You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (What are you reading? )

I'm currently reading Beggars in Spain by Nancy Kress. It would make a great Black Mirror episode. Science Fiction set in near future. Book 1 starts in 2008 and Book 4 ends in 2091. It poses some interesting questions to think about and maybe is even appropriate as it has some parallels to #steembasicincome.
The following comes from the wiki on the book;

How far should any superior minority hold themselves back for fear of engendering feelings of inadequacy in their inferiors?—especially if this minority is not hated and feared, but rather the elite? This question is explored, but not elaborated on by the novel.
IMG_2925.jpg

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beggars_in_Spain
I just nominated a couple of people to SBI, it will be interesting what develops with it.


SDG

Sort:  

This looks right up my alley! I haven't read a good Sci fi series for a while! I am in two minds about Black Mirror, I guess it is because there are multiple writers. I do enjoy some episodes, but others I feel are just empty, the way I feel about people complaining about Facebook on the Facebook platform...

This is true of the Black Mirror episodes. I didn’t really think about the episodes being written by different people. I was basically looking at the ideas presented and the fact that they are generally near future ideas.
Beggars in Spain is a complete book, not a series. I guess it was originally published as a series of 4 “novellas” /short stories and the combined into a single book.


SDG

The winners and the new question (Design your perfect meal!) are here:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@bengy/steem-basic-income-giveaway-design-your-last-meal