Sort:  

Unfortunately no, there wasn't enough space remaining on the server for a full database export, then the space required to create a compressed version of it. So I had to do it as an uncompressed transfer. The database itself and it's indexes were using too much space, and admittedly, it should have been moved long ago when that started to become the case.

I'm using my own database solution for steemdb - which I wrote over a year ago. It's bloated at this point. I'm very interested in rebuilding the database itself and doing it better (since I've learned a lot over the last year) but it's a matter of finding the time to dive in and rewrite it.

Oh too bad you didn't do that early enough.

I don't know if I will ever deal with Steem in a db. I don't know enough about databases. I would like to set up a service around steem but I don't if I will really do it. For now and my needs, I am fine syncing the whole blockchain in a +100GB file .