You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing SteemPay

in #steemdev6 years ago

this is so inspiring. Many thanks. As now I am at work and having a busy day but I will come back to this discussion and have more thought. You seem to be a great advisor for the south asian culture and economic status. Due to my job and the other personal projects I have been barely spending my hours on SteemPay recently. But I will com back to this as quickly as possible!

Which country in Europe are you originally from? I live in the UK.

Sort:  

I’m originally from Belgium but have travelled Europe, having lived also in The Netherlands, Germany, France, the UK, and eventually Cyprus before moving to South-East Asia.

Thanks for the kind words. Moving over here was an eye opener and absolutely interesting as well to discover how worlds are different and people need totally different solutions. I have als been very active in the local startup scene for a while some years ago when there was some traction around it.

The truth is that economic hardship drives creative innovation. If the deprived can find new ways to make money, they will jump on it and make it. The need for food and electricity is a massive creative inspiration for disruption.

Much later, First World will often make the solutions mainstream. Usually without credit for they who started it, obviously.

Did you know that both Africa and SEAsia are world leaders in mobile payments? Almost each telco provides mobile wallets, both via SMS and apps. Your phone number becomes a wallet. Imagine if we can expand that to cryptoes, at least some which people have true access to and have a backing system which is optimized for micro-payments. With no fees and fast transactions. #WIN

@fknmayhem, I updated SteemPay with more currencies including PHP and MYR as you suggested.

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@asbear/steempay-0-3-0-release-supporting-seven-more-currencies-usd-eur-gbp-jpy-cny-php-myr

I put large amount of SBD to promote this post to get noticed by the Steemians like you who see the potential of SBD payment, but not sure how to get attention from the Philippine community though.

I noticed the update before I noticed the mention.

Thanks for the update. I like the solution used via CMC. Let me try to forward as much as I can.

Pinging @surpassinggoogle to this comment and also forwarding him the update via DM.

PS: Never use bidbots on Utopian submissions. Not only do you lose beneficiary but the Utopian bot also rewards less.