You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (What are you reading? )

Reading has been my passion ever since I can remember. I am pretty sure that my eyes are as bad as they are because when I was a kid, I read under my covers at night with hardly any light.
Birthdays and Christmas was all about books. I still have a lot of my childhood books I got from my godmother.
She lived in the East part of the divided Germany and I am in the West. They did have a hard time to get many things but books, beautiful books were plentiful. I loved reading them and having them around.
Actually, later I started reading Agatha Christy mysteries and always wanted one of those old English libraries.
That said, most of my reading right now is here on steemit and many of the books I "read" are actually audio books. But I am always tempted.
I have a little free library in front of my house and keep begging people for book donations. Some of those books I want to read first before putting them out there - but see above... Steemit = no time for anything these days.
Here are two books I am trying to get to right now (and 20 more in a pile - at least) One is from the donation box, the other I bought from the author, Toby Hemenway, shortly before he passed away.

IMG_0349.jpg

Sort:  

Ah yes, we always include a book for our Christmas and birthday gifts. It really is a present that you need to put a bit of thought into, that is really tailored to the giftee. Much better than other 'off the shelf' (🙄) gifts.

The novel looks racy... But the other one looks really interesting. Might be something I'll look up for myself.

Do!! Toby was one of the kindest people I had the pleasure to meet. And so much knowledge!!