My Strategy and Roadmap to Become a Full-Stack Developer

in #steemdev6 years ago

coding.jpg

Have you ever desired to acquire a superpower?

Well, learning how to code, to me, is like learning a superpower, to be honest. I'm amazed at what devs can do and how they are able to create something out of lines of code.

As I look into the future, I can't imagine that learning how to program and design interface on top of blockchain won't be a valuable skill in 5 to 10 years. It feels exactly like 95's when the internet was just starting to be used.

My Roadmap

One thing I've learned in my 20's is that I should organize my learning into a sequence that makes sense. My goal is that my roadmap allows me to see the results of what I am learning as fast as possible to keep my motivation juice flowing. Lucky for me, a good roadmap is provided in the course that I bought on UDEMY.

I already had HTML and CSS down from my years working with Wordpress. But even so, I decided to start from the ground-up and not skip the modules just in case I would miss an important concept.

So I went to Udemy and picked the top class for complete beginners:


Lectures: 349
Video: 43 hours
Skill level: All Levels


Technology covered:
HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, Bootstrap, SemanticUI, DOM Manipulation, jQuery, Unix(Command Line) Commands, NodeJS, NPM, ExpressJS, REST, MongoDB, Database Associations, Authentication, PassportJS, Authorization


That course only cost me $15CAD on Udemy. As you can see this is pretty extensive and I'm already at about 20% of the course.

My Strategy for Learning Fast

  1. Go through the Bootcamp roadmap
  2. Take a break between each module to apply what I've just learned so that it sticks
  3. Practice everyday

Then once those 43hours of classes are done. It's time to get serious and make sure that I've incorporated what I've learned so far. I will come up with a series of complex projects that I will have to implement from scratch.

Once I feel "kind of" comfortable with raw javascript, I'll choose a few frameworks and dive deeper into Node.JS to build apps on top of STEEM. They will be basic projects at first and hopefully, by next year, I would be able to start working on something more complex.

Conclusion

One should never stop learning ways to add value to other people. Udemy offers a really cheap way for people around the world to become better at anything you decide to put your mind to. All you have to do is have a burning desire, faith, an organized plan and specialized skills.

Photo by Sai Kiran Anagani on Unsplash

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

Great strategy...For me JavaScript is probably the only language you need to know to become a full-stack (MEAN Stack). You can use it both for client-side and server side programming.

According to multiple study (like this), JavaScript is one of the most popular programming language. For client-side programming, JS has no competition at all. Why not learn Full Stack with JS itself ?

Python, Java and Ruby are other popular languages which are widely used for server-side programming.

That's pretty much my goal. Dive heavy on JS.

You are well done man! I appreciate this side of the character of man. You sould also try with evanto market.

I'm a computer engineering student. I also noticed the advantages of UDEMY. And I have membership. They have very useful subject expressions. I did not regret the video sets I bought. Very effective in coding.
@cryptoctopus

at age 31, this is a much better option than going back for 4 years in school.

I am 22 years old and it is a very effective resource for me besides my school lessons. Effective for everyone. I never thought I'd recommend it. Good idea. Congratulations.
But for me the only trouble is the price of the courses is a bit expensive. I have difficulty getting it
@cryptoctopus

you mean $14? Here is a 3% upvote. That should pay for it.

"Assembly Language Adventures: Complete Course"
Between my plans, I had to take it in the near future. I guess that was a nice surprise for me. Thank you so much. I guess today is my lucky day :) @cryptoctopus

It is so crazy just how easy Steem allows anybody to help someone else out without even taking money out of their own account. Fantastic deed.

"at age 31, this is a much better option than going back for 4 years in school"; lol I completely agree with that statement.
Also everything always seems hard at first but with pure determination I believe we can learn and understand anything.

Honestly, if I could ever make Steemit a full time job, this is the first thing I'd work on as part of my daily Steemit activities as well as digging through the data bases to see what trends and information I could find to help the Steemit community and the communities I'm a part of.

