Sort:  

It does not have any business model, as non-profit, open source, we work on a collaborative, contributive, transparent approach and offering this to the community. It's self-financed but also funded by Donations.
@busy.org is non-profit with a model to cover our expenses but SteemConnect, SteemJS, and other services we provide for Steem are free and non-profit without any business model. It's pure contribution to the community and our ecosystem ;)

Which one is it "It does not have any business model," or a " non-profit with a model to cover our expenses".

I get it - Non profits don't take a profit - but they still need money in order to operate. I dont see the incentive as a developer to spend hundred of hours writing code for free - this isnt a United Nations project - nobody is splitting the atom, feeding children, or ending poverty.. Authors post to make money.. people vote -to make money. So what is the upside to me using my time to develop tools that make Steem Inc. more money? Wouldnt I be better off writing code for UNICEF or a meaningful charity?

Your project has a ton of merit to it - but look at other projects like Steemvoter - code gets written, people join, one guy pays the bills. Then comes the sale or the crowdsourcing emails. There is nothing bad about a company developing software for Steem to make money .

I was hoping you guys had figured something out on the revenue side.. Very disappointing.

Busy will have a business model (potentially with the blockchain). SteemConnect will not, because it doesn't need in our point of view. But both are non-profit.
I get your point, but as said, this will work on donation for now simply because a tool like SteemConnect can allow others to make money, if they want to, and totally frees them from the burden of managing users private keys and encryption, while bringing user with trust.. we believe that Busy organization can cover SteemConnect service as an umbrella, busy.org being the first app that will use the service, and we can still figure out a more viable model later if needed. But i think we can have a pretty stable version very soon, and it won't require much work or fund to upgrade. If you bring value to the ecosystem, you'll get your value back.. Thats something i do believe, and work to make this happen.
Also If Steem grows, we all grow ;) so i guess it's not for "free"

If you have some suggestion for revenue side, feel free to suggest, but this is something we decided with some serious reflection in our team :) We actually had figured out something, but it seems that you don't like it :p

Thanks - I think what you are doing is very cool - dont get me wrong! I was hoping you had some more knowledge in regard to revenue programs /models for Apps or UI's in general - since you are mentioned a lot. I thought maybe you guys had some "special knowledge". I believe I heard @ned talk about the potential for app/ui developers to get a portion of curation rewards (he called it a tax for lack of a better word). I am operating on hope as well.. I have a post scheduler that I would love to expand on by putting some of my "real world" developer hours toward .

For me at this point risk tolerance is influencing development - we are dealing in the currency of hopes and dreams I think. If this was addressed sooner rather than later - I'm sure we would see a lot small dev houses providing Steem users with better, faster,smarter, prettier and more engaging experience. I would have people designing Steem Apps full-time if I had a concrete path to monetizing them!

Thanks
when you re reffering to "get a portion of rewards", it certainly refer to this proposal https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/proposed-upgrade-for-blockchain-incentives
which i just mentioned in my reply at the beginning :Busy will have a business model (potentially with the blockchain). ;)

Yes - that was the vagary that got me.. I knew you had an ace up your sleeve ;)

Thanks for the article exactly what I was looking for!