You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (What are you reading? )

There are several good books that I am currently reading, I will list a few here. The first book is a book that I often reread for perspective is "Jitterbug Perfume" by Tom Robbins (One of my all time favorite authors.) This work of fiction is about a man named Alobar's determination to allude death and be immortal and how he succeeds in doing so. There are many subplots intertwined in this novel as well. I would highly recommend reading this book.
Another book I am reading is "Norse Mythology" by Neil Gaiman. (Another fantastic and favorite author of mine. He also wrote "American Gods" and "Sandman" graphic novel series among others.) This book is straight forward adaptations of Norse myths as researched and compiled by the author. It is well written and interesting to read.
The last but certainly not least book I will list is a nonfiction memoir / biography of sorts written by the iconic comedian George Carlin's daughter, Kelly Carlin. The book is called "A Carlin Home Companion; Growing Up With George". Now I have to say that listening to George Carlin stand up starting at age 16 helped shape my view of government and the world in a lot of ways. He is one of my idols. That being said I have no illusions as to what a crazy ride it must have been growing up with him as your dad and Kelly Carlin does not disappoint. I am about half way through this book, and can honestly say that Kelly Carlin is a funny and engaging writer, and very much like her father. I look forward to reading more and finishing this memoir.

Sort:  

The first group of books sound interesting, but that last one by Carlin really sounds like a top read! Will definitely check that one out, thanks for the tip!

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

You're welcome. I'm really enjoying her writing and the stories about what George Carlin was like when he was just starting to get real recognition for his stand-up. There are also several pages of photos starting from 1961 through the 90s. I highly recommend grabbing a copy! :)

The winners and the new question (Design your perfect meal!) are here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-design-your-last-meal