First of all Its great to set goals and have roadmap to make it happen, but in your plan there is some flaws. First of all Udemy gives only some basic thing like 2+2 and 2*2 , yes you learn something but just some ropes. Second problem is your roadmap availeble right now for basic things, after you finish this course you need to build some project and work on your skills again and again, so every 1-2 months you need to update your roadmap from scratch and it will be hard to be satill motivated. For me its hardest part then you learned basic things, and made some first projects to keep going and increase difficulty, I hope you will keep doing and we will see some your programming diary in steem, but for now this your roadmap is just first baby steps. It will be interesting to follow your blog

As a teenager I found coding quite fascinating and really wanted to learn but before I learned coding, I learned the harsh truth that not everyone has the talent for everything!! And apparently coding was on the NOT list for me and I just somehow scratched a pass in mt IT course!!

I wish you all the best though!!

I completely agree with you in your desire to improve your level in this area and although I myself do not understand very much about these technologies, I am still confident that in the future we will all have to improve and train for better orinting in these fields! Thank you @cryptoctopus

Wow this is nice, I am also amazed what devs can do, but also what devs accomplish on steemit.. I don't think as a functional IT guy I have th skills to learn it.. but it must feel magical to build something what didn't exist before..

@cryptoctopus,
I also a developer in real life! Unfortunately I am a Java, C# software developer, so I am little bit weak at php coding. But one of my good friend is a php and mobile app developer! I talked to him few days back and actually I am planning to build a community app on STEEM blockchain! So he said NodeJS, this is the thing that we want to learn! I feel the same and started my process to learn NodeJS and STEEM blockchain! When SMT hits, I want to start something on it! So I think you should focus more on NodeJS too!

Cheers~

Good job!
courses are not enough and not much good for learning development.
I suggest to read some books too! PDF versions are good too.
also, you should practice every day, every hour and every second!
and expect many headache!

for a good developer, learning codes are not enough. you will need some strategies for building projects.
all I can say is: Good luck @cryptoctopus

Ty my friend. I was actually looking for a good place for begginers. Always wanted to learn a bit about coding, but no Idea where to start.

@cryptoctopus - Sir actually I don't know coding, in reality I'm a housewife, so having no idea how difficult it is... But my husband do & sometimes he is in deep thoughts & coding on dinning table too... lol :)
Your perception is really well Sir... Making your own roadmap & doing things like ICO roadmaps, a good thinking Sir... I wish you all the success & I wish to join your projects in near future too Sir...

+W+

Yup, I read in one of your previous posts that you were learning web development. I myself learned HTML, CSS and working on PHP nowadays. I'm 30 years old and this idea came very late in my dumb mind. I have an accounting background, did Masters in Strategic Management but I have always loved coding and programming. Best of luck and wish me the same :)

you made a goal, you planned the process, you made scheduled, you identified objectives, now you almost finished step 1 of the software engineering. you are on a learning curve & next you test your skills then you execute your plan. if smt launch at that time, i assure you will introduce a cryptoctopus token, shall we call it as 'cot'? impressive roadmap & wish you success @cryptoctopus

@resteemia
reteemed & upvoted & commented & followed

Awesome, cannot wait to see your apps and dapps coming out to make the world just a little bit better, one line of code at a time!

There is no specified age for learning anything, you just need to have will power to do that work. I love your passion for the steemit to take it to the moon. To get success in life one should have a proper roadmap and working on that with 100% dedication. Eagerly waiting for your new projects. Good luck. Have a great day.

Sounds nds like a good strategy, I used to make little projects in java and I learned a little pascal in high school. I’ve been wanting to get back on that horse and was looking for some resources and found a website called codecademy that offers free stuff, maybe someone out there wants to get their feet wet, but doesn’t want to throw down any cash at the moment, if so I hope this comment can find them.

Dear Sir @cryptoctopus, Can you just tell me how to start the learning o coding and everything particularly from a standpoint of a developer.

I know nothing about coding but have the burning desire to know all these things and even I can religiously devote 8 hrs of quality time every day to know all these things.

I just need one mentor who can guide me and I am sure you can show me the way to learn these things.

Waiting for you reply and also tell me your discord ID so that I can have a talk with you, if you don't mind.

Thank you and Have a great day.

Good..
Vote me..

Well GL with that! (boy do I hate coding xD) Even looking at that first picture hurts. Though the different colours do make it look a bit more appealing ^^

Wow this post was perfect timing for me. I'm glad I follow you. I'm just a simple musician and fractal artist here on this amazing platform, but I see the endless opportunity that comes from learning these skills.

I've been looking for basic ground level start here type resources haha and boom I see this post, thank you so much.

I plan to dive in as much as I can and it seems to me the internet has officially replaced the Old World institutions of learning. It's a beautiful thing just being one link away from prosperity, all it takes is determination and persistence.

