You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Of: Dapper 3D Owl Made in Blender

in #steemcartoon6 years ago (edited)

Hey, thanks! I learned it through Youtube. We had a course at Uni, where we learned the short cuts and so on. So I actually started with 3Ds Max and Maya and then switched to Blender. You will learn everything one by one, once you know the process of 3D in general : concept>modelling or sculpting > retopology > uv unwrapping > texturing > rendering > compositing. I did it the wrong way. I started with an animation project:D Went right in, which I don't recommend! Just start with something small...lowpoly maybe. Maybe just modeling in general and then the other steps, but that is up to you. At uni we concentrated on one thing per course, which was modelling or rigging or texturing (all Maya courses). I watched for example tutorials from Blender Guru or Agenzas Brothers, but mostly I searched for something specific and once you know the drill you can expand your knowledge and play around with it. I used the particle system for actual hair for the first time for my Katara Character. Before that I have only used it for leaves for a tree. So just search for beginners tutorials and copy projects instead of just jumping right into your own stuff, if you have never modeled before. I used the tutorial series from the Agenzas Brothers (not active anymore, but still online) for my Charlie Lou - Animation. I am still learning so I can't tell you which is the right way to learn and show the progress, but I am looking forward to your upcoming projects:)