really beneficial for the community and hopefully fill the gaps that we see here.

Thanks for being involved!

Agreed on all fronts, I appreciate all of the conspirators efforts 😂 kidding..

15 max OK good to know, I'm still a bit miffed by the low turnout but also see steem as an incubator of sorts for people that aren't exactly into voting..

If 50/50 curation was on the chopping block I'd venture to say thousands would vote... Baby steps to reformation...

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah it’s hard to see what a “good” turnout would be as we have never done anything like this before.

Only reference we really have is for the election of the WG (which many also thought was for some sort of leadership role within the foundation) and we had about 500. Out of those, many showed up on the last few hours and someone told them too and simply voted. I only say that as there was much less “work” involved in the voting process and the decision itself.. plus people thought it was for a power role 😄

I do believe when (and if) any vote for leadership comes around, more will show up. This is sort of for a technical aspect that many just don’t seem to be interested in, and I kind of get that.

Yeah, I assume 50/50 talk would bring many.. as they know it would affect their payouts (in one way or another)... humans are interesting creatures 🙃

"interesting" absorbing, engrossing, fascinating, riveting, gripping, compelling, compulsive, spellbinding, captivating, engaging, enthralling, entrancing, beguiling; appealing,attractive, amusing, entertaining,stimulating, thoughtprovoking,diverting, exciting, intriguing, action-packed;

informalunputdownable

I'll stick with strangely predictable as the most appropriate description of humans.

Posted using Partiko Android

😂😂😂 winner!!

I voted :) Thank you for the reminder. I took a little time to read through the information you shared and the links but I admit I'm still unsure about a lot of it. Though the comparison chart @bozz made was really helpful.

I agree, it was a lot of info. I am glad my chart helped a little though!

Posted using Partiko Android

glad my reason was accepted :-) really no time to dig this out. i would just look at the name of the proposer and vote for the one i trust most, i don't know if that is helpful or not...

Posted using Partiko Android

What's fair, one vote per person or one vote per account? i voted one per account. should i change it?

No you’re good! It’s just “owned” stake based, so whatever account holds your stake is what you should vote with. If your stake is spread out over multiple accounts, vote with all of them.

Some hold their stake in one account and delegate it out to their other accounts (in this case you can just vote with the one that holds the stake).

Some hold stake in multiple accounts, and they then can vote with all of them so they can use all their stake.

I hope that makes sense.

To clarify, the “one account/one vote” thing I mentioned is just an optional filter on dpoll where the results can be compared.

The one being used for the decision is “SA staked based voting” filter option.

Thanks for being engaged in that. I think that most people underestimate their own weight and influence on that matter (if only 400 people have voted, every vote actually counts). Plus, they probably underestimate the probable impact of that decision on a long-term scale.

The counter arguments aren't really counter arguments (as you pointed out). It's the same thing in politics and any democracy - there is no perfect system, but not participating in it is always wrong. After all, only in systems with a high participation the legitimacy of a poll and its results is easy to argue for.

Leadership is necessary, governance is, checks and balances are, and funding is, too. There's plenty of stuff that will have to be figured out but it's actually amazing that the community gets to vote on these things at all.

That said, I'm a bit sad about the informal way the community got informed, so that's probably the reason why so few voted. They either don't know at all or don't grasp the importance of these proposals. I myself have only learned about the whole thing last week, and I wouldn't consider myself totally inactive (or uninterested, for that matter)...

Posted using Partiko Android

what would you consider to be more formal?

The WG has been informing the community for almost four months now. We've used posts (in multiple languages thanks to our translators), being available to answer questions individually and through townhalls which were recorded and posted. The posts have been pinned on the front page of Steemit as well.

Short of visiting every single account holder.. how much more could you expect?

I didn't mean to complain about the work of the working group. I very much appreciate the work that's being done there and have been listening through the townhall recordings, so that's great.

But I myself didn't see much until a week ago because not much popped up in my feed. I don't use Steemit and I don't read trending much, so I would need to rely on my "feed bubble" to show me enough foundation-related content that piques my interest. What would that be like for people who are mostly interested in, say, gaming or photography?

I wanted to hint that one of the reasons "only" 400 people had voted was not only related to a lack of interest, but also to a lack of attention.

Maybe it's an inherent matter of decentralized systems that end-users are by definition hard to reach. However, that would be a very valuable learning given the importance of that kind of poll.

you do know that the only way anything comes up in your feed is because it is something that people you are following either publish or resteem?

Unless people leave their own feed and go exploring other avenues... everyone misses a lot that they would otherwise not to have thought to look for.

Sure. That's how I came across this post. What's wrong? I've been trying to point out an issue, you seem to be complaining about my behavior. I voted. I'm probably not one of those you should be frustrated about. But I can't be scanning all of Steem all the time for updates on Steem. I never touch Steemit. I was just wondering what an effective way would be to reach people in this setup. If you don't think this is an issue at all, it's fine, I'll simply stop trying.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not complaining about anyone's behaviour ... I was being clear that we both had the same understanding of what is in a person's feed. Not everyone is always on the same page.

just voted...congratulations to everybody, winner or not 👍🏽

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just finished casting my vote, thanks for the heads up. Greatly looking forward to seeing how things develop.

Thanks for the shout out! It was probably the most difficult task to date I have tackled through Oracle-D.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @llfarms!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.046 which ranks you at #311 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 321).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 171 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I feel like I have not been that much around to update so quickly, have had good reasons though though they're mending :), still I always find my way to my friends here, hopefully I can be more active again in the near future. I always love how you keep everyone updated

Lets go people. Get out there and Vote. It's very important to do so !! Thanks @llfarms for this post

Congratulations @llfarms! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4750 replies. Your next target is to reach 5000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!