All the best to you on this journey. You can do it if your want to is big enough, which it appears to be. Will be interested to see the projects you produce both through your learning and once you've become accomplished.

I always want to learn and grow, but learning how to code would probably be very challenging for me, although I always wanted to know everything about a computers. When I am going to be truly committed, I will give it a shot.

These online courses are so great and so cheap for the value you're getting..... but they require so much more disicpline than more traditional education. Your approach of taking time to consolidate your learnings is huge, and something people don't spend enough time with. I actually really like the Treehouse education platform, but Udemy seems right up there too.

You're absolutely right. .. developing against the blockchain will be absolutely huge over the next decade. Well done on investing the time now.

its an awesome roadmap you have got, and thats some foresight learning blockchain coding. this got me thinking of doing same. mind to share the course?

Wow
I did not know about this before.
Thanks for sharing it.

Hey man! Goood luck. I am An graduate Business/Data Analyst, and I am also (sort of) working my way towards learning to code. I have used similar methods to learn how to write basic R and Python. I just cant get the full hang of it but it requires patience and time. The developers at my organisation completely baffle me and I am in ore of these guys. Ill stay on the business side of things for now.. but I will learn somehow and someway! I am sure you will do to!! Ill stick to SQL queries for the meantime LOL. GOOD LUCK!!!

Sounds like a plan. And there are so many resources online now too. Don't miss stackoverflow for all the odd questions and bugs you run into. Chances are someone's already asked that question, and a bunch of other people have already answered it!

I've been a professional front end developer for around 10 years, and I must say there's always a new browser or device to work with, while worrying about backwards compatibility (IE I'm looking at you!) - it makes it an interesting space to work in, and you're always learning something new!
(I mostly work with JavaScript, CSS and html. We have a backend team that take care of all the server side stuff, but it's fun constantly learning new things, and watching as tends come and go)

That's awesome man. Have you tried working with STEEMJS?

No I haven't yet. It's been something I've been thinking about for a while now, all the possibilities... but home life's been so hectic over the last 12 months. Maybe some day soon I'll get some time to check out the branch and look over it.

it will be great to see you learen and ready to become a stack devolper and too good thing that you are more excited to learn it fast and you learned it 20's...
wish you more best and hope your 43 hours classes will teach you perfectly as soon as possible @cryptoctopus

That's a nice move @cryptoctopus. Technology is taking over the world and a basic or professional knowledge will give you an edge over most people.

Last year I had some lessons on html and css but stopped a after sometime there was no zeal to continue.

Always good to have a road map.

You will probably learn more in your own projects than you do in the whole course but you have to get basics from somewhere.

Good to see you looking forward.

Good luck and Keep Steeming!

Did you studied something related to code before apart from html and css? Or this is the first time you are going to do it?

first time really diving in

Parece interesante las líneas de aprendizaje que se están iniciando en su curso de programador, es fascinante aprender y ponerlo en práctica con Steemit nos brinda infinitas oportunidades.

Your experience motivates me to learn these programming knowledge and I will follow in your footsteps

Hello @crytoctopus
Learning is a key part of life and we should update our knowledge till we take our last breath. We must learn deliberately to add values to people around us, thanks to steemit which makes value addition easier. Udemy is a way out off this. It cheap and relatively cool.

Sounds like a great plan! As you learn I'm sure you'll create content that will help others rapidly acquire these skills too. We need a lot more information and media out there to help people develop for Steem and I think your plan here is brilliant. Of course, developing apps for Steem yourself is great, but if you can help other people learn how to develop apps for Steem, that could be massive. Good luck on your journey!

I sure hope to be able to document the process of learning how to develop on top of Steem...maybe do some DLIVE to share what I'm doing.

A few tips from a software dev:

  • Use StackOverflow it’ll answer a ton of your questions.

  • Don’t ignore libraries, there’s too many devs trying to reinvent wheels.

  • When you first start write bug fixes and features for open source projects. This way you get use to coding standards and hopefully when you do write an app the code is readable by others.

  • Finally, when you do go off on you own start small, and then shrink that. Every dev initially tries to do way too much, fails, and hopefully learns their lesson.

this is great stuff. Do you think some of my time should be dedicated to bug fixes and pull request for open source project as part of my learning?

