A happy happy birthday to Carlin!

in #steemdads7 years ago (edited)

0730171444a.jpg

My oldest son turns 4 today!

Oh, how time flies when you're having fun! Where did four years go? Just yesterday, I was holding him wrapped up in a hospital blanket...

FB_IMG_1497968288145.jpg


Started the day right with some Batman pancakes! 0730170905a.jpg

We had a Batman themed birthday party on Sunday, because it was convenient for both his mother and I, and co-parenting is #1, so we do things like birthdays and christmas together so he can see both of his parents at such a special time. It was a lot of fun. We gathered at the local park, had cake and ice cream, gave the little champ presents, and even had a piñata, you know, the usual.

0730171423a.jpg
0730171450.jpg
0730171503.jpg

I'm at the point that I look forward to my sons' birthdays much more than my own. Now that I'm 30, I feel like I've only got milestones left 😉, but every year is still something new and exciting for them. Being four is definitely going to be a big one for Carlin.

The state of Kentucky changed the rules a bit about when children can start school, and they have to be born on or before August 1st, meaning he just barely meets the criteria, and gets to start school this year! He will literally be the youngest he could possibly be in school. His birth certificate says August 1st @ 11:59pm, so had he been born even one minute later, he'd have to wait a whole year to start. This only really matters in the sense that we have to start registering everything to homeschool him. His mother and I co-parent so well, that we are even up to the task of educating our child for as long as we can keep up, or until he decides that public school is something he would like to try.

I personally don't like the public school system in my country, but I won't keep my son from experiencing everything life has to offer. He will be afforded as much freedom as I can give him, given his measure of responsibility and knowledge.


Thank you for reading! I love my children more than life itself, that's why I started @steemparents! Parenting is a 24/7 job whether your children are immediately with you, with another parent/guardian, at school, or even fully grown! It requires a lot of love and hardship to do it right, that's why parents need all the support they can get! We've created a Discord Chat for parents to come together and chat with one another, and we highly encourage the use of the #steemmoms and #steemdads tags so we can get some love on those beautiful posts!


DQmRXDcVJ8REzRKSxzL43n1tb1MrB9aSaFcHheJLJdU8vq5_1680x8400.png
Follow @thatsweeneyguy

100% of the liquid reward for this post will be converted to steem, and stashed away in my sons' cryptocurrency savings, which I run a weekly contest to build, so any upvotes, resteems, or dare I say boosts, will be a birthday gift to Carlin!

Sort:  

4 is a magical age. An age of enlightenment for them I have found. They start to become so grown up in many ways. I fear it is the beginning of the fear of the losing then stage if you get me.

Only a couple of mouths ago my daughter insisted on choosing her own clothes and dressing herself and whilst is a fantastic thing I felt a pang at her independence.

While I certainly cherish these early years, I truly can't wait for my boys to get a bit older and start enjoying life for what it is.

Nice to see! Is he named after the comedian?

50%, yes. It's an old greek name that means "Little Champion"

Huh, Fun fact of the day

Happy birthday to your son Carlin @thatsweeneyguy!

Happy birthday to Carlin and thank you for resteeming.