Playing Shows Trashed

in #steembloggers6 years ago

In honor of 1 year sober, I thought I'd do a video on the pros and cons of playing shows trashed or intoxicated. Yes, there are pros to doing so, as I have stated in the video, but I want to note that if you're going to do so, please do so responsibly and legally.
A little back story for those of you who don't know me, I have been playing in bands and playing live shows since I was 13 years old. In my 20's, I could down a fifth of whiskey, dance all over the stage and not miss a note during a set. As I grew older, that started to change. The more responsiblities I took on as a performer, the more difficult it became to perform well and efficiently while maintaining my level of intoxication. I was still able to do well and make a name for myself, but it became more and more difficult as time past.
When I quit drinking on April 24th, I continued doing shows and playing out and it sort of put everything into perspective for me. I've learned a lot from that experience and I hope that others can learn from the choices and decisions I have made in my past.
I don't really care if you get trashed every night or if you're against all drugs entirely, I just wanted to open this topic up for discussion and maybe get some perspective from others, as well as share my own. What do you think? What are your experiences? Let me know in the comments.
If you enjoyed this video, please leave an upvote, comment and subscribe to let me know! I post new work weekly.

If you're interested in hearing some of my music, check out the following links to my pages! Any support is helpful!
Visit Squaresyntax.com for more music.
Listen on spotify:


Facebook: facebook.com/squaresyntax
Soundcloud: Soundcloud.com/squaresyntax
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@squares
DSound: https://dsound.audio/#/@squares
DTube:

Sort:  

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with divine emanations of G-ds creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. I am part of the Curators Guild (Sephiroth), through which Ein Sof (The Infinite) reveals Itself!

Farout dude, thank you!

CONGRATULATION on one year FRIEND.

In all my Years playing music, I've never played a show trashed. I've always felt I needed a clear head when I was on stage.

Good for you! A wise choice. What do you play?

I play bass. Currently I am getting back with my old band.

Neat man! Bass was my main instrument for 10 years! Do you have any of your music online?

The only thing right now is a video on YouTube from 2001.

Good stuff man, thanks for sharing this with me!

No prob man, glad you enjoyed it. Lookout for new stuff later this year.

Congratulations you got resteemed!

Resteem your Posts to 9650+ Followers — just send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also will receive a 100% upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + daily upvotes!

Wanna sell your Votes or looking for an Upvote-Bot? Try Smartsteem