I like bug fixes for starters but it needs to be a newer project or on a new feature. If you’re working on something we’ll established remaining bugs might be hard to fix. Basically newly reported bug are nice for starters.

Also I noticed you don’t really have any backend languages listed as what you’re studying. I’d recommend looking into getting a basic understanding of Java(specifically the Spring Framework), and SQL. Full disclosure I’m a backend guy so I’m biased lol

Figuring out how to code is one of my objectives this year!

I just do cloud operations work so I have no further learning with coding.

Be that as it may, In have begun considering Java and in addition acquainted myself with Devops

It's so cool to see individuals really persuaded to enhance themselves and learn new abilities!

Salute to you...

A debt of gratitude is in order for sharing....✌✌✌✌✌

Devops is definitely the future. well, how we see the future currently lol... good luck!

Yes I realize this...

People use computers and computer programs every single day, and that is why everybody should know some very basic stuff about computer science and programming, the same way as you know the basics of Biology, History or Physics.

It’s definately worth to invest in yourself, with the skills and motivation of future there is so many things you can do! The tools you can use to learn are all around us, you just have to look for it!
Resteemed!

Hey sir, I'm a computer science student and recently studied java and c++. I'm good in programing so I also apply for full stack developer but unfortunately seats were full. But now I found it here I'll follow you step by step because I love programing. Thanks

well it i good that you are in next step of develpor and i also work on html and now to see you hope i will also try to learen more and specially java and php and also this,,
thanx to suggest udeny course which is good and easy for learning and $15CAD is cheap for this course
look forward ot complete your goal

I was introduced to Udemy by a friend of my and I am pretty impressed, the power of the globalism is amazing in the financial aspect - it allows the creators charge a low fee and still make a pretty sum because it is bought by many all around the world.
Don't you think a concept like that Is completely feasible in dtube? Let's do it the decentralized way! It might not provide a promised revenue for the creator as it's votes based but it will allow stronger members pay more if they enjoy the content and hopefully it will cover the users who are weak and can't upvote too strongly.

Regarding your plan - I'm impressed by your dedication to the timetable you set - as a new student I can understand perfectly how important it is for a slow and progressive learning process that takes time to digest and implement.

Readers should try this method! It really works!

Thanks for the post cryptoctopus!

There's also a pretty comprehensive HumbleBumble of Python books going right now if that's the route some people want to go: https://www.humblebundle.com/books/python-by-packt-book-bundle

I personally do better with some books/notes/printed page learning then simply following vids/online instruction. I definitely think it's a valuable enough skill for anyone interested in crypto.

it's funny how my road-map is completely the opposite, my road map is to avoid any hard work and make enough money to just get by.
your energetic view is admirable.

Learn python, you may even develop the whole Blockchain..

why python over JS to begin with?

Python is easier and takes less time to debug and fix errors.

good contribution.

That is a good idea :) It would be also nice if we can learn how to build blockchains and how to improve projects that already exist :heart_eyes:
I wish you all the best and hope you can reach your goal :P I also want to learn some JS :)

I have had a burning desire to become a musician all of my life, sadly that has never came to fruition. I hope your dreams to escape you as much as mine have

HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript for me is quite an accomplishment, learning skills on these to add value and become a better stack is quite wonderful, and however you roadmap is quite wonderful but I would also advise you take long naps to rest your brains and go over and over in continuation of a learning process.

wish you best of luck in this business.

We could call you the The CryptoCoder

😀😀😀

It can work but you will lose time. If you really want to know Javascript - you should go to any webpage making group or company and pay a bit of money so professional JS developer will constantly teach you on the spot With real projects. And there will be no need for you to waste your willpower to force yourself to learn something that you think only as a hobby. So you will be able to concentrate one hundred percent of your attention on learning.

there are meetup groups in my city who does just that. I might go check'em out.

I mean. Non-stop programming under the constant eye of strong Front end developer (He is your manager and who teaches you). Even better if it's an attractive lady so you can bang after the hard work.
From dusk to down. And in a couple of months, you will feel how strong you've actually become.

And you also better find out what you actually want to do with this skills!)
Because I've learned like a maniac and now I want to learn something else and don't even know when I will come back to front end.

Enjoy the vote and reward!

dear sir good module selection
you are going well
i have learned all these modules in my masters courses
no doubt pratice makes the man perfect
these languages are easy we make practices with time like you
God bless you dear sir

There are 4 pages
Pages