You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (What are you reading? )

in #steembasicincome6 years ago

Yes, we were a bit chatterboxy, haha! :D It's always wonderful to meet new people going through the same thing as you, another person to help support in the Wild Ocean Depths of Steemit.

The Secret Life of Lazslo, Count Dracula is definitely a must-read. Though, reading through the GoodReads reviews, lots of people didn't share my opinion. But I find that happens with most things I read. I have a HUGE love for flowing, poetic, superfluous prose, each word a delight. If you like lots of words that enable you to become one with the character you're reading, you should fall into it! If you prefer a concise, to the point, get-on-with-it approach... it may not be for you.

I do the same for recordings, by the end of the process my head is spinning and everything sounds weird!
It happens with the written word too! Write the same word enough times and it doesn't look real anymore. You start to second guess if it's even spelt correctly or if it means what you think it means. Then you remove it. And the next time you go through the paragraph, "Hey, where did that word go?" and you put it back in, haha! Frustrating. ~ I'm trying my hand at fantasy. :) Not high fantasy of elves and goblins and dragons, but a basic magic versus those without the gift, the politics behind it all, and inevitable dissent.

(I'm rambling again. Another page added to this novel in your comment section, haha!)

Sort:  

Hmmm, that fantasy hook seems like a good one. The might and magic, questing and save the world has been done to death. The political and social effects of having a 'superior' class sounds much more intriguing!