You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Use Whaleshares: SteemGigs Contest.

in #steemgigs7 years ago

So, I pay whales to promote my article?

What happened to content being upvoted on merit instead of blatant pay-for-status?

I won't be using this service, I think its antithetical to the whole purpose of Steemit. Users should be upvoting because the content is worthy, not because they're being bribed to do so.

Sort:  

In the traditional media world, Facebook and even magazines all have sponsored posts, advertisements or adverts. The curated content will stick to its core. This is a part of the ecosystem. If your content is bad , it won't make it.

I don't use things just because other people do.

I upvote on merit and content. I don't see how paying to get promoted is ethical. To your point, "bad" content can just as easily get promoted as something that deserves attention. How does this make pay-for-promotion a good thing?

I don't see it.

Bad content can get down voted. Reality is this is a social media world. You are using Steemit, you probably have an Instagram, Twitter and Facebook account all which are things other people did before you got on. The beauty of this platform is that it's based on curation so if users see bad content promoted we can just as easily get it down voted or buried in future quality content.

this explains everything, thanks for keeping my back while I was busy.

No problem. Thank you for the article, this was helpful keep producing.

So by using artificial means of getting visibility, which degrades the platform overall and irritates users - that is worth it?

Sorry, I just simply disagree.

I'm not saying it's worth it. If you'd like to waste your money promoting bad content then that's the users fault. But what I am saying is just like boosting a Facebook post through its advertising platform this is the same method just on the blockchain. If used properly it can be effective with quality content. I get the concern that will be up to Steemit and the users to curate properly.

well, not everyone agree that steemit is a better platform than many other social platforms. So it depend on your perception, but you can't prove anything right or wrong based on your perception. Some people have found a better use of things while some don't like those things. This is how the world works. If everyone agree on something, there is no chance of development. Criticism makes things better, but saying something is completely wrong based on only your opinion isn't right either.

also on point @ebmgrj
now judging from both arguments i may take my stand soon...
which reminds me of my new blog post today as regards brain power...

It is not a sure shot way of making money, but an opportunity that provides you to get noticed. If you use it in your every post, you have to pay a little bit more than what you earn from it. So no question of making money whenever you post by using it.

good point...i think steemit should develop a policy ensuring whales stop hurting their votes for money and spread it daily especially to minnows...sent a new post yesterday and others but very low value after investing so much nery a time which is not motivating to write much.